Customer Reviews for

Where the Heart Leads (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The latest Cynster tale is an excellent historical romantic mystery

Lady Penelope Ashford may come from the affluent influential Cynster brood, but she is no quiet debutante. Instead she works extremely hard trying to bring a better life to young street urchins of the London slums with her Foundling House charity. When four of her orp...
Lady Penelope Ashford may come from the affluent influential Cynster brood, but she is no quiet debutante. Instead she works extremely hard trying to bring a better life to young street urchins of the London slums with her Foundling House charity. When four of her orphaned children disappear, Penelope believes they were abducted for a nefarious reason and wants them rescued. She knows who is best suited to investigate so in her take charge manner Penelope commands deduction agent Barnaby Adair to locate and save her children.----------- Barnaby is fascinated by the pushy but caring Penelope. However, he becomes a bit disturbed when she insists on accompanying him as he makes his inquiries as he feels it is not safe for her while she insists she will keep him safe by having his back. With help from his pal Inspector Basil Stokes of Scotland Yard, the duo seeks a burglary school for the young in East End slums even as the two sleuths begin to fall in love.------------- The latest Cynster tale is an excellent historical romantic mystery starring the usual feisty female and in this case a refreshing sleuth. The fast-paced story line focuses on the lead couple especially their joint investigation into the missing orphans. Filled with twists and red herrings, fans of the series (obviously) and those who enjoy the sub-genre will appreciate this tale of the heart from ┬┐the Casebook of Barnaby Adair┬┐.------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did NOT Like at All

Love all her other books, but did not like this one. Did not like Penelope, did not like Barney. Not believable circumstances, not believable characters. They never interact with their families who are supposedly so important to them. Penelope runs a orphan/foundling...
Love all her other books, but did not like this one. Did not like Penelope, did not like Barney. Not believable circumstances, not believable characters. They never interact with their families who are supposedly so important to them. Penelope runs a orphan/foundling home with no problems from anyone else in the ton??? She runs around with no one bothering her even though all the other females in her life/family have to accomodate their outside interess with family and ton obligations. She's curious about desire/sex but doesn't want anyone to control so of course she'll just hop into bed with Barney!! And if I hear one more time about how handsome and beautiful they are that no one takes them seriously, I'll scream

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    Where the Heart Leads is considered the 15th book in the Cynsters Family Saga, and although the Casebook of Barnaby Adair is mentioned on the cover, that is the true nature of the book. Cynster fans, looking for a story like the earlier passionate and heart stopping handsome Cynster males sensually pursuing strong beautiful ladies, made-to-be Cynster brides, may be left just a bit disappointed. That is not to say that Stephanie Lauren¿s most recent book is not extremely well-written with characters of depth, it is just that after a while the whole Cynster mystique gets diluted so much down the line of cousins and siblings of Cynster relations that the reader now has to expect something different and this story is different, not close to the fabulous Cynster novels that were written early on. Those will always remain favorites for romance fans and collectors. No one knows the Regency Period and 19th century more than Stephanie Laurens especially when she wrote a few Cynster novels with storylines about the rare and extremely interesting horse racing world that took place during the period. Now she entertains and educates readers further with her knowledge of what it is like behind the glittering ballrooms, gentlemen clubs, shining ladies in silks and rogues outfitted in Hessians and superfine. During this period there were those that suffered while others lived lives of leisure. In this book we see how the other side lives. Portia Cynster started a Foundling School for Orphans that aids poor orphans after the death of their only living relative, which was the focus of another Cynster novel and mentioned in some of the others. Now after marrying Simon and running a house and having children of her own, the responsibility of the school has been turned over to Penelope, Portia¿s sister. A beauty, but considered a bluestocking and a bit overwhelming to many gentlemen of the ton, Penelope has been dedicated to her work and has never thought of marrying, believing she would never be able to find the type of true love other Cynster women have found, especially in her unique position of running the school and having a rare intelligence and deep calling for social justice. Her feelings about love, passion, and even marriage begin to change a bit after four boys due to arrive at the school show up missing and she considers asking the third son of a nobleman, Barnaby Adair, well-known for solving mysterious cases of the ton, to consider helping her find these boys. As soon as she knocks on his door late one night she realizes that she is drawn to the handsome and intelligent Barnaby, and is more thrilled when she realizes he understands, respects and is not judgmental about her school, intelligence and involvement in social causes. What a coincidence that the stunning and intelligent Penelope shows up at Barnaby¿s door just when he is sitting alone in his parlor nursing a brandy and deciding what to do with his life that was once exciting and now seems to hold no appeal anymore. To him it is love at first sight, but he knows he must move carefully and allow Penelope to realize they were meant to be together so that he doesn¿t lose her and his one chance at finally finding a woman that is his equal and worthy to be his wife. Barnaby obtains the aid of his friend Basil Stokes, of Scotland Yard, and together with an East End woman, Griselda Martin, who worked her way up from the poor East End to becoming a successful tradeswoman as a milliner, the two couples work together to solve the case of the missing boys and the discovery of a burglary school that is snatching them away as soon as they are orphaned before they can make it to the school. The danger intensifies as murders begin to take place before the children can be orphaned and are snatched, while at the same time love and passion are blooming for the two couples. This story is a delightful change for Ms. Laurens and hopefully the fans of the Cynster books will realiz

