Customer Reviews for

Where the Truth Lies

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Where the Truth Lies

Where do I start? So much about this book made me angry and literally sigh in frustration. I can't even remember what about this book's description drew me into it enough to put it on my 'To Read' list in the first place. For starters, in the first part of the book (the...
Where do I start? So much about this book made me angry and literally sigh in frustration. I can't even remember what about this book's description drew me into it enough to put it on my 'To Read' list in the first place. For starters, in the first part of the book (there are three) Emily meets Del--knows nothing about him!--and their first kiss is literally on page 60. Stupid, right? If you're like me, you believe in character development before anything changes. And really, readers learn little, if anything, about Del. Second thing: Emily gets herself pregnant by page 112. That's just stupid, in my opinion. Thus begins Part Two, which is just completely stupid and will probably make you want to slam your head into the wall, like it did me. Emily is so naive that she doesn't see signs of Del's drug use, they have protection-less sex, and she's just one of the most clueless characters I've ever been introduced to in a book. She was like...stupid beyond stupid. The entire 'summer' in the book spans one chapter. And in this summer, Emily "hides" her kid, gives birth to it, and puts it up for adoption. Yea, like someone's parents are going to let their daughter run off to New York with a girl who is, in my opinion, shady, and not even notice she's pregnant? How freaking unrealistic is that? Another thing, what was with the cuddling? Emily and her roommates are always cuddling, which is really weird. Okay, it's normal to cuddle with someone you're dating, but a roommate or best friend? Really sick, if you ask me. I also had a hard time figuring out why in the world Stephanie (Emily's BFF) was so...obsessed with her twin brother. It actually sickened me how weird this character was. The whole book made me want to...I don't know, rip it in half? And the only reason I really finished it, was so I could write a review that told what happened. So, obviously, I'm not suggesting this book to anyone. I have never read any of the author's other books, and really, I don't think I ever will. (Sorry for the hateful review...but if anything, I always speak my mind.)

posted by CiciBear26 on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I've ever read

Don't waste your money. Listen to the reviews that tell you this is the worst book you could ever spend your money or time on.

posted by 17512017 on June 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Where the Truth Lies

    Where do I start? So much about this book made me angry and literally sigh in frustration. I can't even remember what about this book's description drew me into it enough to put it on my 'To Read' list in the first place. For starters, in the first part of the book (there are three) Emily meets Del--knows nothing about him!--and their first kiss is literally on page 60. Stupid, right? If you're like me, you believe in character development before anything changes. And really, readers learn little, if anything, about Del. Second thing: Emily gets herself pregnant by page 112. That's just stupid, in my opinion. Thus begins Part Two, which is just completely stupid and will probably make you want to slam your head into the wall, like it did me. Emily is so naive that she doesn't see signs of Del's drug use, they have protection-less sex, and she's just one of the most clueless characters I've ever been introduced to in a book. She was like...stupid beyond stupid. The entire 'summer' in the book spans one chapter. And in this summer, Emily "hides" her kid, gives birth to it, and puts it up for adoption. Yea, like someone's parents are going to let their daughter run off to New York with a girl who is, in my opinion, shady, and not even notice she's pregnant? How freaking unrealistic is that? Another thing, what was with the cuddling? Emily and her roommates are always cuddling, which is really weird. Okay, it's normal to cuddle with someone you're dating, but a roommate or best friend? Really sick, if you ask me. I also had a hard time figuring out why in the world Stephanie (Emily's BFF) was so...obsessed with her twin brother. It actually sickened me how weird this character was. The whole book made me want to...I don't know, rip it in half? And the only reason I really finished it, was so I could write a review that told what happened. So, obviously, I'm not suggesting this book to anyone. I have never read any of the author's other books, and really, I don't think I ever will. (Sorry for the hateful review...but if anything, I always speak my mind.)

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Okay??

    Because of the reviews on this book, i no longer have a need to read this book that looks absolutely amazimg. Soo... THANKS!!! (Sarcasm)

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Reviews that tell too much...

