BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Where the Red Fern Grows

Average Rating 4.5
( 1417 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1124)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

This book is wonderful

This book was wonderful. I read it for the first time in third grade as a lonely third grader who had recently moved from another state. I already had a dog but I wanted one of my own afterwards. In fourth grade I got a new miniature schnauzer puppy and named her Litt...
This book was wonderful. I read it for the first time in third grade as a lonely third grader who had recently moved from another state. I already had a dog but I wanted one of my own afterwards. In fourth grade I got a new miniature schnauzer puppy and named her Little Ann after the dog in this book. My Little Ann died 2 novembers ago at 15 years old. I was cleaning out some of my childhood books and recently found my old copy and reread it with my sister. It made us both cry, but we still love it.

posted by immortalimp83 on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

What a terrible book!

I had to read this for school and i absolutely hated it. The whole thing promotes needless killing, carnage, and brutality upon animals. The entire story's premise is about a young boy, his dogs, and his love for harming animals. He forces the dogs he buys to hunt and m...
I had to read this for school and i absolutely hated it. The whole thing promotes needless killing, carnage, and brutality upon animals. The entire story's premise is about a young boy, his dogs, and his love for harming animals. He forces the dogs he buys to hunt and murder raccoons. Also, there is a disturbing scene where a teenager tries to kill two puppies with an axe, only to trip and get himself killed gorily and graphically. The views expressed by Wilson Rawls are dated and sexist, as Billy's mother is stereotyped as overprotective and emotional. Did you ever notice that his sisters have no names mentioned, and men are stereotyped as stupid and overly violent? In short, I do not think that anyone should read a book that promotes such cruelty.

posted by 1333742 on January 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1418 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 71
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    Boring

    0 thums up. All i have to say on the subject.

    4 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Horrible..

    I didn't like this book one bit--it bored me to tears. ]:

    4 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    horrible

    it's too slow and has no action

    4 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    Worst Book Ever

    I had to read this book in class when I was in 5th grade. I hated every word in it. It was boring, and sad at the same time. I hated the ending. It made me cry and I NEVER cry about books. I hated the whole idea of the book. I hated how killing racoons was popular. No one should ever have to read it.

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    F

    My sister said this is sad please reply and tell me if it is sad or not. I think she had to read this for school but I am not sure....This book looks sorta good but some reviews say this book is sad,scary,mean, or to conufusing..Is this true if it is press yes and reply!!!!! I AM SO SCARED TO READ IT!!!!!! G2G LETTLE LEE

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    A very good book

    This is probably the best book i've ever read. I literally never put the book down because it was so good and I wanted to read more. It is so detailed that I cried at the end. I'm not going to spoil the book, so that is all I will say but I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Book Review Outline Book title and author: Where the Red Fern G

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Where the Red Fern Grows By: Wilson Rawls
    Title of review: Where the Red Fern Grows, Review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction
    The theme of this book is about a boy named Billy, and his dogs names are Old Dan and Little Ann. They hunt together play together and have a friendship that you will never forget.
    Description and summary of main points
    Billy wants two hound dogs so bad! He goes through anything to save up his money for them. When he finally has all of his money saved up he sets off for a journey to retrieve them. But when he arrives the city isn’t what he expected it to be.

    Evaluation
    I think the book is very sad but it has a special meaning to me. You get excited and happy while reading it but I couldn’t stop reading because I wanted to see what happened to bad.
    Conclusion
    This book will make you happy and sad at times, you are sure to cry at the end. But then you will always remember the stories and happiness between Billy, Old Dan, and Little Ann.
    Your final review

    This book is really a good read, the reflection on this book is that a boy will go through anything to help and protect his two dogs. And when they grow up to be good hunting dogs something happens to Old Dan and Little Ann. But it is a really beautiful book. Give it a read and see how much you like it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    How good this book is

    This book is great like many other classics like shiloh this book tore my heart apart but it was worth the time reading each and every sentence!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Where the Red Fern Grows- Review by: Kayla Cabanas

    This is my FAVORITE book. This is my ABSOULTE favorite book. Best book I ever read! This book made me smile,laugh and cry. I highly reccomend this book. If I could it a higher rating, I would!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book was ok...

    My 12 yr old had to read this as apart of her 6th grade class. She thought it was an "ok" read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sam Deffett says never read this book it is absolutely horrible!!!!!

    This has to be the worst book i have ever readd! Seriously. It bored me to tears! Not happy ones either. If you would like to comment me on this i do have myspace and an aim that you can contact me with. You can look me up on myspace as Guess Who?.
    thxx for readingg

    3 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    I dislike the book

    I did not like the book. It is the first and last time I am reading it. It made me fall asleep. I'm telling you do not read that book at all in your life.

    3 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    You know when you are trying to read and all of a sudden the pag

    You know when you are trying to read and all of a sudden the pages start to get blurry and tears start streaming down your face and before you know it you are uncontrollably balling your eyes out? Well if you haven't then read this book and you will know what i mean!! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Ananimous

    Haertwarming

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Anoymous

    I hate the moive. All his dogs die! Do not get this book!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Sad

    My dauter and I read it and its very sad and if your the typically emotional animal loving girl that feels for the characters like my daughter then you will dislike it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    .

    This is a beautifully crafted book of determination, friendship, compassion and loyalty. The tale of Billy and his two hounds. It truly shows the meaning of "man's best friend."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    SAD BUT LOVE IT

    IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK HAVE TO GET IT SAD BUT I LOVE IT

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    (Cry):''(

    Im in 3rd grade and my teacher read the book then showed the movie i cried 'cause i get attached to dogs i looooooovvvvvvvvveeeeeeeee DOGS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    I love this book

    Kept me up cring and sometimes laughing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1418 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 71