Customer Reviews for

While We Were Watching Downton Abbey

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Samantha was the rich girl everyone envied. Brooke was the sing

Samantha was the rich girl everyone envied. Brooke was the single mother recently divorced. Claire was the empty nester and author. What did these women have in common. Nothing! That was until they started to go to the screening of Downton Abbey in their building. ...
Samantha was the rich girl everyone envied. Brooke was the single mother recently divorced. Claire was the empty nester and author. What did these women have in common. Nothing! That was until they started to go to the screening of Downton Abbey in their building. The women started out as complete opposites and strangers and began to bond instantly. Samantha would listen to the problems the other women had and she stayed the prim and proper housewife that her mother-in-law would expect her to be. The walls started crumbling down for all three of these women. With friendship and Downton Abbey they would all live happily ever after.
I loved the way the book spoke of friendship with all walks of life. The rich girl, the help, they all coexisted. The writing is smooth and flows easily. You feel like you are friends with the characters. I enjoyed the book and not having ever watched Downton Abbey was able to follow the book with no trouble. I think after reading this I will definitely have to get a few friends together to watch the series. I would recommend that you read this book. A nice book for any woman in your life.
Rating: 4.5
Heat Rating: Mild
Reviewed By: Rae
Courtesy of My Book Addiction And More

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on May 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as Wendy's previous books

Even though I have read several of Wendy’s other books and loved them and was so looking forward to this one as had pre-ordered; however, was a bit disappointed. I lived in Atlanta for 14 years prior to moving to Florida, in Buckhead and Midtown and loved the Atlanta h...
Even though I have read several of Wendy’s other books and loved them and was so looking forward to this one as had pre-ordered; however, was a bit disappointed. I lived in Atlanta for 14 years prior to moving to Florida, in Buckhead and Midtown and loved the Atlanta highlights; however, compared to her other books, there was just something missing for me.

posted by quaintinns on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Three women living in the same upscale Atlanta apartment complex

    Three women living in the same upscale Atlanta apartment complex don't seem to have anything in common. When the building concierge begins a weekly screening of DOWNTON ABBEY the three women find themselves sitting together and striking up a friendship. The one thing they all seem to need is each other. 




    Samantha seems to have it all; rich good looking husband, a top notch social life, the best apartment in the complex, oh and is beautiful. But what people don't see is the real Samantha who is a people pleaser and is convinced her husband married her only because he felt bad for her and her younger sister and brother. She has to hold everything together or it will all fall apart. 




    Claire has just moved in after selling her home in suburbs. Her daughter has just left for college. She has already written two novels while working two jobs to support her and her daughter, so this is her chance to live her dream. She is giving herself a year to write with no interruptions. Yet words seem to be failing her.




    Brooke a newly divorced mom of two little girls isn't sure of herself. Her jerk ex-husband has made her forget the strong and capable woman she once was. He continues to lord his high and mighty self over her and rub her nose with his Barbie doll girlfriend. 




    As the women meet together each week their unlikely friendship grows, but can they really open up to each other? Share their greatest vulnerabilities? And can this new friendship withstand a shocking betrayal?




    I was super excited to review While We Were Watching Downton Abbey by Wendy Wax. I kept hearing people talk about the television show DOWNTON ABBEY, so I decided to watch the series before reading the book. After watching the series, I get the addiction! Now you don't have to be a fan of the program to read the book (but I highly recommend the show), but it does give fans some fun flashbacks and references of the program. 




    I truly adored While We Were Watching Downton Abbey. I enjoyed getting to know the three ladies and their stories, watching their friendship grow. There were even a few times when they were hanging out I wanted to add my advice. I found myself frustrated for them, laughing with them. 




    This is a perfect book to throw in your bag as you begin those summer vacations or to read while sitting out in the backyard while the kids play. It's just a light fun feel good read. I am recommending to all my girlfriends!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Samantha was the rich girl everyone envied. Brooke was the sing

    Samantha was the rich girl everyone envied. Brooke was the single mother recently divorced. Claire was the empty nester and author. What did these women have in common. Nothing! That was until they started to go to the screening of Downton Abbey in their building. The women started out as complete opposites and strangers and began to bond instantly. Samantha would listen to the problems the other women had and she stayed the prim and proper housewife that her mother-in-law would expect her to be. The walls started crumbling down for all three of these women. With friendship and Downton Abbey they would all live happily ever after.
    I loved the way the book spoke of friendship with all walks of life. The rich girl, the help, they all coexisted. The writing is smooth and flows easily. You feel like you are friends with the characters. I enjoyed the book and not having ever watched Downton Abbey was able to follow the book with no trouble. I think after reading this I will definitely have to get a few friends together to watch the series. I would recommend that you read this book. A nice book for any woman in your life.
    Rating: 4.5
    Heat Rating: Mild
    Reviewed By: Rae
    Courtesy of My Book Addiction And More

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This is a wonderful book about people coming together and learning that what you think you see or think you know about another person is not always the case. I loved this book and recommended it to many of my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Fans of Downton Abbey will love this one!

