Customer Reviews for

While My Sister Sleeps

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

While My Sister Sleeps

I enjoyed this story on so many levels. It is a great story that shows family dynamics in calm and stressful situations.
The book opens with us meeting the Snow sisters. Robin is the "star". A top runner, she is preparing for an Olympic trial. Molly is the "good girl" ...
I enjoyed this story on so many levels. It is a great story that shows family dynamics in calm and stressful situations.
The book opens with us meeting the Snow sisters. Robin is the "star". A top runner, she is preparing for an Olympic trial. Molly is the "good girl" who provides support work for the family. She cleans up for Robin and works behind the scenes at the family business.
When Robin has a heart attack, we see how the family that has revolved around her handles their beloved star being extinguished. Relationships are strained and the family has to accept and learn to cope without her and realize that their perceptions of Robin, themselves and each other need to be corrected. They need to let go of many things.

posted by Maria_of_amor on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not One of This Author's Best

I just finished this book, and I cannot believe it is written by the same author who gave us such treasures as Coast Road and Three Wishes. What a dissapointment. I did not find the conversations that took place between the characters realistic - they made me think if...
I just finished this book, and I cannot believe it is written by the same author who gave us such treasures as Coast Road and Three Wishes. What a dissapointment. I did not find the conversations that took place between the characters realistic - they made me think if I was watching this on TV it would be poorly written script. I did not like all the stories interwoven, perhaps only one interwoven story could have been done with the relationship between Nick and Molly, after he and Robin broke up. The writing style was simple at best. I love most of her books, but wish I would have borrowed this one from the library instead of purchasing it.

posted by LoveToReadinVT on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    Fairly Good, but not too Original

    It was good. Very good. The synopsis and cover got me. Though it did have it's ups and downs. Let's break it down:

    The plot: it wasn't original, but since i have recently been hooked on sob stories like this; it grabbed me. But again,you do often either, hear or read a book on how the main characters' sister dies. And, it may not have been original, but it was good.

    The characters: You will fall in love with the characters, at one point or another, and that is a promise. I read the reviews on the front of the book and everyone had pointed out something similar to :"She will make you feel like the characters are your next door neighbors!" And as i read along, that hadn't been true for me. It took till the 2nd half of the book for it too kick in. I wish it had been sooner, because the characters are truly one of a kind, but still your everyday people. Some of the characters, i loved, and others i hated. But for stupid things, like Mollys' brother's wife. She was mad at him and wanted to get a divorce, because he wouldn't talk all that much. I kept thinking that she needed to get real, because that is no reason to do that and people have much better reasons to do so, than because one of them doesn't talk as much as you want. But again, that's kind of a silly thing. I doubt anyone else would be that bothered by her, that they would hate the entire book. Everyone else, i really did have a connection too, and you will as well.
    The perspective: I loved how the author kept changing the characters perspective and point of view so i could get a glimpse of each person's view on things.

    Other silly things that i LIKE: That i connected straight away with how Molly felt towards her sister. So at the same time, i had bonded with Robin as well. And i like the unexpected twist in the middle of the book.

    Other silly things that i DISLIKE: That Molly's profession was working with plants: i felt that the author went a little overboard with describing the plants because i really didn't care. And another thing: Molly's love interest. I fell in love with him as well, but the author never got farther than a good conversation between them. But in a way, i liked that as well, because i got to imagine what happened to them. And that gave the author the chance, not to go overboard,where we start to dislike both the characters; like many authors do when it comes the relationships.

    Overall, this was a moderately, well shaped book. I think i would only recommend it to someone who has a sister as well, only because there would be no connections and interest for someone who is either an only child or doesn't have a sister.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay

    Even though the story is based around a sister in a coma, Delinsky came up short when trying to draw an emotional reaction out of me. I love my sisters and would be in tears if this happened to one of them, but I didn't feel the heart-wrenching agony with this book. It was a good read but not a great one. I almost put it down when a twist came in the middle of the book which kept me reading and I enjoyed the change in direction from then on. I didn't like all the whining that dragged on in the first half of the book.The sisterly tension didn't need half the book to depict the friction, a couple of chapters would have suffice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sad topic

    While the topic is sad, the material was presented well. Characters were well developed and subject matter was easily discussable. Not a major work of literature, but a nice book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Family relationship Develop in Tough Times

    This book was ok. I think worth the time. I enjoyed seeing how the characters developed in the face of tough times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Predictable

    I found that I was able to figure out the plot within the first couple of chapters. I stayed with it but it was predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Robin Snow is a world class runner training for the Olympics. Running alone one day, she has a heart attack. She is put on life support and determined to be brain dead.

    The main character is Robin's younger sister Molly who has always been overshadowed by the famous runner. As the family struggles to make a decision to let Robin go, Molly finds out a great deal about her family. Many secrets are discovered. And of course there is a romance in the tale.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1