Customer Reviews for

Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    A classic poetry book for kids

    A classic poetry book for kids. My six year old loves to read it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Poetry in comedy

    Growing up with these poems, it inspired me to write more. Now that my daughter is here, I want her to have the same wonderful imaginative ideas I did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    gift for beginning reader

    I bought this book for a relative in first grade who had just started to read. I figured that most of the poems would be above her reading level, but they would be fun to listen to and would inspire her to learn to read them herself. It was received with great enthusiasm.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Where the Sidewalk Ends-A fun walk through life:)

    My kids and I enjoyed reading this book together when they were very young. It was definitely one of their favorites. I purchased this copy as part of a shower present for my niece in hopes she will enjoy many hours of fond memories with her little one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great gift for 6 yr old niece

    My husband and I gave this to our niece for her 6th birthday and weren't sure how she would recieve it. A book, not the coolest gift after all! But she LOVED it and even stopped playing, asking me come sit and read it to her - she was giggling like crazy. What a fun book and one with messages that hold true for all ages!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    review of where the sidewalk ends

    A famous book written by a great American poet, Where the Sidewalk Ends, by Shel Silverstein. This is one of the greatest poetry books by this great author. Humorus, entertaining, and silly can be used as great adjectives to describe this book. 'Smart' is one of the most hilarious poems in this book. A boy recieves one dollar from his dad and then he trades the dollar for two quarters because the boy figures that 2 is more then 1. It keeps going on until the boy has 5 pennies. This poem is also my favorite poem in the book This would be a text to text because all of Shel's other books have different poems, but it still gives out the humorous expression like it does in all of Shel's funny poetry books. 'Paul Bunyan' is another great poem from this book. Paul was the toughest lumberjack around that had fists as hard as chopping blocks. When he got older he decided to lay down and die to see what trees there were in heaven, but there wasnt any so Paul comes back and decides to go down to the Devil to see if there is trees there. This book would also be a text to self because for me the poem 'The Long Haired Boy' would fit me because i have long hair just like the boy did in the poem, but i can't use my hair to fly away liek the boy in the poem did! 'Hector the Collector' is a poem in the book about a boy named hector who collects old trash like rusted knives and so on. Hector thoguht that his collection was so great that everybody should see it but when the people came, they all called it junk because there wasn't anything good. This book could be a text to world because some people do hilarious things that are described in the book like try to sell their siblings like in the poem, 'For Sale'. If you are bored one day and you want a funny book to read, i'd reccomend that you read Shel Silverstein's book, 'Where the Sidewalk Ends'!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    This book was great!

    This book was great! I think that Shel Silverstein used lots of detail. He has a great imagination and a great sense of humor. His poems are all funny! My favorite poem was My Beard because it was about a guy that has a long beard and never wears any clothes. I recommend for everyone to read this book because the poems were delightful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    highly recommended for children

    The poetry book Where the Sidewalk Ends was funny and unique. I really liked it because some poems rhymed and it made it sound fantastic. The poem My Beard is about a man with a very long beard. The man uses his beard for many things such as clothes. This is how the man lives his life with his beard. All the funny words made it my favorite poem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    This is one of my kids favorites!

    We always read at bedtime at my house and this is one that my kids reach for over and over. My kids really enjoy all of Shel Silverstein's books, It seems like they really like the format of the shorts poems. The also like the Random House Kids Book of Poetry and Just For You, A Collection of Story Poems to Finish However You Want. Maybe the short format makes them feel like they are getting more story time. It seems like it keeps them more engaged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great book of poems-

    This book is so great. I remember it from my childhood and have read it to my children. What a talent Shel Silversteen was and how I enjoy his fun poems. Poems about Swinging from your knees on a flying trapeeze and HugO war, one of my favorites is Lazy Jane and The Boa Constrictor! The tree house is a good one too and I actually put together a book of these poems when my sister got married because it reminded me of growing up. If you have children (or if not) you will be entertained by these poems! Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Where the sidewalk ends.