    I couldn't wait until this book came out and I was not disappointed. I wish it had had a little bit more about Downton Abbey but once I got hooked on the characters and their life experiences I enjoyed the Downton Abbey portion fine!
    Thanks for writing a modern day book that references my favorite TV show!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    A Fun Read

    If you're looking for a really serious piece of literature, this novel isn't for you. If you're looking for a fun way to escape a rainy afternoon, this is an interesting book. It tells the story of three women who live in an Atlanta high rise who develop an unusual friendship that centers around watching Downtown Abbey with the others in their building.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Not as good as Wendy's previous books

    Even though I have read several of Wendy’s other books and loved them and was so looking forward to this one as had pre-ordered; however, was a bit disappointed. I lived in Atlanta for 14 years prior to moving to Florida, in Buckhead and Midtown and loved the Atlanta highlights; however, compared to her other books, there was just something missing for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A motley group live in the Alexander Building, watched over by t

    A motley group live in the Alexander Building, watched over by the gentleman Edward, who sees to the needs of the building and arranges for a weekly showing of Downton Abbey, the British serial show that millions around the world have been avidly following and immensely enjoying.  This is where Samantha, Claire, Brooke and other minor characters live and where they bond through their Sunday evening gatherings!




    Samantha and her siblings were poor when she met her rich husband.  She can’t cook and always orders in and she can’t control her sister and brother who are money-hungry parasites and a mother-in-law who bullies her and the rest of the family.  Jonathan maintains silence throughout all this, including the grand schemes of Samantha’s brother that have made Jonathan lose thousands of dollars.  One begins to sense a constant sense of intense fear looming beneath Samantha’s exterior, an unwillingness to risk speaking truth to her husband, brother or sister.  Beginning new friendships with Brooke and Claire begins to change it all, very slowly but oh so surely!




    Claire is a writer who has written Highland romances that readers love.  But she has a massive case of writer’s block, even though she doesn’t acknowledge she has it and doesn’t seem willing to explore why this dry spell has developed.  She has this new life and doesn’t quite seem able to settle into it easily.  Then she begins to attend the Sunday gatherings around the TV series and eventually wakes up to a whole new world!
    Brook is divorced from the man she worked to put through medical school.  Now he’s threatening her with being thrown out of the Alexander and at the same time he and his new girlfriend are going to buy a new place in the same building.  He’s a Dad when it’s convenient and not financially supportive of her children; she needs money and some new confidence on the interior.  Edward sees everything and finds a niche for Brook that is life-saving in many, many different ways!




    Downton Abbey is about the ups and downs of the aristocracy and the “downstairs” help or servants of the household.  It’s about love, hate, loss of life and the birth of new life both literally and figuratively!  While there are no parallels to this story, it’s gritty and tender qualities seem to imbue these characters with the strength they need to shed old destructive patterns of life and explore new choices that could turn either way but are far, far more worthy of the their efforts than they knew in their past banal existences.




    While We Were Watching Downton Abbey is a grand, well-paced contemporary read definitely deserving to be on the best seller list!!! Great writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Pleasant, superficial, fast read, and totally forgettable.  The

    Pleasant, superficial, fast read, and totally forgettable.  The character Samantha is unbelievable:  After 25 years of marriage, she's still so uncertain about her relationship with her faithful husband? The other characters were more interesting.  The Downton Abbey theme is cute and there is a tie-in with one of the characters, but references to the program are minimal.  There is drama, but like books by Maeve Binchy or Rosamund Pilcher, everything gets tied up in a relatively neat and tidy bow at the end.   



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Loved it!

    Enjoyed every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    A sweet story of making new friends

    Loved the book - would love to see this story line turn into a series. A little predictable, but still very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly Recommend!!!!

    I Loved this book! Best book i have read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kayti Nika Raet for Readers' Favorite While We Were

    Reviewed by Kayti Nika Raet for Readers' Favorite

    While We Were Watching Downton Abbey by Wendy Wax follows the lives of  three Atlanta based women: Claire Walker, an empty-nester and struggling author; Brooke MacKenzie, newly divorced and struggling to pick up the pieces of her shattered self-confidence; and Samantha Davis, who's seemingly perfect life and marriage may not be so perfect after all. The three women, living in an historic Atlanta apartment come together when Edward, the concierge, hosts weekly screenings of Downton Abbey. Forming a tight bond over the lush Edwardian TV show, it carries over to some of the women's hardest moments and reveals the heartwarming power of friendship. 

    While We Were Watching Downton Abbey is a beautiful, heartwarming novel that is nonetheless fast-paced and entertaining. As a fan of Downton Abbey, reading about Claire, Brooke, and Samantha's experience with the British drama was thoroughly entertaining and made me want to watch all four seasons all over again. Of course, since While We Were Watching Downton Abbey is set in the South, there were many analogies made between the characters in Margaret Mitchell's Gone With the Wind and Downton Abbey, as well as delicious descriptions of food whether it was traditionally English, Italian, or Southern. 

    Anyone who considers herself a genteel Southern belle, or just Southern at heart, will love and relate to the women in While We Were Watching Downton Abbey and smile at the power of true friendship. A book best enjoyed with a shandy, your own friends and perhaps a season or two of Downton Abbey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    A fun read

    I love Downtown Abbey and it was fun to see how this "addicting" series transformed the lives of three women. Although the story was predictable, it was a light, relaxing story and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Very Nice

    This was a very nice book Weaving in Downtown Abbey was a nice touch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Delightful

    I found this a delightful read, predictable but still worthy of your time. I enjoyed the reading about the growing friendships and the references to Downton Abbey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Loved It

    Another hit by Wendy Wax......really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    I really liked this book! The characters are great. It switches

    I really liked this book! The characters are great. It switches back and forth between characters every other chapter or so. I found myself getting attached to one character's story when the chapter would end. I would get so frustrated but it wouldn't take long for me to get lost in the next chapter. I would love to see a sequel or series out of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Clichéd, Predictable, Cheesy: Underwhelmed

    Clichéd, Predictable, Cheesy: Underwhelmed

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2