Customer Reviews for

Where the Wild Things Are

Average Rating 4.5
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Brings back memories

My brothers and I all loved this book as kids. It is one of the classic books you remember reading when you were little. A story that touches you more with age.

posted by MURFDIZZLE on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I was done reading this book to my son in two minutes....not long enough!

I was very disappointed with this book. My son loves to have me read to him, and I enjoy it as well. This book, out of 48 pages, is a whopping paragraph long, and although the illustrations are amazing I couldn't believe that each page had half a sentance. For me, as an...
I was very disappointed with this book. My son loves to have me read to him, and I enjoy it as well. This book, out of 48 pages, is a whopping paragraph long, and although the illustrations are amazing I couldn't believe that each page had half a sentance. For me, as an adult, starting every phrase with the word "And" got old quick! I think it's great that the book shows kids how they can use their imagination to escape to a world they've never known. The boy was sent to his room without his supper, yet when he got back his dinner was waiting for him...to me that doesn't teach any lesson at all! My son does like the book, but I wish it had more dialog for me to read. I feel like this book was a waiste of money and if I had read it before I purchased it online I wouldn't have bought it.

posted by readr4myboys on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Brings back memories

    My brothers and I all loved this book as kids. It is one of the classic books you remember reading when you were little. A story that touches you more with age.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I was done reading this book to my son in two minutes....not long enough!

    I was very disappointed with this book. My son loves to have me read to him, and I enjoy it as well. This book, out of 48 pages, is a whopping paragraph long, and although the illustrations are amazing I couldn't believe that each page had half a sentance. For me, as an adult, starting every phrase with the word "And" got old quick! I think it's great that the book shows kids how they can use their imagination to escape to a world they've never known. The boy was sent to his room without his supper, yet when he got back his dinner was waiting for him...to me that doesn't teach any lesson at all! My son does like the book, but I wish it had more dialog for me to read. I feel like this book was a waiste of money and if I had read it before I purchased it online I wouldn't have bought it.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Timeless and entertaining

    What a wonderful reread. The illustrations are vivid and imaginative. Agreat bedtime story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this story!

    Growing up this book was one of my favorites! Now that I have 2 daughters of my own, I had to buy it! So many thoughts come rushing through my mind when I read this to them. I feel like a child again and the lesson of behaving stays in my mind. Now that they have made a movie, I had to show my girls where it all started. I love the illustrations and the story line! I love this book and I recommend it to everyone with their inner child still left in them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Where the wild things are

    I was so excited to hear there was a Wild things movie- I read the book to my grandkids and they love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sharing a beloved story with my son

    I find it extremely fun to read a book I loved as a child to my son. He loves the play with the pages, look at the pictures, and follow along with the book. It's a classic. It will never go out of style. It's something every child should have on their book shelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Where the Wild Things Are

    Wonderful book for sharing with all kids.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    Where the Wild Things Are

    "Where the Wild Things Are"
    A book review by: Tilburg Winnington lll


    "Where the Wild Things Are" was a book intended for young readers, but instead turned into a must have for all ages. This amazing, exciting, and at sometimes quite frightening book brought out the joyful child within us all. "Where the Wild Things Are" isn't just another book it's a book that had meaning and a great theme to learn from.

    This outstanding book is about a young boy that imagines he has sailed out into the sea and finds some different friends in a other worldly island. Here he is made king of the wild things and can cause as much mischief as he wishes. Soon he grows tired of being free willed and wishes he was he was back home with his mom.
    I personally give "Where the Wild Things Are" four out of five stars and highly recommend it for any and all ages. I am positive you will want to read this book again and again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books of all time!

    I used to read this book to my son - so frequently, I think I can still quote it all by heart. The drawings are wonderful. This book is fun to read, and I've never known a kid that didn't like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    :)

    I remember walking to the library everyday after school. It was a late, bitter cold and rainy afternoon. I normally sat in the Children's Section of the library, because i enjoyed reading the books. Even though I was in like the 3rd or 4th grade, it still didn't matter to me if those books were not in my level. So anyway, I normally pulled out stacks of books, carried them to my own spot and started reading to pass the time. That's when I discovered this book. I was totally engaged with the book. The illustrations were amazing and eye catching. Everything was so cute and it was like you were reading a child's diary! After I was done reading it, I decided I wanted this book. I pondered over the idea and decided to read it over and over again. I never thought I could love a picture book so much! I can't wait to pass this book down to my own children some day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Absolute Classic

    I'm a 20-year-old college student and somehow I never read this book growing up. A friend of mine bought it for me to help "make up for my lost childhood" and I absolutely loved it from the first page. The illustrations are beautiful and the story is really great. I can't wait to read this to my kids when I'm older. It's an absolutely wonderful addition to my collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my all time favorites!

    The story, illustrations & themes are WONDERFUL! A must for any juvenile (or adult) library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    A Little Too Scary for Bed Time Reading

    My son three years old and is petrified of these monsters. So, I wouldn't recommend this as bed time reading. That said, I would perhaps recommend this book for children a little older than three.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WILD about this book!

    I have loved this book since I was a little girl. Now, I get to share it with my kids. They all love the wonderful "wild rumpus!" I also recommend Runny Babbit and Pumpkin Guts. All of these books are great for sharing and they have wonderful pictures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    One of the best!

    Absolutely wonderful book to read to children. My sons still talk about how much they loved this book when they were growing up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    I Love This Book!!!

    I really like this book! I think it is a good story and one that all kids can relate to wanting to do. I have always enjoyed this book and can't wait for the movie to come out in October!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Bedtime Story

    No wonder this book is still so popular. Sometimes I add the little stuffed character animals near it as I think that toys related to favorite stories can help charge a childs imagination to invent their own. The illustrations really bring out the story here, as a compliment to the amusing tale taking the readers from the ordinary home and oridinary family trouble to the wild and back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Be Careful What You Wish For

    Max, trying to escape his current fate, travels to a land where he finds he really didn't have it so bad. A great book with a great lesson. An excellent example of learning while you don't even know it. Get it, you'll like it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Where the Wild Things Are is a book that easily grows on you. I

    Where the Wild Things Are is a book that easily grows on you. I have often had a problem of getting bored of a book after reading it over and over again to my siblings and campers. However, with this book, I found I never tired of reading it and enjoyed it just as much as the children. Maurice Sendak has a great ability to entertain children through the adventurous story and fun drawings but also relate to adults through the underlying themes. These themes include self- control and using one’s imagination which can help both ages learn valuable lessons. I was able to use it as a lesson for large groups of campers in which we read the book and then went out and collected things from nature to make their own “wild things.” It was a great lesson to see them use their imagination and really enjoy it. It was a great experience for all of us and all thanks to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2014

    Wow, I remember this book when I was a kid, It was a little scar

    Wow, I remember this book when I was a kid, It was a little scary but It is my #1 classic book as a kid. I think every kid should grow up knowing this book. I am 49 years old now and I have never forgotten this book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14