Customer Reviews for

While We're Far Apart

Average Rating 4.5
( 319 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing story! Excellent!! 5 Stars!

Lynn Austin did an excellent job with this book. It takes you and engulfs you in the time period of WW2. My heart went out to all it's characters. I think it should be made into a screenplay! It is so well written it puts all other romance fiction authors to shame! I de...
Lynn Austin did an excellent job with this book. It takes you and engulfs you in the time period of WW2. My heart went out to all it's characters. I think it should be made into a screenplay! It is so well written it puts all other romance fiction authors to shame! I definitely will be reading more of her work. The best I've read in a long time.

posted by 5922561 on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice read

I enjoyed the book, it did lack a bit of that pull to not put it down, but the story line was good and the characters were interesting. It was free! Give it try.

posted by freereaderdh on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Amazing story! Excellent!! 5 Stars!

    Lynn Austin did an excellent job with this book. It takes you and engulfs you in the time period of WW2. My heart went out to all it's characters. I think it should be made into a screenplay! It is so well written it puts all other romance fiction authors to shame! I definitely will be reading more of her work. The best I've read in a long time.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Tender, thought-provoking, fast moving book with well developed characters

    This was my first Lynn Austin book and she writes with ease, develops her characters well and researches well, also. The story takes place during WWII, with the main character taking care of the two children of someone she has long loved due to his going off to war. The children are still suffering over losing their mother to a car accident, the neighbor downstairs suffers from not knowing where his only son is in Nazi occupied Europe, and many other twists and turns move the story along to hold interest. The main theme that all the characters learn is the God is in control even if we can't see Him or hear Him. Sometimes we need to be patient in His waiting room. Can't wait for her next novel!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great surprise

    I didnt think when I got this book I would like it, however, IT was a great surprise!! Course I dont know why I was surprised Lynn Austin is a great historical fiction writer. Love her books and this just adds to the collection of great ones.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Like stepping into history

    I LOVED This book! It really gave me a feel of what it would have been like to live during WWII. At times it made me wish I was there and other times I was so glad I wasn't. This book made it real. It was so good I couldn't put it down!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    While Were Far Apart

    While Were Far Apart was one of the best historical fiction books I have ever read. You could really feel as if you were the character. I did not ever want to put the book down, it was that good. I am doing this book for my book report for school and it was the perfect choice. I loved when Penny was kissed by Roy and it was her first kiss ever. I also loved when Peter started to talk after Mr.Mendel was going to get arrested. This book left a huge impact on be about what it was like to live during world war 2 ( the best war ever). I recommened this book for young readers who love a good world war 2 book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book

    I loved the way this book wove several characters into a WWII historical setting and kept you captivated by each of their lives. Showing how the war affected each one in a different way, but brought them together under their renewed faith in God who they discovered is in control, even when we cannot see Him working immediately in each situation. I give this a five star rating and will look for more of her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Not even half-way through the book...

    I am writing through tears. This book has touched me as no othersinceIread "Marjorie Morningstar" when I was in my 20's. I am now 68. I have been touched by much loss in my life. I believe that through this book I may, in fact, be purged of the anger I have felt toward G-d these many years. THANK YOU, Ms. Austin.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Wonderful simple read!

    I loved this book. Tells the perspective of jewish people in america wondering about their loved one's in Europe during WW II. I love a book that makes you feel a part of a bygone era. This book did that for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Beautiful to the soul

    I could not put this down, reading far into the night. Oh, the soul of it! No words to describe the emotions this story evokes. Must read! Review by CherishD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Great heartful story about WWII

    A history lesson about jewish and christians in WWII. The story reals you in, and leads you through two familys lives. A wonderful love story about people, and their relationship with God. A must read for everyone, you will be pleasently surprised!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    First of all, B&N needs to have a better system of product r

    First of all, B&N needs to have a better system of product reviews. I hate all the nonsense that comes up when trying to read a review of something. Ok, enough ranting on that. While We're Far Apart, by Lynn Austin is a must read, people. I was drawn in from the very first moment and laughed and cried and cheered with these characters. I love the WWII setting and all that I learned about the Holocaust. You will not be disappointed in this book.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Excellent book!

    This book was hard put down. I could not wait to see what would happen next. The characters drew me in. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Heartbreakingly beautiful!

    Leaps right to the heart of human relationships, the power of both God & satan, and the tremendous lessons that we can learn from history. We must never forget the value of faith or the freedom God meant all of us to enjoy if we're brave enough to hang onto it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Riveting!!!!

    This WWII historical fiction was absolutely riveting, the reader is pulled in on page one, and kept there until the story ends. And what a story it is! And what an author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    A must read for summer.

    Add this to your list, and anything else my Lynn Austin. What a fantastic look at people during WWII who were fighting the war at home. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great read

    This book kept me interested the whole way through. Great book. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Misty

    "Can i join." Misty said. She looed at brownkit

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Everglaze

    Is there an elders den?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Riverflow

    Dont worry they will thaw soon. I will hunt for you if you want

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Scatty

    My name is Scatty and the leader is nightstar

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10