Customer Reviews for

Wherever I Wind Up: My Quest for Truth, Authenticity, and the Perfect Knuckleball

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Let's Go Mets!

A brutally honest page-turner. This autobiography made me respect Dickey as one of the few knuckleball pitchers in the Major Leagues, but more importantly, as a man. I look foward to seeing him pitch a ton of strikeouts this baseball season. LGM!

posted by 7606139 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Certainly NOT a quest for truth. This is not a philosophical b

Certainly NOT a quest for truth. This is not a philosophical book, it is fiilled with christian dogma (God's will, His plan, etc stuff). Having said that, I read it in two sittings - so he can write. Also, some interesting history of the knuckleball.

posted by EAN0 on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Let's Go Mets!

    A brutally honest page-turner. This autobiography made me respect Dickey as one of the few knuckleball pitchers in the Major Leagues, but more importantly, as a man. I look foward to seeing him pitch a ton of strikeouts this baseball season. LGM!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Certainly NOT a quest for truth. This is not a philosophical b

    Certainly NOT a quest for truth. This is not a philosophical book, it is fiilled with christian dogma (God's will, His plan, etc stuff). Having said that, I read it in two sittings - so he can write. Also, some interesting history of the knuckleball.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    H

    !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great

    inspirational story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Outstanding!

    One of the most inspirational, as well as entertaining, books I've ever had the pleasure of reading! Thank you R. A. for sharing all of your accomplished, as well as your hardships,both professionally and personally, humbling yourself and glorifying God at every turn. May His love and guidance be ever-present in your life, and may your knuckleball continue to reign over every hitter you face against the NY Mets, for many years to come!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Outstanding!

    This is the ultimate underdog saga: A baseball pitcher who had lost his fastball and takes up the knuckler, perfects it over a few years, and ends up starting for the Mets, streaking to a 12-0 start in 2012 and pitching in the All-Star Game.
    It's a long struggle, but to see R.A. triumphant in the end in his mid-thirties is balm to the soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Must Read for the Mets Fan

    After reading this book you can truly appreciate the effort that R.A. is putting forward this year. The path he has taken from loosing a signing bonus to most likely being a 2012 All Star is incredibly impressive. Let go Mets!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Great story about personal life, baseball and overcoming struggles.

    Great story about a man who tells his personal story of overcoming abuses from his younger years and coping in a disfunctional family. He used sports as a daily motivator to continue on with life. He became religious, married a high school sweetheart, but kept hidden earlier traumas suffered in his life. Obstacles emerged in his baseball career where he went from a highly touted college star to a pitcher with supposed medical issues. The story in summation, advises why you don't give up when the tide has turned. Developing a new pitch, making amends with his wife, and raising his family, have turned his life around and he pitches for another day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    I was amazed at the author's ability to overcome his obstacles a

    I was amazed at the author's ability to overcome his obstacles and rise to the heights of his success. The title of this book is Wherever I Wind Up. The author of the book is R.A Dickey. The book is a autobiography on the life of the author R.A. Dickey. The book is the story of the life of the author R.A. Dickey from his birth to the present. He is a professional baseball player who grew up in Nashville Tennessee and has achieved success despite much adversity throughout his entire life. The main theme of the book is that you should overcome adversity no matter what the obstacles or circumstances.
    The beginning of the book is his childhood and upbringing. In the book he says that everyone, including him, will face depressing elements in life and will face many difficult challenges. Overall, I thought that the book was very interesting. I thought that R.A. Dickey did a very good job of telling his life story. He is very descriptive in his stories and very thorough in his story telling, which makes the experience very good. The book talks about what you should do when faced with adversity. He suggests that you should rise above any depths of despair. I felt like the book covered a wide variety of issues. It didn't really leave out any major issues that R.A. Dickey faced in his life. He discussed issues that he faced in his life pretty well. The book was a good experience for me. It mad me root for R.A. Dickey. I wanted him to succeed and overcome his struggles in life. I thought that it was a really good book and a really good reading experience. The book is a good reading experience and an enjoyable book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    To below

    R A is a F***ing boss. Anyone who likes him should read Throwing Strkies another good book by him. He talks about life problems anf his quest for the perfect knuckleball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    must read

    great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Baseball fan..Definitely read this!

    One of the most honest and interesting baseball books out there. The ups and downs of Mr. Dickey's baseball career are incidental to the obstacles he had to overcome in his life....Enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    R.A Dickey sucks!

    R.A Dickey sucks for going to the Blue Jays?( even more suck involved) . Maby the Mets? were smart because when he pitched the first Blue Jay? game, they lost , so good ridence to R.A Dickey the Mets? killer. When I saw him pitch, he looked great. He was my favorite pitcher on the Mets?. But now he is the second most hated pitcher. Hope your happy R.A Dickey!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great

    R.A. Dickey was just awarded (11/15/12) the Cy Young award. He was voted the best pitcher in the National League for the year 2012, by the Baseball Writers of America Association. This has been a story so amazin', that if a screenplay had been presented to a Hollywood studio, the producer/script reader would rightfully laugh you out of his/her office. Now R.A is facing contract negotiations that will regardless of the final sum make him and his family wealthier than anyone dare imagine this time last year. If anyone is deserving of being paid this astonishing (though it will still pale compared to scores of other players) amount of money it is this brave, classy man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Great read and well written.

    R.A. does a wonderful job telling his story about all the trials he has endured in his life and ultimately prevails with the help of wife and his faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Amazing

    Simply one of the best books I have ever read! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Remarkable read

    I heard an interview with R.A. Dickey and decided to read the book. It was insightful and articulate...a fine look at baseball, perseverance, faith and the frailties as well as resilience of mankind. I strongly recommend it as a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Recommended

    Good baseball / life story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Great book

    A truly inspirational story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2