    Okay, so I want too read this but people keep putting reviews that tell too much. It sucks when I don't even have to read the book, I can just read the reviews. I'd appreciate it if people can not tell so much. Thanks.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo

    WHERE THE TRUTH LIES - now that is the ultimate question that Emily Meckler will have to face by the end of the novel. From everyone else's perspective, Emily has the perfect life. She attends Stonybrook Academy, a prep school where her father is the headmaster. Unlike the other kids at the school, Emily has her parents right there when she needs them. Mandatory Sunday night dinners with her parents, but otherwise, the rest of the time she can be in her dorm with her friends. Emily shares the quad with her three best friends. They share two connected bedrooms. Life goes on as always until she meets the new boy, Del Sugar. It's unheard of for a new student to start mid term, but Del does. She learns from her father that he allowed Del in as a favor to an old friend. Almost immediately, Del starts to seek Emily out. The two become inseparable - and that's when life really becomes interesting for Emily. Emily's dad forbids her to see him anymore, alerting her that Del has issues of his own. But that is a sure-fire way to ensure that Emily sneaks around anyway. Soon, Emily finds herself unexpectedly pregnant, and Del gone. From this point in the novel, secrets and mysteries start to be revealed to the reader. The novel is divided into three distinct parts. It's not until the third part that the intensity really kicks in. Sadly, Emily's reactions and subsequent decisions surrounding her pregnancy almost play out as a side note to the story. I don't want to spoil anything, so I apologize for being vague. It isn't until Emily returns after a summer break that she starts to seriously delve into the truths that she's trying to uncover. Everything Emily has built her life around may be a lie. Only she can determine if it's something she can overcome, or has Del planted seeds of doubt that will destroy everything she knows and loves? This is the second novel I've read by Ms. Warman now, and it surely won't be the last. Her writing style is fluid and captivating from the very first page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT, GREAT, GREAT BOOK!

    IM STILL READING IT BUT IM IN CHAPTER 10 SO IT REALLY DOESNT MATTER. THIS BOOK IS LIKE AMAZING! FROM HER ROMANCE WITH DEL TO HER NEW FRIENDSHIP WITH RENEE, TO HER FRIENDSHIPS WITH, STEPHANIE, FRANNY AND GRACE. YOU'LL LOVE THIS BOOK! I JUST STARTED READING THIS BOOK! I LOVED IT SO MUCH I READ 10 CHAPTERS IN ONE DAY! IM GOING TO READ MORE TOO! THERE IS SO MUCH YOU CANNOT MISS OUT ON IN THIS BOOK! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

    FOR AGES 12+

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sequenced plot with nail-biting anticipation!

    My Rating: 4.5

    Where The Truth Lies was a novel about friendship, family and detrimental secrets. These underlying lies had the capacity to spin an individual's life into a web of uncertainty and distrust. In presenting this concept, Jessica introduced a sequenced plot with nail-biting anticipation. Another well-executed aspect was the evolvement of main and secondary characters. The combination of personality qualities and flaws eased my character connection. Emily, daughter of her school's headmaster, was good-hearted by nature. Labeled as a "goody, goody" by her peers, Emily was an ordinary student who sought out love and attention from her friends and family. The friends within her circle were versatile and realistic. Each girl had her own problem that derived a minor story within this twisted world of unexpected events.

    I really loved Renee, it was a friendship that blossomed out of nowhere. Her non-judgmental aura was admirable and a crutch for Emily. However, not every person in this novel had a good effect on Emily. When Del Sugar transferred into her existence, a level of love and spontaneity blinded her choices. His shady exterior identified him as bad news. But, in the end everyone in this novel carried a deep flaw that induced individual growth and actions for better survival. Overall, I read this book in two sittings. The inclination of truth behind each background grabbed my heart strings and wouldn't let go. Jessica's style was also detailed yet simplistic at the same time. A type of effort that's natural in engrossing the reader from beginning to end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Awsome book

    Its a romance story with down to earth facts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Amazing

    I fell in love with this book the minute i started reading it. I recomend reading lauren warman's other books too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Amazinggggg!!!

    this was one of the best books ive ever read!!!!. ...u should definetly read Breathless by the same author 1st

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1