Customer Reviews for

Whip It

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Family who doesn't understand: check, Stuck in a BORING town: check, love interest: check, Girls who kick butt: check

I watched the movie "Whip It!" and love it. It made me want to roller derby and kiss some butt. When I found out this movie was based off a book, I had to read it. It's perfect for older middle school and high school girls, which is why it's young adult book. I teach si...
I watched the movie "Whip It!" and love it. It made me want to roller derby and kiss some butt. When I found out this movie was based off a book, I had to read it. It's perfect for older middle school and high school girls, which is why it's young adult book. I teach sixth grade, so I spend most of my time reading YA books. The book follows 16 year old Bliss (don't ya just love that name) while she tries to find herself and a place where is fits in while leaving in a town where she didn't fit the mold. Her family doesn't get her nor does most of the town save for Pash (her best friend). Here enter roller derby, and Bliss is not the same ever again. If you like a fun read about a girl finding herself this is it.

posted by 3033715 on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

this is ok, but the movie version is better

for me this was just an okay book. one thing i will say is that it is addictive. once you start reading it you won't be able to stop. the movie is much better.fun characters and roller derby sounds like a lot of fun. the ending leaves you satisfied.

posted by spanish-lullaby on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Family who doesn't understand: check, Stuck in a BORING town: check, love interest: check, Girls who kick butt: check

    I watched the movie "Whip It!" and love it. It made me want to roller derby and kiss some butt. When I found out this movie was based off a book, I had to read it. It's perfect for older middle school and high school girls, which is why it's young adult book. I teach sixth grade, so I spend most of my time reading YA books. The book follows 16 year old Bliss (don't ya just love that name) while she tries to find herself and a place where is fits in while leaving in a town where she didn't fit the mold. Her family doesn't get her nor does most of the town save for Pash (her best friend). Here enter roller derby, and Bliss is not the same ever again. If you like a fun read about a girl finding herself this is it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this is ok, but the movie version is better

    for me this was just an okay book. one thing i will say is that it is addictive. once you start reading it you won't be able to stop. the movie is much better.fun characters and roller derby sounds like a lot of fun. the ending leaves you satisfied.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whip It Good

    I loved it, the main character is the perfect mix of quirky and cool!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    To any and all misfits

    Great read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Erk

    I dont know how appropriat this book is, i saw he movie and loved it but i know there is teen drinking and sex. I havnt read the book yet but i plan to.

    - Coventry CT, 3:30 PM, 13 years of age, May 21 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Movie was GREAT

    The movie was great. Im not sure about the book yet, only because i havent read it, yet. But i know that the book will be wayyyyy better than the movie, because they normally, are way better and more detailed. Like any other girl, i always want the details. So i cant wait to read this book. :) All i have to say about the movie is; watch out for the girls on skates, they may just be, like the mean and tough girls in the movie. Lol ;)
    WATCH THE MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Luv

    Good read and i luv the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I’m Sure My Coolness Factor Has Gone Up Just By Reading Th

    I’m Sure My Coolness Factor Has Gone Up Just By Reading This Book!

    In a town where football players are high school gods and their peroxide cheerleader girlfriends reign supreme lives Bliss Cavendar, and her best friend, Pash; Bodeen, Texas’ resident rebels. In love with music and unable to conform to her former-pageant-queen mother’s expectations, Bliss tries to find where she fits. Her salvation comes in the form of Roller Derby, and its witty, tattooed angels. But as with all things, even “crushworth” boys in bands, there is no such thing as perfect and the world is not always how you see it.

    Told directly to the audience by Bliss this book is fun, fairly light and pretty dang funny! Bliss’ witty comments and scathing descriptions, from saying her mother suffers from Tiara-ism to the unironic mullet, keeps the reader wondering what she will come up with next. Cross nicely interweave Bliss’ hilarity with some heart. Bliss begins the process of transition from child to adult. She realizes her parents are people and not quite the enemy she thought they were. Bliss also makes the startling discovery that her whole world doesn’t need to revolve around herself. Both of which are very mature ideas.

    This was one of my first introductions to the world of Roller Derby and I have to say I love it. I would definitely recommend this book for more of the high school age group and older, not younger: it deals with underage drinking, sex and shoplifting, plus occasional strong language.

    Side note: The movie directed by Drew Barrymore based on this book is pretty good in its own right!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Whippin' Awesome!

    Whip It is about a girl named, Bliss, who lives in a small, boring, town. She is stuck in the hick town of Bodeen, Texas. I that wasn't bad enough, the people that live there are unbearable. The only thing that keeps her from exploding is her best friend, Pash. Bliss and Pash are two cool chicks who don't fit in with the regular high school life. Fortunately, Bliss's and Pash's life take a turn for the best when they go to a Roller Derby game. Bliss is so inspired and tries out for the Derby team. She beats the odds and gets into the Derby team called the Hurl Scouts. Her wish of having a perfect life comes true. But not all good things can last forever...
    I liked everything about this book. It was super funny and even a bit inspiring. I related very well to this book because sometimes teenagers feel like they just don't belong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    blew me away

    I have red the book and have seen the movie both were very well crafted and showed about the hidden tricks and trickery about roller derby I aplaude the author of the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Don't Mess With A Girl On Skates"

    Posted June 20, 2010, 1:02 PM EST: As a person who saw the movie "Whip It" before reading the book it's based on, I didn't really know what to expect. Usually the book is better that the movie, but I have to say that I love them both and the go hand in hand. It's a fun, down and dirty book with great characters, led by fearless Bliss Cavander (Babe Ruthless!) and expanding to best friend Pash Amini, employer Birdman, and Oliver (note: DO NOT DATE A BOY IN A BAND) to the derby girls like bittersweet Malice in Wonderland and unbeatable Dinah Might (of the enemy team the Holy Rollers). The roller derby chapters are probably my favorite, because they're filled with action, awesomeness, and rock n' roll/indie style writing. I don't know how else to describe it, so you'll just have to read it and see it in all it's glory for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    really enjoyed it:)

    I anted to read the book because I saw that the movie was based on it, although they were really different i did enjoy both. Bliss was believale as the edgy teenager that just doesn't fit in with thepagent life, but finds her soul in derby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Addicted to Whip it

    I read the book then saw the movie! I will definaly be rereading this before anyof the rest of my books I love,love,loved the story! You sit there and root for Bliss the entire way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE THIS!

    It is so great to read a book with a character like Bliss. She is a girl who isn't going to lose herself to fit in. She realizes she is different and embraces it. I love her!

    Bliss is 16 and ever since she was young her mother had been forcing her to be in beauty pageants, but she has never been into it. So she decides to leave her small town of Bowdeen for a night to check out a roller derby game she had read about on a flyer. Turns out she loves it. This then leads to Bliss's adventure of finding herself and growing up.

    This book is just perfect. So many music references that will keep you busy for days checking them out. Now i am completely psyched to see the movie! YEAH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    A fun read

    I picked up this book only because I saw the movie. It's a fun read for any age. I'm glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3