Customer Reviews for

Where the Red Fern Grows

Average Rating 4.5
( 1406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1114)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

This book is wonderful

This book was wonderful. I read it for the first time in third grade as a lonely third grader who had recently moved from another state. I already had a dog but I wanted one of my own afterwards. In fourth grade I got a new miniature schnauzer puppy and named her Litt...
This book was wonderful. I read it for the first time in third grade as a lonely third grader who had recently moved from another state. I already had a dog but I wanted one of my own afterwards. In fourth grade I got a new miniature schnauzer puppy and named her Little Ann after the dog in this book. My Little Ann died 2 novembers ago at 15 years old. I was cleaning out some of my childhood books and recently found my old copy and reread it with my sister. It made us both cry, but we still love it.

posted by immortalimp83 on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

DISAPPOINTING!

Yes, I have to admit it was a well written book and is a story about two very precious dogs! But for GOD's SAKE! Who wants to read a book that is as SAD as death! I'm warning you now that if your looking for a happily ever after story STOP NOW and pick a different bo...
Yes, I have to admit it was a well written book and is a story about two very precious dogs! But for GOD's SAKE! Who wants to read a book that is as SAD as death! I'm warning you now that if your looking for a happily ever after story STOP NOW and pick a different book!

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 56
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is wonderful

    This book was wonderful. I read it for the first time in third grade as a lonely third grader who had recently moved from another state. I already had a dog but I wanted one of my own afterwards. In fourth grade I got a new miniature schnauzer puppy and named her Little Ann after the dog in this book. My Little Ann died 2 novembers ago at 15 years old. I was cleaning out some of my childhood books and recently found my old copy and reread it with my sister. It made us both cry, but we still love it.

    74 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    Where the Red Fern Grows: A Breath-Taking Book

    Where the Red Fern Grows is an amazing book about a boy named Billy who lives in the little town of Ozarks. There he works very hard to buy two red bone hounds. The two dogs, Old Dan and Little Ann, seem to be able to always understand Billy and the three are inseparable. Billy trains his dogs to hunt, and they become an incredible team. Throughout the story they face many challenges in competitions, bets, and much more. This book was so intriguing. I had always heard of this book, but never took the time to read it. I'm so glad I chose to read this book. It shows the devotion of two dogs to each other and to their master. I would warn parents that this book contains some blood, so the child should be at least about third or fourth grade. Other than that, I think anyone who reads this book will fall in love with the characters and the touching plot. Throughout this book I laughed and even cried. The description is amazing and will take your breathe away.

    54 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a heartwarming story for all ages!

    I have never read a novel quite like this one. Where the Red Fern Grows is the most emphantic story that is out there.


    A mature novel of a relationship between a boy and his two loving hunting hounds. Encounter the stories of two angels and a boy in the flinty ozark mts.


    Five stars, please read. I promise a story full of faith and happy tears!
    Truly, heartwarming.

    38 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Anonoymous

    I LOVE this book i recommend this book to ANYONE although i will admitt that tears where rolling down my cheeks and it was hard for me to tell someone the book without me crying (yeah its that good) even though part of the end was really sad it still had a sweet ending i will never forget this book

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    For the animal enthusiast

    Any animal enthusiast will find this heart wrenching novel an absolute pleasure as Billy's attachment to his dogs, and their fondness of each other. Unquestionably will resonate with all pet owners.<BR/>This book offers the extra benefit of providing inspiring examples of virtuous human qualities. Billy shows his adherence to personal accountability via the manner that he finds the money himself to purchase his hounds; a feat not easily accomplished by a child. Billy also exemplifies his absolute devotion to his family and dogs matched only by the loyalty echoed to him from his dogs.<BR/>You will find this book will be a very satisfying ordeal from Billy's acquisition of the pups to their saddening yet revealing conclusion regarding the red fern. I highly recommend this book to animal lovers of all ages and to those looking for meaningful excursion into the potent power of affection among humans and animals.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very great read!

    Honestly this book was the best that i ever read. Good for the dog lover and any animal lover out there, shows that a boy can have friends to trust and count on. Forming relationships with two souls forever together even after death has come and gone which still touches your heart. This is a great book!!!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Omg

    This book is awsomr i rate it a 10

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Seen both.

    I read the book when I was in third grade and watched the movie then also. The ending is sad but at least he gets his dogs.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    This book truly picks at your heart strings

    When you first start the story, Billy is just a kid who’s from a simple farm in the west. But after a few chapters, it turns into a great story with underlying meaning of love. The whole theme of the book is based around an old Indians tale, of precious red ferns growing wherever true love is. And you come to realize that the connection between Billy, Old Dan, and Little Ann is far more than just pet to owner. From the first coon hunt and the huge tree, all the way to the last fatal fight with the mountain lion, it is a fun, easy going read for practically any age. This is a must read book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Favorite Book, couldnt put it down until I was finished.

    This book is easily the best book that I have ever read. I have probably read it at least 5 times in the past year and enjoy it every time. I thought that it was exiting and a book with many good morals for older kids. This book inspired me to work for things that I want just like Billy. Would recomend it to anyone who loves hunting, animals, or the outdoors.
    Anyone that said that this was a bad book and that it provoked sensless killing was wrong. Hound dogs are bred to hunt and choose to hunt on there own. If a dog dosn't want to hunt then it wont. Also, animals being killed by other animals and people is just nature and there is nothing wrong with it. If you thought it was bad it was probably because you were not paying attention

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    When my teacher read this book to my thrid grade class,
    everybody in the class was lisening. It seems like the book goes on forever, but in the end it is worth it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Goooooood Boooooook!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Made me cry on 1st and 20th chapter I bet you i will read it again.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Supurb!

    Great book that shows the relationship between a boy and his dogs!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    fantastic

    i love this book ! its so sweet . it makes me want a dog so bad its my favorite book but its really sad . my favorite part is when billy raises the $ to buy the dogs & he runs away from home to get them .i love this story & i would totally recemend this book to you

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Anonamos

    I read this book with my class and we all loved it. I suggest every child should read this book. If you dont like this book you should read books by Rick Riordan or James Patterson.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    A very good book

    This is probably the best book i've ever read. I literally never put the book down because it was so good and I wanted to read more. It is so detailed that I cried at the end. I'm not going to spoil the book, so that is all I will say but I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    How good this book is

    This book is great like many other classics like shiloh this book tore my heart apart but it was worth the time reading each and every sentence!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Where the Red Fern Grows- Review by: Kayla Cabanas

    This is my FAVORITE book. This is my ABSOULTE favorite book. Best book I ever read! This book made me smile,laugh and cry. I highly reccomend this book. If I could it a higher rating, I would!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    You know when you are trying to read and all of a sudden the pag

    You know when you are trying to read and all of a sudden the pages start to get blurry and tears start streaming down your face and before you know it you are uncontrollably balling your eyes out? Well if you haven't then read this book and you will know what i mean!! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Ananimous

    Haertwarming

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 56