Customer Reviews for

Whip Smart: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    An insightful memoir and an unbelievable story

    When I picked it up, I didn't think I would relate to this story, but the way the author describes her struggle in getting to know herself and coming to recognize her own self-destructive behavior did remind me of my own struggles as a teen. Despite her extreme experience, Febos is a really sympathetic (and candid) narrator: wanting to be seen as desirable, wanting short cuts to succeed and identify herself, and ultimately having to deal with the fall out. Febos is a great writer, she writes beautiful sentences. I hope she'll keep writing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    Amazing, candid, beautifully written

    How can you not get drawn into this sordid world that Melissa Febos paints with such a vibrant and honest brush? Febos does a masterful job of not only describing the physical world of the dominatrix dungeon and New York's seedy streets, but she unflinchingly exposes the soft underbelly of her emotions, psyche and addictions with achingly beautiful prose. Her journey through those addictions and ultimate recovery will keep you turning pages until the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    Powerful, Deep and Provocative

    I was moved, disgusted, inspired, and enlivened by Febos's memoir WHIP SMART. A world that I never knew more about than it existed, and now have learned from the book how many people on my commuter train might be going to a 10:30 session! It is filled with humor, sex, and a deep searching for who she is at her core, a searching that is highly courageous. We would all do better to really look and understand ourselves this deeply.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Drugs and Female Domination ... Or a Lost Soul in Manhattan

    Parts of this memoir are grim and the accounts her "work" in a dungeon sometimes make for uncomfortable reading, but I enjoyed this memoir overall, which is as much about recovering from drug addiction as it about working as a domme in New York City. In many ways, this is a very New York City kind of book in that it is dark and gritty and a little desperate. Interesting read (morbidly fascinating), which I recommend. As a satire of this subculture, I'll recommend Permanent Obscurity by Richard Perez, also about female domination and drugs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Well worth reading! Authenic!

    So many books about sex workers are just soft porn. This book is not. I really enjoyed it and although I cannot speak for the drug and alcohol recounting, I can speak for the sex worker parts. Authentic and honest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Hated it

    My book club chose this book bc it sounded interesting and different. Only one person actually finished it bc it was so slow moving and the authors attitude is so annoyingly self absorbed. I would not recommend this book about a washed up druggie wannabe dominatrix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    A paean to narcissism.

    A paean to narcissism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    YES SIR

    “Shut up, sit in the corner you piece of human scum!”
    You might ask, what is this? Well, welcome to the underground world of dominatrix. These sultry women take charge and fulfill a need in some men that seek to be dominated.
    This memoir is a fascinating peek into the world that Melissa Febos used to be a part of, one where money was no object and the insults flicker off the tongue like no one’s business.
    I think what makes Whip Smart: A Memoir worth a read is that is takes a multidimensional approach. It is more than merely enabling people to fulfill a sexual need it exposes the emotional vulnerability of the dominatrix. How quickly you can run out of insults and can be left speechless.
    The real issue in this role play is power and how quickly the tables can turn if the dominatrix does not kept a firm grip of the situation.
    I discovered the intricate dimensions of golden showers, brown showers, and the very bright ruby showers. This is a book that will lead you into the dark corners of sexual deviancy and will make you wonder what makes that conservative guy next to you get his rocks off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very...interesting...

    It was SO interesting to read about the life of a dominatrix. Not only does this book cover some of her actual sessions, but also what was going on in her personal life during her time as a dominatrix. Definitely worth a read if you want something different, but not for the faint of heart. There are some very detailed descriptions of a few sessions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Not what one would expect a memoir of a dominatrix to be

    I picked up the book anticipating Miss Febos detailing her life at the dungeon she worked at. Instead, she takes you inside her mind and journey to becoming a dominatrix and how she dealt with the job outside of the dungeon as well. The internal struggle to accept her job and balance her personal life is both twisted yet rationalized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2