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Cynster tale is an excellent historical romantic mystery

    Lady Penelope Ashford may come from the affluent influential Cynster brood, but she is no quiet debutante. Instead she works extremely hard trying to bring a better life to young street urchins of the London slums with her Foundling House charity. When four of her orphaned children disappear, Penelope believes they were abducted for a nefarious reason and wants them rescued. She knows who is best suited to investigate so in her take charge manner Penelope commands deduction agent Barnaby Adair to locate and save her children.----------- Barnaby is fascinated by the pushy but caring Penelope. However, he becomes a bit disturbed when she insists on accompanying him as he makes his inquiries as he feels it is not safe for her while she insists she will keep him safe by having his back. With help from his pal Inspector Basil Stokes of Scotland Yard, the duo seeks a burglary school for the young in East End slums even as the two sleuths begin to fall in love.------------- The latest Cynster tale is an excellent historical romantic mystery starring the usual feisty female and in this case a refreshing sleuth. The fast-paced story line focuses on the lead couple especially their joint investigation into the missing orphans. Filled with twists and red herrings, fans of the series (obviously) and those who enjoy the sub-genre will appreciate this tale of the heart from ¿the Casebook of Barnaby Adair¿.------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    I absolutely adored this novel!

    I loved Penelope and I have always loved Barnaby...seeing him finally meet his match and seeing Penelope bending though reluctantly, to the power of love and desire, was a joy to behold...I also was so thrilled to see Inspector Stokes who I liked in other books find the love of his life. I was not surprised to find Penelope to be even more stubborn and independent than her sister Portia because she was described that way when she was introduced previously and it was a joy watching Barnaby who thought he was beyond the influence of love, be the one to recognise the signs and to match wits with her...It was fun reading, I can't wait for my next Stepanie Laurens Novel. I highly recommend this novel and I am sure to re-read it as I do all of her novels. BRAVO!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Romantic Mystery

    This not really a Cynster novel although it does reference the Cynsters. The story gives greater insight of the Barnaby Adair character. Barnaby is an interesting character and his love interest Penelope is a little quirky and is ideally suited for Barnaby. The book also give much more information about Inspector Stokes who was mentioned in previous books. The book sets up the opportunity for future books featuring Barnaby Adair and Inspector Stokes. Can't wait to see what Stephanie Laurens will do with these characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    A disappointment

    I was quite disappointed by this book. I used to love her stories, but I found this one endless and flat. All these descriptions, analysing and analysing feelings... And what's with the dashes, there must be thousands in this book. Stephanie Laurens' style used to be lively and things were moving at a fast pace. I will think twice before buying another of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Where The Heart Leads was a good title for the book. As they follow the story line they definately do follow a beginning romance mixed within the plot of the book.

