Customer Reviews for

Where the Heart Is

Average Rating 4.5
( 595 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(410)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Interestng read, and sad at times.

A story about a young minded 17 year-old girl who was dumped off in a Wal-Mart parking lot, who had only $7.77 to her name? Her boyfriend leaves her in a Wal-mart parking lot. Novalee thinks her life is at its worst before she realizes that this mistake will only lead h...
A story about a young minded 17 year-old girl who was dumped off in a Wal-Mart parking lot, who had only $7.77 to her name? Her boyfriend leaves her in a Wal-mart parking lot. Novalee thinks her life is at its worst before she realizes that this mistake will only lead her on her way. While living in Wal-mart, she meets some interesting people whom later on lead her to the woman she's meant to be and through to her life calling.
I really enjoyed this book. Where the Heart is helps you to realize who you are. This book helped me realize that, your heart is what gets you to where you want to be. It shows you that heart can get you through anything, and that love is the strongest weapon life could hand to you.
There were very few parts in the book that I didn't like. I mainly didn't like the sad parts of the book. While reading Where the Heart is, you feel connected to the characters, and when something happens to one of them, you can't help to feel their pain.
Girls would probably enjoy this book more than guys, but they can also read it. If you're looking for a book to help you find yourself and change your views on life, I would suggest to you, Where the Heart is.
This is a good read that had me interested throughout.

posted by 148253 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very disturbing.

It was fine until I got closer to the end of the book. What was written made me put it down and never pick it up again. You think it is all wholesome by the title and reviews, but it isn't.

posted by Anonymous on October 17, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 410 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Interestng read, and sad at times.

    A story about a young minded 17 year-old girl who was dumped off in a Wal-Mart parking lot, who had only $7.77 to her name? Her boyfriend leaves her in a Wal-mart parking lot. Novalee thinks her life is at its worst before she realizes that this mistake will only lead her on her way. While living in Wal-mart, she meets some interesting people whom later on lead her to the woman she's meant to be and through to her life calling. <BR/>I really enjoyed this book. Where the Heart is helps you to realize who you are. This book helped me realize that, your heart is what gets you to where you want to be. It shows you that heart can get you through anything, and that love is the strongest weapon life could hand to you. <BR/>There were very few parts in the book that I didn't like. I mainly didn't like the sad parts of the book. While reading Where the Heart is, you feel connected to the characters, and when something happens to one of them, you can't help to feel their pain. <BR/>Girls would probably enjoy this book more than guys, but they can also read it. If you're looking for a book to help you find yourself and change your views on life, I would suggest to you, Where the Heart is. <BR/>This is a good read that had me interested throughout.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book

    I watched the Where the Heart Is movie, and I absolutely fell in love with it. I wasn't a reader when the movie came out, and I didn't know that it was based on a book, but when I found out it was I made my aunt take me to Barnes & Noble to find the book. I read this book and I was so surprised to find characters in it that were no where to be found in the movie. The characters and story..and Wal-Mart :) made me love this book & movie and now 9 years later, both versions are still my favorites. I recommend this book to everyone...it may become your favorite as well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    VERY VERY GOOD READ..COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!

    I borrowed this book from a friend so I'd have enough to read while on vacation in the Bahamas. As soon as I picked this book up I could not put it down and read it in 24 hours. I did not realize it was on Oprah's book list. It was funny, dramatic, tearful...the whole nine yards. The main character was very well developed as well as the other characters. I was sad when I finished it only because I wanted the story to go on and on!!! I will purchase this again to put in my library; I'm sure I'll read it again. Plus, I'm going to send it to my 16 year old granddaughter who loves to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is so amazing that I read once a year! I suggest this to all of my friends amd family. I could feel like I was there on the situations! So awesome book! You NEED to get it!!!!!!! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Yu must read the book

    Th e books alwaya better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    Buy it buy it buy it

    I love it i watched the movie alot 2

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Such+a+sweet+book

    I+read+this+years+ago.+I+believe+it+was+on+Oprah%27s+book+club%2C+before+it+became+a+movie.++Such+a+cute%2C+heart+warming+story.++Like+many+have+said+the+book+is+much+better+then+the+movie%2C+has+most+are.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    a beautiful book

    just when you thought your life was rough you soon realize that you may not actually have it so bad. this book takes you on a journey that gives you a sense of enpowerment leading you along side novalee as she battles the birth of her daughter in walmart to the love she learns to accept and friendship which she learns to cherish. this is a beautifully written book you will not be able to put it down once you start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Great story

    Hollywood made a movie about this book and as always, the book is so much better. Definitely a thumbs up read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    Loved It!!!!!

