Customer Reviews for

Where the River Ends

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where the River Ends

Another great book by Charles Martin.... Enjoyed the story. As always he makes you feel an intense tenderness for his characters... although I felt the river portion went a little long, he is a great storygteller. If you're new to Charles Martin, try Wrapped in Rain a...
Another great book by Charles Martin.... Enjoyed the story. As always he makes you feel an intense tenderness for his characters... although I felt the river portion went a little long, he is a great storygteller. If you're new to Charles Martin, try Wrapped in Rain and When Crickets Cry; these are my favorites.

posted by wendywr on August 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is bad

This is the most boring book ever dont waste your monney

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    Where the River Ends

    This book was enjoyable...it centered around life experience... The circumstance was believable, the characters seemed real, the journey was a true commitment of love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Where the River Ends

    Another great book by Charles Martin.... Enjoyed the story. As always he makes you feel an intense tenderness for his characters... although I felt the river portion went a little long, he is a great storygteller. If you're new to Charles Martin, try Wrapped in Rain and When Crickets Cry; these are my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    tears coming down!!!

    there is so much to say and much more to think about when u read this book. it took me 3 days to finish this book and good amount of tears , like they promise on the cover , it cannot be more real. its awesome breaking heart and every piece of ur body and soul , just by thinking about what they been through, and there is people that going through this in real life everyday, there is so much that i would like to add , but its hard , i would remember this book for a long time as a AWESOME READ!!! EVERYBODY MUST READ IT!!! hope u will like it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    It never ceases to amaze me the quality of writing produced from this author. Read all of Martins' books. You won't be dissappointed. Trust me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Wonderfull again

    I own all of this authors books and all are wonderful. This book was pure joy to read and I will be looking for more books in the future. This is a book I would recommend to all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    A good book but a good bit unbelievable.

    I thought the book was a little slow moving and hard to believe but when it got to the end it all made sense and had so much wisdom in it. I keep thinking of all the phrases in it which were so meaningful. So I guess I could say,' Wow he has done it again' and I am looking forward to the next book. I am still trying to paddle out of my black hole from my husband's death and the phrase that got me was 'this is our last good-bye but not our last hello.' Please keep the books coming.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    When I finished the last page of this book, I closed my eyes and

    When I finished the last page of this book, I closed my eyes and felt . . . complete. It’s not that he tied every tiny item up too perfectly, it’s just that my experience of the story was everything I needed as a reader. There is a wholeness at the end of the story. When you read about all the brokenness throughout, you feel it, and you’re filled with the longing and hope and struggles of the characters. So when Mr. Martin ends the story, he somehow managed to achieve wholeness in the midst of the broken. Does that make sense?

    How does he do it?

    Martin’s writing leaves me breathless at times, and stunned at others. This story traces the last days of a woman’s life and paints the portrait of a man who loved his wife with everything he had. Martin writes about men who act like real men should. They take responsibility for their actions, admit their flaws, and love sacrificially, while hitting rock bottom at times and making colossal mistakes at others. He writes male characters rooted in difficulty, who find hope in unlikely places.

    I want to read stories about people mucking through the difficulties of life, who stick to their guns, stake their lives on what they think is important, and win or lose, come through the experience holding on to something true.

    We see throughout this story, the love of a man for a woman. But what’s beautiful about the whole thing, is how she loves him back. I promise this does not give away the story.

    While you might disagree on the surface, there is nothing boring about a married couple who loves each other, especially in Where the River Ends. Who says we need abject depravity for something to be interesting? Challenging? Beautiful? Seems like all the good movies/stories deal with relationships before the marriage and leading up to the wedding. But any good love story continues long after the wedding day. Why can’t we have more stories about “staying married?” Isn’t that what people dream of when they say “I Do” anyway?

