Customer Reviews for

Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    A classic poetry book for kids

    A classic poetry book for kids. My six year old loves to read it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Poetry in comedy

    Growing up with these poems, it inspired me to write more. Now that my daughter is here, I want her to have the same wonderful imaginative ideas I did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    gift for beginning reader

    I bought this book for a relative in first grade who had just started to read. I figured that most of the poems would be above her reading level, but they would be fun to listen to and would inspire her to learn to read them herself. It was received with great enthusiasm.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Where the Sidewalk Ends-A fun walk through life:)

    My kids and I enjoyed reading this book together when they were very young. It was definitely one of their favorites. I purchased this copy as part of a shower present for my niece in hopes she will enjoy many hours of fond memories with her little one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great gift for 6 yr old niece

    My husband and I gave this to our niece for her 6th birthday and weren't sure how she would recieve it. A book, not the coolest gift after all! But she LOVED it and even stopped playing, asking me come sit and read it to her - she was giggling like crazy. What a fun book and one with messages that hold true for all ages!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    review of where the sidewalk ends

    A famous book written by a great American poet, Where the Sidewalk Ends, by Shel Silverstein. This is one of the greatest poetry books by this great author. Humorus, entertaining, and silly can be used as great adjectives to describe this book. 'Smart' is one of the most hilarious poems in this book. A boy recieves one dollar from his dad and then he trades the dollar for two quarters because the boy figures that 2 is more then 1. It keeps going on until the boy has 5 pennies. This poem is also my favorite poem in the book This would be a text to text because all of Shel's other books have different poems, but it still gives out the humorous expression like it does in all of Shel's funny poetry books. 'Paul Bunyan' is another great poem from this book. Paul was the toughest lumberjack around that had fists as hard as chopping blocks. When he got older he decided to lay down and die to see what trees there were in heaven, but there wasnt any so Paul comes back and decides to go down to the Devil to see if there is trees there. This book would also be a text to self because for me the poem 'The Long Haired Boy' would fit me because i have long hair just like the boy did in the poem, but i can't use my hair to fly away liek the boy in the poem did! 'Hector the Collector' is a poem in the book about a boy named hector who collects old trash like rusted knives and so on. Hector thoguht that his collection was so great that everybody should see it but when the people came, they all called it junk because there wasn't anything good. This book could be a text to world because some people do hilarious things that are described in the book like try to sell their siblings like in the poem, 'For Sale'. If you are bored one day and you want a funny book to read, i'd reccomend that you read Shel Silverstein's book, 'Where the Sidewalk Ends'!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    This book was great!

    This book was great! I think that Shel Silverstein used lots of detail. He has a great imagination and a great sense of humor. His poems are all funny! My favorite poem was My Beard because it was about a guy that has a long beard and never wears any clothes. I recommend for everyone to read this book because the poems were delightful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    highly recommended for children

    The poetry book Where the Sidewalk Ends was funny and unique. I really liked it because some poems rhymed and it made it sound fantastic. The poem My Beard is about a man with a very long beard. The man uses his beard for many things such as clothes. This is how the man lives his life with his beard. All the funny words made it my favorite poem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    This is one of my kids favorites!

    We always read at bedtime at my house and this is one that my kids reach for over and over. My kids really enjoy all of Shel Silverstein's books, It seems like they really like the format of the shorts poems. The also like the Random House Kids Book of Poetry and Just For You, A Collection of Story Poems to Finish However You Want. Maybe the short format makes them feel like they are getting more story time. It seems like it keeps them more engaged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A Classic, An Absolute Must-Have

    My husband and have been very glad to share this favorite book of our childhoods with our children now. To be honest I'm not sure what's special about this edition as opposed to the one we grew up with. All we know is it has the same great writing and illustrations we always loved. So far it is a little too advanced for our 2-year-old, but our 4-year-old is really into it! If you're not familiar, what's really compelling about these poems for the kids are, I believe, their irreverence and their sense of exaggeration. If you're uncomfortable with your kid reading anything even mildly subversive this book might put you off. But it captures the imagination of even a 4-year-old and appeals to the child's sense of humour. What better way to teach that "reading is cool," and it doesn't have to be about motorized vehicles or heroes/superheroes (or, for girls, I guess princesses, etc. -- I have boys). Objects and characters whose actions originate in everyday life can also inspire creativity, humour, and wonder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    \o/

    My son loves all these poems. He gets such a kick out of the silliness, but also loves the stories they tell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Delightful book I received as a gift.