    I am a Junior at Holt High School & i read the book Where the Heart Is. This is one of the best books i have read, I would read this book again it was that good. I got the book from the school library & it was recremonded to me by a friend for a class project. I thought it was going to be one of those ooks that would be easy simple & i don't have to pay much attention to but I couldn't stop reading after i began. Where the Heart Is is about a teenage girl that is pregnet & her boyfriend leaves her in a Wal-mart in some strange town. She ends up living in the Wal-mart until she has the baby. This book has so many shocking moments that you can't help but be intresred. I would recremond this book to all it is that good.You cannot help but be intrested in the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Wonderful fell good book

    Downloaded this book into my nook and read it all the way through the first day. I had seen the movie but it didn't come close to capturing the essence of the characters. In the movie they mesh together or just plain leave out some of the important people that are very pivotal to the plot. Although the movie itself did stay true to a lot of the book, there are some instances the movie completely left out or changed dramatically to give it the Hollywood touch. I guess it is true when they say the book is always better than the movie. A must read for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I've Read It Twice

    This is my all time favorite book and have recommended to everyone that has every asked for a great read. This author did an amazing job with characters and shows every emotion one could possible feel. The movie did this book no justice at all (still a good watch though). You can really feel what the characters are going through and you see several different viewpoints.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Where the Heart Is

    I can't believe that I waited so long to read this book. It is one of my favorites. I loved the characters and the story. All of the characters had something to offer and experiences to learn from. There are some sad parts in the book, but that's what makes it so special. I was able to connect with the characters and I cried when bad things happened to them. I felt so good about the world after I read this book. It's nice to know that the characters were based on real people, and that there are some generous people still out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Definite "Feel Good" Read

    This book is an easy read...and definitely a way to get your mind off of things. This story is about Novalee Nation, a 17 year-old fledgeling, who is pregnant. She is escaping her town in Tennessee for a life in California with her boyfriend, Willy Jack Pickens. He abandons her at a Wal-Mart in Sequoyah, Oklahoma where Novalee makes a home, and a bunch of colorful characters ensue. I highly recommend this read. It picks you up when you are down, and one may actually regain faith in humanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    My Absolute Favorite

    I would never have thought to read this book if it wasn't recommended to me by my teacher. I was intrigued from the first page till the last, not bored for a second about the journey Novalee (the main character) went through. I would highly suggest this book if looking for an ispirational, riveting story that always has an unexpected twist, gluing you to the next page. The author's originality in her writing gives your imagination a more vivid picture of the story and shows it in a breathtaking way. This book undeniably deserves five stars for its little bit of everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Great Book!!!

    I loved this story it was so much fun to read.I thought it was well written and very enjoyable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    a reviewer

    If you like books that are touching then you should read this. I am 13 and my sister told me about this book. She recomended it to me. This is a great book to help people to understand how things are and to tell teenagers not to have kids at a young age. To find out more you should read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this not long after getting back on my feet after an abusive relationship. Letts starts off with pregnant Novalee, a loving, beautiful girl with no real smarts except street smarts. She's lived her whole life in houses that have 'wheels under them', and she has been tossed from one foster family to the next. Novalee has also made bad choices on her own accord, and Willy Jack, her current boyfriend is an obvious really bad choice on introduction. The two of them set out west where Novalee looks forward to living in a house on the water. Then, thank God, he abandon's her in the parking lot of a WalMart with less than I had when I walked into the shelter! But with the birth of her baby Americus Nation, Novalee seems to will her life to transform. She accepts love from stranger who become family and friends, and she takes huge risks. There is a bit of Noavalle Nation in every one of us who has pulled it together when things were really rough. This book is a part of my soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Where the Heart Is, by Billie Letts is honestly one of the most amazing books I¿ve ever read. I thought that the plot was interesting and surprising, and by the end of the book I had a new perspective on young girls that get pregnant. The main character, Novalee Nation makes you feel like you are a part of the book. She is the kind of person that I wish I knew in real life. Through all that she¿s been through, 'and throughout the story, this is a lot' she keeps a smile on her face and hope in her heart. The other great thing about Where the Heart Is is that not only is Novalee Nation an excellent character, but all of the other ones and just as good. They all have distinct personalities and there is something to love about each one. I recommend this book to anyone that wants a book that they won¿t be able to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    An amazing book

    This story touches my heart in so many different ways. It is almost exactly like the movie you are glued there until it is over. You feel pity that her boyfriend left her but glad that she got away from him and made true friends. You always are wondering what is going on with Forney. But you will have to read it to find out! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 410 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21