Customer Reviews for

Where the River Ends

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

tears coming down!!!

there is so much to say and much more to think about when u read this book. it took me 3 days to finish this book and good amount of tears , like they promise on the cover , it cannot be more real. its awesome breaking heart and every piece of ur body and soul , just by...
there is so much to say and much more to think about when u read this book. it took me 3 days to finish this book and good amount of tears , like they promise on the cover , it cannot be more real. its awesome breaking heart and every piece of ur body and soul , just by thinking about what they been through, and there is people that going through this in real life everyday, there is so much that i would like to add , but its hard , i would remember this book for a long time as a AWESOME READ!!! EVERYBODY MUST READ IT!!! hope u will like it.

posted by am2155 on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is bad

This is the most boring book ever dont waste your monney

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Charles Martin writes like a friend...

    all of Charles Martin's books are amazing! When you read them you feel like you are talking to an old friend.

    Where the River Ends is an amazing story of what love does when it is real! I rarely cry when reading novels, yet this one had my tissue box empty.

    Another fabulous book by an amazing Author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. It's so sweet and

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. It's so sweet and tender. A husband enjoying one last trip with the love of his life. Omg so amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Wonderful

    If you are looking for the real meaning of love, then look no further. You just found it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    A Perfect Example of True Love

    I had a hard time getting into this book but I kept reading and it finally captured me. It is truly an amazing story of 2 people from totally different backgrounds coming together. They were devoted to each other, they learned from each other, became each others best friend and ultimately sacrificed anything and everything for their love and devotion. A wonderful story that makes you wish that you knew someone like this couple or that maybe you yourself were in a relationship that even came a little close to this couple's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Worth reading

    Emotional but well written, would read again, my highest praise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    If you're into tear-jerkers, this book is for you!

    Id never heard of this author before but it sounded like a good book. Before I even started reading it, I knew it was going to be sad. I promised myself I wouldn't cry no matter how sad...I DID! Now, I want to read all his other work in hopes that they will be as good or even better than "Where the River Ends".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    I cried like a baby when I finished this book.

    I am really enjoying Charles Martin. After reading this book, I am now reading everything he has ever written. I like his style, how easily he flows from the present and back to the past painting a picture of such a wonderful love story. He leaves out just enough in the beginning to get you hooked...then slowly reveals all the answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sad but yet so uplifting!! A story of truly finding yourself.

    This story asks two big questions.That is what is your breaking point and do we have one and where does the river end. Well the thing is most people don't ever find that breaking point because they never give up they always look for the most of everything.We the readers can learn alot of that in this book. No matter what Doss is going throw he thinks about his wife and how much she's going throw so there for he cant give up and although he's doing most everything for her in all of this he finds himself throw what she has shown him.Second question is really up to you because as we all know rivers don't end but only get bigger as they go to the ocean but if you chose to give up then i guess that is truly the last ripple therefore the end. This is an awesome uplifting story of life for those who choose to read it.In my way of looking a truly fantastic story a most read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Breath of Fresh Air

    Charles Martin has done something in his books that not many authors these days can do. He grabs your heart and gets right down to the real issues. This is an incredible story of how a faithful husband serves his wife during her fight with cancer. It made me look in the mirror and ask myself the question, 'Do you love her like that?' It is an eye opening look into the disease that is cancer. Charles Martin does an incredible job of connecting you with his characters and paints a perfect picture of the scenery that surrounds them. It will have you laughing hysterically through the adventures of his characters and at the same time cause you to examine your heart. I cannot recommend this book enough. This book is a must read from a great new author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    The Magic Keeps Coming

    Where The River Ends was a wonderful read. Charles Martin is still on top of his game, each book keeps getting better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Must Read

    Love, devotion, adventure and humor can all be found in Where the River Ends. A beautiful story set in one of the most beautiful southern landscapes, Charleston, South Carolina. Charles Martin writes from the heart to the heart. He mesmorizes readers with his ability to express profound emotion and life experiences that resonates an understanding that adversities can be overcome and love actually does conquer all. Where the River Ends is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Captivating!