    Delightful book I received as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    The book, Where the Sidewalk Ends, has many poems written by She

    The book, Where the Sidewalk Ends, has many poems written by Shel Silverstein. All the poems are well
    written and are very cute! The poem ,“The Snowman”, reminds me of Olaf from the movie Frozen because
    Olaf is a snowman who wants to see summer like the snowman in the poem wanting to July. Also, the poem
     “Love” is adorable, it’s about kids who were supposed to spell the word “love” and only the child who had
     the letter “V” showed up. My absolute favorite poem is “Invitation”, its a poem the describes me, I’m a dreamer,
    a wisher, and a magic-bean buyer, it’s the perfect poem for me! I love this book and anyone else who reads it,
     will love it to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Shel Silverstein is the best poetry writer!  He is such a imagin

    Shel Silverstein is the best poetry writer!  He is such a imaginative writer and very creative too!His poems are such great
    pieces of work.  My favorite poem he wrote is "Invitation", it is my favorite poem because it just stands out to me more than
     all the other poems.  His poems can be read for anyone, it doesn't matter if you don't like poetry.  I love Shel Silverstein's 
    poems so much and I highly recommend them to everyone person!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Fantastic Book

    My boys absolutely loved this book when they were younger. I have
    now bought this for 2 of my other Grandsons. It so silly, I loved
    to hear my boys laughing as they were reading. I can't say enough
    about how great this book is or any of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    A classic every parent should have !

    A classic every parent should have !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Highly Recommend!

    I bought this for my 10 year old son, it's a very fun read for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Super read- a must if you feel a little down

    the poems in this book are great. I always read it when I feel a little sad or stressed. I always feel better after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Where the Sidewalk Ends is a poetry book by the author of Shel

    Where the Sidewalk Ends is a poetry book by the author of Shel Silverstein. Where the Sidewalk Ends is made up of miscellaneous poems from “Merry ...” (about decorating for Christmas in March) to “Where the Sidewalk Ends” ( about moving away from the busyness of the city and relax). The mood of the book is cheerful since the book has many poems about happiness and similar themes. The pictures relate to the poems and help to understand the poems better. The book is also random like a poem about a man running around with a huge bead as underwear. 
    One of my favorite poems is “Sick”. “Sick” is about someone that has all kinds of diseases and injuries and is magically cured when told it is Saturday. “Sick” says diseases from chickenpox to “having a hole in your ear” This poem’s seems to appeal to the side of you that is, “I’ll do it tomorrow”. “Sick” is a hilarious poem and my favorite. 
    Another poem was called “The Generals”. “ The Generals” is about General Clay and General Gore wondering why they are in the war and decide to go to the beach.  While on the way to the beach, they think the worst that the beach will be closed and they might drown from the spray of the ocean. So they decided to go on with the war and they both kill each other. The main reason I like it is because they decide to have a fun time, then they decide to kill each other because they are worried the sand has been blown away.
    One more great poem is called, “If the World was Crazy”. “If the World was Crazy” is someone saying what they would do if the world was crazy. From eating a slice of soup, to saying good bye instead of hello. So this poem was extremely random like flying through the ground. This poem really was funny to find out what the next wacky thing on the page would be.
    The last poem I enjoyed was, “The Garden”. “The Garden” is about old man Simon planting a diamond and it sprouting into many different plants that grow different gems, minerals and ores. At the end of the poem old man Simon dreams of a real peach. “The Garden” reminds me of “Jack and the Beanstalk”, a person plants something and they get rich from it. This reminds me that you have to work to get riches, Simon had to wait for the riches to “grow”, so he had to work at it by taking care of the plants.
    Over all Where the Sidewalk Ends is a very funny and good book. The illustrations are funny and explain what the poems are about. The overall character of the book is childish and funny.  Shel Silverstein overall did an amazing job on the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Ever pleasing

    I first gave one of Shel Silverstein's books of goofy kid poems to my young nieces many years ago. What I liked about the poems was they often featured a bit of sedition, about kids that wanted to eat the wrong food or run away from home or pick their nose, etc. Other poems were about goofy people. Others were just silly or absurdist. Kids love this stuff! Now I am working on the next generation and I give these books to the children of nieces, etc. The books continue to be big hits. Read the poems to/with kids, and just listen to the squeals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9