Customer Reviews for

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(195)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful storytelling and strong female character

What a wonderful adventure story! Life lessons abound in the tale of a girl who sets out on a journey to change her family's fortune. She changes hers and those of other in many ways she never expected! Many learn that fortune is not limited to financial riches.
...
What a wonderful adventure story! Life lessons abound in the tale of a girl who sets out on a journey to change her family's fortune. She changes hers and those of other in many ways she never expected! Many learn that fortune is not limited to financial riches.

As the mother of daughters, I am always searching for books with strong female characters who are intelligent and resourceful. Females who do not need to be rescued. Grace Lin writes beautifully about Minli's quest and all that she learns along the way from the challenges she faces and those she meets. She is a clever, resourceful, bright, and brave child who is of good character and has a kind heart. I am happy to share this book with my kids.

I like the way in which the book is written in a storyteller fashion. Grace Lin weaves stories within the story. The book is a pleasure to read and to share.

posted by books-n-books on March 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

good

its a good book if you like reading some/kinda mystery books

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful storytelling and strong female character

    What a wonderful adventure story! Life lessons abound in the tale of a girl who sets out on a journey to change her family's fortune. She changes hers and those of other in many ways she never expected! Many learn that fortune is not limited to financial riches.

    As the mother of daughters, I am always searching for books with strong female characters who are intelligent and resourceful. Females who do not need to be rescued. Grace Lin writes beautifully about Minli's quest and all that she learns along the way from the challenges she faces and those she meets. She is a clever, resourceful, bright, and brave child who is of good character and has a kind heart. I am happy to share this book with my kids.

    I like the way in which the book is written in a storyteller fashion. Grace Lin weaves stories within the story. The book is a pleasure to read and to share.

    32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Fantasy Fun

    This book gives you a glimpse into the Chinese culture through folktales. It's the story of one little girl and the adventures she has on her journey to change her family fortune. The folktales are woven within her journey and help her on her way. It's a delightful read.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Awesome Book

    I love this book! Its one of the best childrens books I have ever read! I think you should read this book!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Wonderful tale

    Just finished reading aloud to my 8 yr old twins. We all loved this wonderful tale. Highly recommend

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    Another great book by Grace Lin.

    WHERE THE MOUNTAIN MEETS THE MOON is another great book by Grace Lin that is almost impossible to put down. This book was filled with meaning that blew away the text and words that should have filled thousands of pages instead of 156 pages. Do not hesitate to buy this book because it will be worth all your money!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Beautiful tale....

    As a fifth grade teacher, I strongly recommend this for children and adults. Grace Lin's story is magical and intriguing. The book reads very quickly, but the characters are unique and complex. There is a lot to think about and talk about within this book, it would be a wonderful choice for both children and parents to share. Beautiful writing that just leaves you smiling...

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Impossible to put down

    I am a teacher in a 1st through 3rd grade classroom. This has been our favorite read-aloud all year. The kids love it. I love it. The story is amazing and so richly written that illustrations aren't necessary (the few there are truly shine). We read every day and talk about plot, characters, settings - the kids love drawing what they are imagining. The way the story starts coming together and the kids start making connections is amazing. I've never seen my kids so excited about a book. I'm hearing them talk about it in their casual conversations. I would highly, highly, highly recommend this book!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    May 18, 2013

    What a great book! This is an amazing adventure story! I reccomend this book completley! Have fun reading!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    good

    its a good book if you like reading some/kinda mystery books

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    WOW

    SUPER DUPER GOOD

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Gar Grace lin came to my school

    I bought this book when she did and it is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!P.s if someone does not like this book they don't know what there talking about

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Stop

    STOP WRITING NONSENSE THINGS LIKE GHDJSFEJWJDBTN AND ACTUALLY WRITE WHAT YOU THINK

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Very good book.

    I read it in 4th grade it was awsome.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Awesome jjust awesome

    Bravo that was just an awesom book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Minli

    The story of a beautiful girl and Dragon to meet the old man of the moon to change there familys fortune. But is the question worth asking? When Minli sets a outstagering adventure and a true friend. Da-fu and A-fu little children who traps a short tempered spirt of the Green tiger. Minli meets a kindful king and a bufalo boy whose friends with a young lady of the old man of the moon. But suddenly..the minli's friend (the dragon) has been cut by the Green tiger's dredful claws. This is pretty much tge best book ive ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Good

    This book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I would give tgis book a 4 and a half stars:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Anynonomous

    This is my fav book! I've read it 4 times before but I still got it because it is amazing! It's about a dragon and a girl who tries to change her fortune!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Best book ever!

    I read this book and i thought it was a really good book I thought it was really detailed and Minli is tring to get fortune for her family and relised at the end that she doesn't want to change her fortune, and she finds many people and magical animals like a dragon. I like how there is a lesson or a story in each chapter this book is very, very ,very interesting and many people would like this book it could not be more detailed. I highly recommend this book for ages 10-11.





















    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Anonymous

    This was the BEST book I have ever read in my entire life!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Amazing book!!

    This is a really good book it is so hard to put down! It is cool how everything fits together!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12