Customer Reviews for

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Average Rating 4
( 398 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

LOVED

What fun this book was! Quick recap of key characters:

Bernadette – Award winning architect turned recluse who hides out the days in an airstream camper she had installed by her house so she can avoid the house help. She also has a virtual assistant in India who she ...
What fun this book was! Quick recap of key characters:

Bernadette – Award winning architect turned recluse who hides out the days in an airstream camper she had installed by her house so she can avoid the house help. She also has a virtual assistant in India who she hires to basically handle all the day to day duties she has including ordering food, shopping, and planning all the details of their upcoming vacation (at only 75 cents an hour which I confess gave me a momentary idea before I was horrified that I even considered it!).

Elgin “Elgie” – Her Microsoft genius husband who really has no clue of the life that exists around him, including his own family. Such an enigma that he thinks it’s totally appropriate to work at the office without his shoes walking around in only his socks…which is probably gross considering how much it rains in Seattle. How cool would it be to be considered such a god that you could walk around funking up the air around the office and no one would dare tell you to put your shoes back on?

Balakrishna “Bee” – their daughter who is an extremely intelligent child who is probably the most normal character in the book!

The Gnats – What Bernadette calls the other private school moms who are a bunch of self-absorbed and narcissistic women. Their antics constantly had me laughing, while another part of me wanted to poke them in their eyeballs. I actually respected Bernadette a lot for her reserved way of dealing with them instead of giving a karate chop to the neck.

Truly a group of 1 percenters as another reviewer described. Money seems to come out of the water faucets for these people. I suspect they might even use dollars as toilet paper. Their reality is unimaginable for the other 99 percent of the population. Yet somehow…I liked Bernadette. Yes she seems like a nut job and the family has no idea how the rest of the world lives, but she is a woman who loves her child.

I found it laugh out loud funny throughout. The majority was written in various forms of correspondence format. I was really pulling for Bernadette despite all her flaws (because are we not all flawed? Just in different ways?). I was really pulling for Bernadette and hoping she would be found. As for if she was, you will have to read for yourself to find out.

People will probably either love it or not, depending on whether or not you can suspend belief while reading it.

posted by OurBookAddiction on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Technical difficulties

This was a fun and cute book and I really wanted to buy it, but the sample was so buggy: pages duplicated and/or in the wrong order. I was confused and had to stop reading.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Technical difficulties

    This was a fun and cute book and I really wanted to buy it, but the sample was so buggy: pages duplicated and/or in the wrong order. I was confused and had to stop reading.

    14 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don't get it! I bit again based on reviews. Laugh out? I don't

    I don't get it! I bit again based on reviews. Laugh out? I don't think so!!! I kept reading it and in the end and overall it ended ok. This book is only ok. Get it from the library or wait until it sells for $1.99. Reviewers are really screwed up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Didn't love it

    I have no idea what all the hype about this book was about. It was boring and not at all relatable. The only likable character was the daughter and even she got annoying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2012

    Do not recommend

    To me, this book was neither entertaining, nor enlightening. I did not care for the way the "story" was told. It certainly was not realistic, nor fantasty; however, it did border on being a fantasy.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Far fetched plot, harsh humor

    Far fetched plot, harsh satirical humor. It reads more like a script than a flowing novel. I bought this book on the way to the airport based on interest in reading the author's take on Seattle. I was born in Seattle and I am one of those women with grey hair (mine is long). The author displays a strong dislike of Seattle and its people. It is easy to surmise the places in this novel from the Queen Anne property to the alternative school. The author implies that Seattleites are narrow minded. My take is that the author living in her Belltown skyscraper is depicting a very narrow minded view of Seattle.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    problems with pagination

    Seems amusing but there are problems with the pagination.

    Page 16 content is a repeat of page 9 and repeats that section for several pages.

    At page 180, it repeats page 23 and continues the duplication through the end of the (generous) sample ending at page 201.

    While the story is amusing, I won't take the chance at the rest of it being messed up in this manner.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    This format was horrible as was the story. Not trying to be rude

    This format was horrible as was the story. Not trying to be rude but I cannot believe the prior reviews to be true. It was extremely boring. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Very quick read but I wasn't a fan of the writing style. I foun

    Very quick read but I wasn't a fan of the writing style. I found it hard to follow along at first which made it a little difficult to get into the book at first. About 3/4 of the way through I couldn't put it down but then the author kind of leaves the ending with so much left undone. I'm not sure what happens exactly and where there family goes from the ending. I wish there was more closure at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    The ebook repeats itself

    You would read a section and then the exact passage would show up 75 pages later

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Sample ends on p 176

    This book is only ok. I picked it based off of some good reviews i heard from podcasts books on the nightstand and adventures with words. I think the problem is the writing style which I have seen a lot lately of writing the book by way of letter correspondence just does not work much for me. The character development just isn't there and it kind of left me in a eworld of characters I don't care much about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I dont get it either

    I was was looking forward to laughing. I need to not rely on my fellow nook readers...but no, i always trust their reviews and will continue to do so ! This book was hard to follow and only marginaly interesting...i would like to have seen a better ending, it seems that the author ran out of steam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Seattle¿s Wisteria Lane¿quickly got old, just like the TV show.

    Seattle’s Wisteria Lane…quickly got old, just like the TV show. This book is a fast read, it is not going to be a “settle-in and enjoy” type of book – it was made quicker for me when I started to lose interest and began skimming toward the end. In the beginning pages I liked this book; the writing style was different (set-up through emails, letters, etc.). I was intrigued and found some parts funny. Unlike a lot of the reviewers, I actually enjoyed the characters and thought they were well developed. I liked it right up to the time that Bernadette goes “missing”… much like “Gone Girl Gone (or whatever that title was),” the plot became too far reaching to keep my interest. The author seems to want to just end the book and thinks of the quickest most random way to do it; evidently the author recently took a trip to Antarctica (or watched something about it on the Discovery Channel) and felt the need to write about it. Seriously, I need to start rereading the classics I read in high school and college –
    those books are cheap (or free) and yet I keep paying for this drivel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Told in a series of letters, just didn't find this story a very

    Told in a series of letters, just didn't find this story a very fun read.  Donated the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is too weird for me. I like quirky books; this book is

    This book is too weird for me. I like quirky books; this book is too quirky. I like Bee but I didn't feel anything good for any other character. I wouldn't recommend you locate Bernedette.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Disappointed

    Too much going on to follow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Did not enjoy

    I just couldn't get into this book, tried 3times. Sorry really did not enjoy how it was written. Cannot understand all the great reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Surprised this made it to the Best Seller lists!!!

    I was really disappointed in this book. Sounded like an interesting premise for a story, but it was a little too strange for me. The author obviously doesn't like Microsoft or the Seattle area, as she was extremely critical of this beautiful Pacific Northwest area. Parts of the story were fun, like the sliding hillside and Antarctica. But I wouldn't recommend spending your money on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2