    I was taken in by this story. When the the 'C' word knocks on your door, it is an overwhelming shock which throws life into a tailspin. Most people consider the victim of the cancer. But cancer hits the whole family, especially the spouse. I learned the true meaning of 'for better or for worse' as well as, 'in sickness and in health.' Charles Martin truly describes this reality. In 'Where the River Ends' we follow Doss Michaels as he risks all for the love of his life, cheering him on all the way to the mouth of the St. Marys River. Unlike many authors who tell us a good story, Martin has the unusual knack of showing us. Just as his main character knows how to create something beautiful with canvas and paint, Charles Martin paints a beautiful picture of unconditional love with paper and pen. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Martin's best novel yet!

    Charles Martin is my favorite author, and Where the River Ends is his best novel to date! His story shows the true beauty of real, unconditional love. It surpasses Nicholas Sparks's The Notebook. Martin's cadence and voice are unmatched among contemporary authors. This is a must read! Random House has made an excellent choice in taking on Martin!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Where The River Ends

    This newest book by Charles Martin did not disappoint. It is heart-wrenching in its subject, a young woman facing terminal cancer, and heart-warming with how she and her husband face this. It is a story of giving joy and learning to take joy in each moment. Wonderful descriptions of the St. Mary's river. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Charles Martin Does it Again!!

    Charles Martin never lets the reader down, and this time is no different. The book is sad, happy, wonderful, and everyone can relate it to someone in their life. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Very Touching

    I was eagerly awaiting a new book from Charles Martin and I'm not dissapointed. I have loved every book that he has written. He writes characters that are flawed, but they are human and giving and touch you in such a way that it makes you want to be a better person. Every story that he has written has made me cry and touches my emotions deeply. I didn't enjoy this book as much as I have his others, but it was still a very good story. I think in this story the characters encountered obstacles a bit too soon, but I think it was only because there was so much of the story to tell. I think his portrayl of the cancer patients family and loved ones hardships and feelings was very accurately portrayed. I recommend all of his books to everyone and would not hesitate to recommend this one too. I would recommend any of his books as an instruction manual to any writer on character development. I am now eagerly awaiting the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    I felt like I was living the story!

    I was impressed that there are still writers who can write! I had difficulty putting the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Where the River Ends

    Charles Martin has written another wonderful book full of love and hope and a lot of sadness. Charles must have lost some one very dear to him to have been able to write with such knowledge and understanding of a most horrible desease, cancer. His description of the River and it's beauty puts you right in the middle of it. It is hard to read, especially if you have lost someone you love to cancer, but it is so full of love and hope that you can't put it down. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Martin did it again, published a great novel!

    I have read and loved every single one of Charles Martin's books. He just cannot put them out fast enough. His books are easy to read and understand, and most importantly, they all have a great storyline. I cannot put his books down once I start reading them. I just want to read and read and I hope they never end. By the time one gets into each book, they become attached to the characters. I know I feel like the characters are my own friends. I just want to stay in contact with them all! This is truely a great book. It teaches you how people really are. It makes you appreciate every breath you take. It makes you appreciate the small things in life. In every book Martin has published, I have learned something and most importantly, I have had a new outlook on life. He is by far my favorite author and I cannot wait to read the next novel he puts out. You cannot find an author like Martin anymore. I def. suggest reading this book as well as all of his others. Esp. When Crickets Cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Where the River Ends

    In this latest book from Charles Martin he weaves a tale between hearts and nature, both kind and cruel. I read this book from different perspectives - as a marriage counselor, I found it encouraging to read of a love so deeply committed and loyal in the face of adversity and temptation. As a nature lover, I relished in his descriptive narrative of this corner of the country. The one that struck me the most, however, was as an Auntie of a young woman who is in her own battle against terminal cancer. Reading of the vivid tug of war between cancer and chemo hit me hard as I've witnessed my precious loved one remain courageous and cheerful in the middle of this vicious battle. Although the ending may not be what we hope for, I have learned that it's really not the end after all. There is more to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4