BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

While I Was Gone

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Great writing techniques, but rather slow-moving plot

    Sue Miller is truly a great writer in her writing methods of describing and detail. However, the plot was a little thin. A lot of it was predictable, and Miller is maybe just a tad bit meticulous, but all-in-all...not bad. It was worth reading, but probably could have been edited for content. I'm only in my mid-20s, so I can see how some women in their 50s/60s or so would enjoy this more than I did for the fact that they could relate to Jo more than I. I wasn't real fond of any of the characters in particular and thought Jo made WAY too many wrong decisions. I guess it's worth reading if you've got some extra time on your hands. If not, find something a little more thrilling - pssst...especially if you're younger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2001

    OK, but worth reading

    Although the jist of the plot is predictable, there were enough twists to keep it interesting. Yes the main character is selfish and somewhat unlikable, but I felt that it made the book more interesting. I've been getting tired of the same old main character that you love and don't want anything to happen to. It was nice to be able to say, 'She got what she deserved.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Stays with you

    While I Was Gone was a little slow and too detailed at parts, but the imperfect and real characters stay with you and engross you in their story. It's realistic, yet also depressing, but a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2001

    It Moved Too S...l...o...w...l...y

    The premise of the story was a good one. But I have to say, due to the back cover telling me about a terrible secret- as soon as Jo met Jean Bennett, the cat was out of the bag. And it moved so incredibly slowly sometimes.I wanted to knock the little boy down the escalator steps on page 263, just to get to the end of the book. This was the first Sue Miller I've read, and probably the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Good but not Great

    This was a good book even though I didn't find it believable that Jo could be interested in Eli after meeting him again and seeing what kind of a person he was. Otherwise, I like the style of the writer and have enjoyed the two books I've read that she has written. I liked 'The Good Mother' the best, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    Good storyline

    I understood the storyline and thought it was a good one, but I'm not sure I like the way Sue Miller told it. In the beginning of the book, I couldn't put it down, but later on, it seemed to drag. I didn't feel connected to Jo the way I usually feel about main characters in a book. It's a great book for people who maybe have a secret of their own. I just couldn't relate to this story, maybe that's why I didn't enjoy it as much as everyone else did. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy the book, I just wasn't 'captivated' by it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    Could have been so much better

    This book had potential to be really great. Unfortunately it feel short. Very predictable!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Go Out & Do the Right Thing: But Just because YOU do the right thing, does it make a difference?

    This was not an easy book to get involved in, but once entrenched, I was hooked. 'Jo' took her time getting around to doing the right thing, & when she finally did right, even though doing the right thing was going to create havoc in her life, judgment was not swift. Jo, by her own actions & decisions, ended up changing her life forever, yet there was really no validation that she 'did the right thing'. If she had kept quiet her life would have remained the same on the surface. I didn't like Jo for most of this novel. At the end of the novel she became someone I would be proud to know. By telling the truth, for once in her life, she altered her relationship with her husband & children, ultimately received no compensation. But she finally became a responsible, admirable person. Many evocative passages which I could relate to my own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    I expected more after hearing Oprah's review

    I read this after hearing Oprah rave about this book. The plot was very predictable, I had the ending figured out halfway through the book. Slow, so-so read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    yawn

    The story started out great, but it was all downhill from there. I kept hoping that more would develop and it never did. I was let down by the boring and predictable ending. None of the other characters was developed enough for me to care about them at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    It's okay

    This book was slow moving and took me about three weeks to read. However, it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    SLOW READ

    I usually read a book of this size in one week. I have been trying to work through this one for a month. But I did finish it. It was slow and the only gripping part was Jo's past. I kept waiting for something more to happen - it never did. This is only the second Oprah's book club selection I have read - the other one didn't turn me on either - but I'll keep trying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1