Customer Reviews for

Where the Red Fern Grows

Average Rating 4.5
( 1422 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1128)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

This book is wonderful

This book was wonderful. I read it for the first time in third grade as a lonely third grader who had recently moved from another state. I already had a dog but I wanted one of my own afterwards. In fourth grade I got a new miniature schnauzer puppy and named her Litt...
This book was wonderful. I read it for the first time in third grade as a lonely third grader who had recently moved from another state. I already had a dog but I wanted one of my own afterwards. In fourth grade I got a new miniature schnauzer puppy and named her Little Ann after the dog in this book. My Little Ann died 2 novembers ago at 15 years old. I was cleaning out some of my childhood books and recently found my old copy and reread it with my sister. It made us both cry, but we still love it.

posted by immortalimp83 on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

DISAPPOINTING!

Yes, I have to admit it was a well written book and is a story about two very precious dogs! But for GOD's SAKE! Who wants to read a book that is as SAD as death! I'm warning you now that if your looking for a happily ever after story STOP NOW and pick a different bo...
Yes, I have to admit it was a well written book and is a story about two very precious dogs! But for GOD's SAKE! Who wants to read a book that is as SAD as death! I'm warning you now that if your looking for a happily ever after story STOP NOW and pick a different book!

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1128 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 57
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    .

    This is a beautifully crafted book of determination, friendship, compassion and loyalty. The tale of Billy and his two hounds. It truly shows the meaning of "man's best friend."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    SAD BUT LOVE IT

    IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK HAVE TO GET IT SAD BUT I LOVE IT

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    (Cry):''(

    Im in 3rd grade and my teacher read the book then showed the movie i cried 'cause i get attached to dogs i looooooovvvvvvvvveeeeeeeee DOGS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    I love this book

    Kept me up cring and sometimes laughing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!

    I had to read this book for school and didnt excpect to like it, but im so glad my teacher had my class read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Were the red fern grows

    I think that were the red fern grows is the most best book ever it is a book that i could not put down it is sad happy and the book for any person that likes surprises because at the end of the book it rely suprised me so if you pick up this book know that you need to pepaer to cry

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    WTRFG

    Awesome!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Natalie

    So far so good

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Love it

    Five stars isn't enough I give it 100 and for those people who are so rude, not my fault that you don't know how to handle a sad yet happy story. Please say this was helpful if you agree

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Awesome

    I really loved this book. If you dont like this book I consider you a disgrace tp humankind and you should read it again to get a better feel for it. LOVE IT!!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Where the red fern grows

    It was an amazing book and it made me feel i was part of it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Where the Red Fern Grows

    So good I love it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    This book gives a picture of a different time and culture in a

    This book gives a picture of a different time and culture in a rural setting-if you cannot tolerate hunting you will not see the underlying beauty of the story. I did read it several years ago after it being recommended as a read aloud classic and it was heartbreaking but beautiful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Such a beautifully sad story

    I now know why it's a classic. When you close Where The Red Fern Grows at the end of the book and look down at the title, you just start to cry. It is such a beautifully written book. I love it. Five hundred stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    The book is better

    The book ks better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    To the one below┬┐

    You always have to read the book first!!! The book has more detail. I am reading this book in my L.A class. We are on chapter 6 and i already love it!! So anyway, always read the book first..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Great Book

    You must read this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Touching

    Its areally good book. Its really heart warming i loved it when i read thi book for the first tim i never put it down. (I had a book it was not on my nook) i loved this story i really recomend it because it makes you realize your dogs and it makes you realize your life in a way. Here ar some of my comments: first i love the relationship that little ann and old dan have like they always had their back and they had billys back too. My second comment is: that i love the ending.. the sacred red fern, i really recomend this book. Click buy and read!! You wont regret!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    My review

    This book is very excellent! Billy has faith in the Lord and is very determined boy. Wilson Rawls is a very good author. His writing makes you fall in love with the book. It has a very good meaning and in a way incourages young and old to work hard and have faith. I first read this book when i was 6 and loved it then, Im now 15 and i still love this book. I watch the movie all the time. This is a very inspirational book abd i beleive every on should read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Very touching story!

    This book made me cry for hours. Now, for those of you that want to read a happy story should not read this. The ending is really wierd because you just keep thinking if the sad thing that happened! But I really think that this is a great story. I still cry about it. But some people are right. If you are the kind of person that likes happy ending then dont read this! But if you really dont care, then this book will be an inspiration to you and many. THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1128 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 57