Customer Reviews for

While We're Far Apart

Average Rating 4.5
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing story! Excellent!! 5 Stars!

Lynn Austin did an excellent job with this book. It takes you and engulfs you in the time period of WW2. My heart went out to all it's characters. I think it should be made into a screenplay! It is so well written it puts all other romance fiction authors to shame! I de...
Lynn Austin did an excellent job with this book. It takes you and engulfs you in the time period of WW2. My heart went out to all it's characters. I think it should be made into a screenplay! It is so well written it puts all other romance fiction authors to shame! I definitely will be reading more of her work. The best I've read in a long time.

posted by 5922561 on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice read

I enjoyed the book, it did lack a bit of that pull to not put it down, but the story line was good and the characters were interesting. It was free! Give it try.

posted by freereaderdh on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Very good read!

    This was a great book. I so enjoyed seeing the characters develop and all the interactions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Must read

    I really enjoyed this book. A great story of faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Recommend

    Good Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Wonderful

    Loved this book!! I will definately read Lynn Austin again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Check out any of Lynn Austin books

    I haven't read this book yet, but love books by Lynn Austin. So I just know it will be good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Great Book!

    I loved this book! The characters are well developed and each has a story of their own to tell. I hated for it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    I couldn't put it down

    I really enjoyed reading this book because it gave the story life you felt for the characters when they were having issues. I love how it was written. I'm going to see what else the author written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Interesting

    Somewhat predictable but nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Fascinating!

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Riveting!

    It took me a minute to connect with this story, however, once I did, I was moved by the reality of an era seldom spoke of. Ms. Austin has done an incredible job of creating a vivid look at a time in our history that challenged faith, fortitude, and forgiveness. I loved the Happily Ever After endings, sometimes with unexpected outcomes. I was inspired by the overall goodness of humanity and filled with gratitude that I live in a time where peace abounds!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Good Book

    372 pages... enjoyed this book... good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    a good read!

    Kept my attention, a story of hope..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Great historical read

    I enjoyed this book very much. Not your typical Christian story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    The story captures your attention

    I did not have big expectations for this book but it was very good. It seemed slow in the beginning but it quickly picked up speed and held my attention. The writing was very good and flowed smoothly. You have to appreciate stories based on historical events. I will be checking out other books by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Historical fiction with a twist

    I love Lynn Austin's writings, she knows how to bring historical fiction to life. I always love her characters and the time periods that are brought alive, but this one struck me as odd. The "main character" is Penny, but I don't like her. I thought, "Really? Why such an unlikeable character? I really want to like this book but not with this character!" I did stick with the book and it soon became evident that the real story was about Penny's transformation throughout the story. It turns out that Lynn has done it again and created a beautiful story of journey set in the later part of WWII and seen through the eyes of Esther and Peter (a brother and sister whose mom has died and whose dad enlists for the war), Penny (the family neighbor who volunteers to take care of Esther and Peter while their dad is gone) and Jacob Mendel (the children's Jewish landlord who lives in the first level of their house and whose wife died in the same accident as their mother). These 4 all undergo change as they endure the end of WWII. Excellent book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5