    Read Charles Martin. Tell me what you think. You won’t be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    This is bad

    This is the most boring book ever dont waste your monney

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Another Martin story that touched my heart

    Ever since being captivated by Charles Martin's earlier work, When Crickets Cry, I have expectedly awaited his next story and this latest one, Where the River Ends, was no exception. As soon as it was announced I placed my advanced order and eagerly awaited the July release date many months hence. On the day it finally arrived I immediately opened the book to get a taste of this latest adventure. That was my mistake. As with so many of his other books, I was captivated immediately and lost the next day of my life engrossed in reading one page after another. Built around a seemingly impossible love story and filled with adventure and excitement, Charles Martin proves again that he is a master storyteller, able to both convey the deep heartfelt emotions of his characters that connect with his readers in a very special and unique way. Yes, I stopped for meals but still had the book in one hand as I ate. Before the day was out my daily to-do list had not been touched but my life had been enriched again by this gifted master writer. So, without giving away any of the story, let me just forewarn you my reader, to not open this book unless you can afford the time to be carried away on this exciting adventure until you come to the final heart wrenching pages. There you will wipe away a tear and sigh a sigh of relief in putting the book down, reflecting on the human adventure as seen through Charles Martin's window on his wonderful southern world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    He's done it again!!

    Unbelievable! Emotions are described so vividly that one gets swept into the story. Tears, laughter, anger, frustration...all are communicated brilliantly. Once again, Charles Martin, shows the true value of a person beyond their outward appearance, status, and wealth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    I could not put it down!

    I got in the boat during the Prologue, rode it with laughter, joy, and tears to the end of the Acknowledgements. Charles Martin's gift for writing never ceases to amaze me. For days after finishing his books the characters stay with me. This one is no exception. The last sentence of the acknowledgements fully expressed what I felt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    Poignant and beautiful love story

    Once again Charles Martin does not disappoint with 'Where the River Ends'. He is indeed an artist with words as he leads the reader on an unforgettable journey of laughter, determination, and unfailing love. His character development is amazing. I feel as if Doss and Abbie are dear friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Great Read

    I read this book in two sittings at the beach. With all the interesting things to do at the beach, I just couldn't stop reading Martin's latest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Charles Martin has written another wonderful book!

    This is a story of unconditional love between a husband(Doss) and his wife(Abby).They have faced everything together. Everything from parental interference and hatred,to cancer, chemotherapy, double mastectomy, and impending death. Abby has a list of top ten wishes for the year and during her last days, she and Doss set out to fulfill these wishes. And it all starts with a trip along the St. Mary's River. My favorite characters in Charles Martin's books are the quirky secondary characters. And this book is no exception. Bob Porter, an ex-priest and airplane pilot has a lot more to offer Doss and Abby than they would ever imagine. I have had three family members(dad, uncle, cousin)and a good friend succumb to cancer in a five month period and I thank Mr. Martin for his honest portrayal of cancer victims and of those who love them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    A haunting,thought provoking story of love

    When I start a Charles Martin novel, the kleenex stay near. This book was set-up to be sad from the first chapter but all through there was currents of hope, love, sweet memories. A view of these with anger at some uglier sides of humans. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    This book will not disappoint you!

    Here is yet another reason that Charles Martin is my favorite author. He writes so clearly that you can picture his characters and what they are doing and what they are feeling. His main character in this book is another of his very likeable guys that you would treasure as a friend. For me, Charles cannot write books fast enough!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Another winner by Charles Martin

    To date, I have read all of his books, and he just keeps getting better and better. Superbly written, full of compassion, insight, and honesty, Charles Martin is truly an outstanding writer. His descriptives make you feel that you are there. Living in North Florida, I especially enjoy his info. on the geography and history of the area.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great read

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Heart breaking and Heart warming

    This story is both heart breaking and heart warming at the same time. It delves into some very serious matters; child loss, infertility, adoption struggles and guilt. Read with your tissues close by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    A different happy ending

    Where the river ends had a different impact than most of his other novels. Dont get me wrong, I enjoy all of Martin's novels,but this one gave me a longer head-scratcher mentality post ending. I for one get spoiled with happy endings and consequently, miss out on deeper, more meaningful learning points, and possible life truths. But this book delivered a happy ending in a different form. It reminds me of the common phrase "love hurts". Love is suppose to hurt at times, especially when you lose someone you love. The kicker is why would anyone want to forsake that love? I know the temtation for anyone in Doss's position would be to try to get over their lost loved one, but when you think about it, thats a pretty selfish way of thinking. Its those memories that keep you alive and breathing. Its the glue that holds you together, and will eventually bring joy and laughter to your spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4