Customer Reviews for

Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great book of poems-

    This book is so great. I remember it from my childhood and have read it to my children. What a talent Shel Silversteen was and how I enjoy his fun poems. Poems about Swinging from your knees on a flying trapeeze and HugO war, one of my favorites is Lazy Jane and The Boa Constrictor! The tree house is a good one too and I actually put together a book of these poems when my sister got married because it reminded me of growing up. If you have children (or if not) you will be entertained by these poems! Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Where the sidewalk ends.

    My kids absolutely love being read to and this book is no exception. My husband regularly reads this book to our children and I love how silly the stories are. Its a great introduction of poem writing and the pictures keep them entertained. My son has recently picked up the habit of picking his nose and there's a story about that in there as well! Let's just say he doesn't do that anymore, because he's afraid a snail will bite his nail off! Lol. We enjoy this book very much and hope to read more books that are just as entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great for reading together with your kids!

    My 4 year old son and I love to read this book together before bed at night. We have had a lot of laughs at the silly stories and he really looks forward to our time together before bedtime. A great book for kids of all ages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    childhood is the poem of life &poem is the childhood of the world.

    childhood is beautiful ,but it's too short.we always reflect our beautiful & pure feelings in poems & more of these feelings is connected to our childhood that is the best period of the life.shel silverstein is who writes about children & the child who exists in everyone.so persons with diferent ages can connect to his poems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    Wicked Sweet!!

    This is the type of book you don't forget! This book is pretty good. They're many funny poems in this book. Some may not make sense, but that's the funny part. I would definately reccommend this book, and other books by Shel Silverstein.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Where The Sidewalk Ends is a poetry collection by Shel Silverste

    Where The Sidewalk Ends is a poetry collection by Shel Silverstein. I really like the book because of the drawings and the poems.
    The poems in the books are remarkably entertaining. I also really enjoy the picture that go along with the poems.
    The pictures that are drawn to go with the poems really represent what it is about. It seems that the pictures are actually drawn with
    pencil and copied into the book. The pictures and poems are both really funny and some are very interesting too. 
    Shel Silverstein is my all time favorite poetry writer. Even though I read pretty many poetry book, his books are my favorite and
    his is my favorite poetry author. I have about five of his book. My favorite thing about his books is the pictures.
    They are always really funny and connect very well with the poem. I love his poems so much, they are hilarious. His poetry books are
    my favorite. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Reminds me of me

    True Story was my favorite peom in this book because it is very funny. The boy in the poem has a great imagination. It sounds like something I would make up so I wouldn't get in trouble for being gone all day long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    crazily amazing

    This book was wonderful. I suggest this book for 4th grade and above. The poems in this book make you think a lot. The poems are deep in thought. If you read this book you will have to think a little, but not a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Outstanding

    This book I read, Where the Sidewalk ends is a really good book by Shel Silverstein. I don¿t read a lot of poems but, I think it is one of the best poetry book I ever read because some poems it teaches life lessons, some are really funny, some are just very creative. My favorite poem is Where the sidewalk Ends. This is my favorite poem because his style and his figurative is terrific. The way he describes things makes me feel like I am in the book at that scene. I can draw an image in my mind when he wrote, And there the grass grows soft and white, and there the sun burns crimson bight. Another line is, and there the moon-bird rests from his flight, to cool in the peppermint wind. This makes me feel like it is there right in font of me how describes the sun burning and the bird resting in the wind from it¿s flight. In the second stanza it read Let us leave this place where the smoke blows black And the dark street winds and bends. Past the pits where the asphalt flowers grow We shall walk with a walk that is measured and slow, And watch where the chalk-white arrows go To a place where the sidewalk ends. I can see what he is writing and how he uses rhyming in the lines. That is the reason this is my favorite poem in the book. I could make a text to self connection in the poem SMART on page35. In this poem it talks about how this kid¿s dad gives him a dollar. He goes out to all these other people and exchange it for something worth less but is more. He swapped the dollar for two quarters because he said two is more than one. He went to his friend Lou and traded two quarters for three dimes because three is more than two. He does this until he ends up with 5 pennies because five is greater than all the other number of coins he had. I was laughing so hard, but I can make a connection. I remember when I was little I use to think that the more coins was worth more but it can be less. This also teaches a life lesson because it does not mean the more stuff you have the more it is worth, like 5 pennies to 1 dollar because 5 is more than one for example. That is how I can make a text to self connection with one of the poems in this book. In the poem Sarah Cynthia Stout Would Not Take The Garbage Out on page 71 there was a moral. It is about this girl who never takes the garbage out. It got full of all these things but she would not take the garbage out. It filled the can and it covered the floor. Then it raised the roof, it broke the wall. At last it got so high it reached the sky. All her neighbors moved away and none of her friends would come to play. It reached across the state then she decided to take the garbage out but it was too late. I think the moral is when you need to do something, like take the garbage out you need to do it right away before it is too late. Shel Silverstein was trying to tell kids to take the garbage out because at the end it said, but children remember Sarah Stout and always take the garbage out. That is the moral of Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout Would Not Take the Garbage Out. In conclusion that is my review on the book Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silversten. I think this is a very good book, it has life lessons, morals and some poems are very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Funny Poems

    The book Where The Side Walk Ends is one of Shell Silverstien¿s best and funniest books. One of my favorite poems is ¿Jimmy jet and his TV set.¿ In this poem Jimmy watches TV all day, eventually he turns into a TV and his family watch him. Another funny poem is ¿Sister For Sale.¿ This is funny because this kid is trying to auction off his sister. This book is very fun. One thing that makes this fun is all the funny poems. Some of these funny poems include ¿Warning¿, ¿Sister For Sale¿, and ¿Peanut Butter Sandwich¿. In the poem ¿Warning¿ the man sticks his finger in his nose ad says something is eating it. I think this book is for people who like poems. This is not a good book for young people because it gives people bad ideas. One example of a bad idea is the kid tries to sell his sister in the poem ¿Sister For Sale¿. Another example of bad ideas in the poem ¿Jimmy Jet And His TV Set¿ Jimmy watches TV so much he turns into one. That is what makes this book so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2