    My kids absolutely love being read to and this book is no exception. My husband regularly reads this book to our children and I love how silly the stories are. Its a great introduction of poem writing and the pictures keep them entertained. My son has recently picked up the habit of picking his nose and there's a story about that in there as well! Let's just say he doesn't do that anymore, because he's afraid a snail will bite his nail off! Lol. We enjoy this book very much and hope to read more books that are just as entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A Classic, An Absolute Must-Have

    My husband and have been very glad to share this favorite book of our childhoods with our children now. To be honest I'm not sure what's special about this edition as opposed to the one we grew up with. All we know is it has the same great writing and illustrations we always loved. So far it is a little too advanced for our 2-year-old, but our 4-year-old is really into it! If you're not familiar, what's really compelling about these poems for the kids are, I believe, their irreverence and their sense of exaggeration. If you're uncomfortable with your kid reading anything even mildly subversive this book might put you off. But it captures the imagination of even a 4-year-old and appeals to the child's sense of humour. What better way to teach that "reading is cool," and it doesn't have to be about motorized vehicles or heroes/superheroes (or, for girls, I guess princesses, etc. -- I have boys). Objects and characters whose actions originate in everyday life can also inspire creativity, humour, and wonder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great for reading together with your kids!

    My 4 year old son and I love to read this book together before bed at night. We have had a lot of laughs at the silly stories and he really looks forward to our time together before bedtime. A great book for kids of all ages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    \o/

    My son loves all these poems. He gets such a kick out of the silliness, but also loves the stories they tell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    childhood is the poem of life &poem is the childhood of the world.

    childhood is beautiful ,but it's too short.we always reflect our beautiful & pure feelings in poems & more of these feelings is connected to our childhood that is the best period of the life.shel silverstein is who writes about children & the child who exists in everyone.so persons with diferent ages can connect to his poems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    Wicked Sweet!!

    This is the type of book you don't forget! This book is pretty good. They're many funny poems in this book. Some may not make sense, but that's the funny part. I would definately reccommend this book, and other books by Shel Silverstein.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Delightful book I received as a gift.

    Delightful book I received as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    The book, Where the Sidewalk Ends, has many poems written by She

    The book, Where the Sidewalk Ends, has many poems written by Shel Silverstein. All the poems are well
    written and are very cute! The poem ,“The Snowman”, reminds me of Olaf from the movie Frozen because
    Olaf is a snowman who wants to see summer like the snowman in the poem wanting to July. Also, the poem
     “Love” is adorable, it’s about kids who were supposed to spell the word “love” and only the child who had
     the letter “V” showed up. My absolute favorite poem is “Invitation”, its a poem the describes me, I’m a dreamer,
    a wisher, and a magic-bean buyer, it’s the perfect poem for me! I love this book and anyone else who reads it,
     will love it to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Where The Sidewalk Ends is a poetry collection by Shel Silverste

    Where The Sidewalk Ends is a poetry collection by Shel Silverstein. I really like the book because of the drawings and the poems.
    The poems in the books are remarkably entertaining. I also really enjoy the picture that go along with the poems.
    The pictures that are drawn to go with the poems really represent what it is about. It seems that the pictures are actually drawn with
    pencil and copied into the book. The pictures and poems are both really funny and some are very interesting too. 
    Shel Silverstein is my all time favorite poetry writer. Even though I read pretty many poetry book, his books are my favorite and
    his is my favorite poetry author. I have about five of his book. My favorite thing about his books is the pictures.
    They are always really funny and connect very well with the poem. I love his poems so much, they are hilarious. His poetry books are
    my favorite. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Shel Silverstein is the best poetry writer!  He is such a imagin

    Shel Silverstein is the best poetry writer!  He is such a imaginative writer and very creative too!His poems are such great
    pieces of work.  My favorite poem he wrote is "Invitation", it is my favorite poem because it just stands out to me more than
     all the other poems.  His poems can be read for anyone, it doesn't matter if you don't like poetry.  I love Shel Silverstein's 
    poems so much and I highly recommend them to everyone person!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12