    I loved this book. It kept me hooked and reading every free moment that I had. I was sorry to see the ending chapters appear. This was the 16th book that I read of the Cynster novels written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Did NOT Like at All

    Love all her other books, but did not like this one. Did not like Penelope, did not like Barney. Not believable circumstances, not believable characters. They never interact with their families who are supposedly so important to them. Penelope runs a orphan/foundling home with no problems from anyone else in the ton??? She runs around with no one bothering her even though all the other females in her life/family have to accomodate their outside interess with family and ton obligations. She's curious about desire/sex but doesn't want anyone to control so of course she'll just hop into bed with Barney!! And if I hear one more time about how handsome and beautiful they are that no one takes them seriously, I'll scream

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    Loved it!

    A very fitting sequel to the Bar Cynster series. I'll be looking forward to more of Barnaby and Penelope and the various Cynsters. It was a special treat to see Stokes find love in this novel too which brought tears to my eyes. That's what these books do - you become 'involved' with these characters - they seem so very real. I also love the Bastion Club novels, and I'm looking forward to the next two books in the series - the romances of Christian and the mysterious Dalziel (he with the bedroom eyes). Stephanie Laurens always weaves a very sensual love story into her mysteries. The men are potent and very romantic, the women are strong and determined. The time period, clothing, scenery and lovemaking is vibrant and seems very real. It's a delight to see each 'hunk' succumb to love and the lady he desires.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A PLEASING POTPOURRI OF ROMANCE AND MYSTERY

    Do you enjoy Regency romances, vicariously visiting another time and place ? Do you like a narrative laced with descriptions of a heroine whose senses alternately swoon or quake and nerves clench at the slightest touch of a tall, handsome ? If so, you'll find much to relish in the latest by Australian novelist Stephanie Laurens. This author has also crafted a mystery to accompany the increasing palpitations of Penelope Ashford and Barnaby Adair's roguish come-hither behavior. While the mystery is an intriguing one involving some of the most dastardly villains since Fagin in Oliver Twist, it certainly takes second place to the love stories Ms. Laurens has woven. It is late one evening when we first meet Barnaby, who is known for uncovering the shenanigans of his fellow aristocrats. While his latest feat has been praised by many, including the Prime Minister, he's not reveling in his victory, but feels rather at a loss. We take it a bit bored - that is until the doorbell rings at this unlikely hour and Penelope is ushered into his parlor. Penelope is a rather unusual heroine - beautiful, of course, but wearing gold rimmed glasses. Barnaby remembers what he'd heard of her - that 'she was something of a firebrand, one who paid scant attention to social restraints if said restraints stood in her way.' Precisely so as she's cast propriety aside to come to his home unescorted at an untimely hour. She is seeking his help. Penelope is the director of a foundling home, an institution that takes in orphans primarily from the East End. Once there the youngsters are well cared for and trained to be maids, footmen, etc. The problem is that in the past month alone four of the boys who should have gone to the home have been taken by someone unknown before Penelope or others could pick them up. Naturally, she fears for their safety and wants the kidnappers stopped before more boys are taken. Barnaby agrees to help her and enlists the assistance of his good friend, Inspector Basil Stokes. When it becomes obvious that they must somehow penetrate the East End in an effort to learn more, Stokes calls upon Griselda Martin, a former East Ender who now runs a millinery shop. No surprise - romance blossoms between this pair also. Thus, Laurens presents two very different couples united by one baffling pursuit, while at the same time each explores the intricacies of his or her emotions. Just what this author's fans will stand in line for. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Laurens doesn't disappoint

    Historical romance and mystery involving characters who you'd like to see again and again solving crimes and bringing people to justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Wonderful as always.

    It's a pleasure to read a new Cynster novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Hot sizzling romantic historical novel

    I highly recommend it if you like romantic historical novels. I have
    read all the Cynster series and have enjoyed them very much.
    Some of the romantic scenes are a little too graphic for me but the rest of the story is intriguing and has you guessing "who dun it"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Decent romance

    I wasn't totally taken in by this book, but the story was good for a quick, light read. I'd like to read more by this author to see what her other books are like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Stephine Laurens is a great author!

    I especially love the Cynster Novels! This is another great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Where the Heart Leads

    I think this is a great book. It has a very unique and interestng plot line and the characters are believable, given the time setting of the book, which I like. Although it is a romantic book, it also has a great mystery in it. I like the combination of both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Not Good

    I waited and waited for this book to come out and I found it disappointing. It is NOT a keeper. Can't will them all I guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3