BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Whipping Boy

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    My fifth grade class enjoyed this book as a read aloud.

    My fifth grade class enjoyed this book as a read aloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    This book is about a whipping boy and a prince escaping the cast

    This book is about a whipping boy and a prince escaping the castle. But after they escaped they had to escape again because as they were riding away, two guys named Hold-Your-Nose Billy and Cut-Water takes them and then they escaped from them. While they were running away they met a little girl looking for her bear. After that they went to a fair, but in the end they went back to the castle. Out of 5 stars i give this book 2 stars because it is really hard to picture it in your head. But there is a couple good parts but its really not a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    very bad book for middle school students

    t was about 2 little boys won little boy was the prince and lived in royalty and the other little boy was the whipping boy and he would get spanked if the prince was bad the prince felt bad about making him get spanked so he became friends with the little boy and they ran from the castle but they returned home latter in the book


    it was bad i really did not get the book and it did not tell you what things looked like so i could not get a good visual or a good movie in the mind and it was not very surprising and it jumped from place to place so i did not really no what i was reading about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    i recomend reading if looking for a short book

    The book ¿The Whipping Boy¿ was a book that I feel was a fun story to read. This book was about a prince that everyone thought of as prince brat. The king, prince brat¿s father, had gone out to the street to find a homeless child to give a home. But its not what you think, the living opportunity came with a twist, the twist is that the kid has to get whipped every time the prince gets in trouble or does something bad. The prince decides that he wants to run away and he brings Jemmy, the whipping, boy with him. The boys run into a couple of cutthroats that kidnap them and write a ransom note to the king. Jemmy figures out a way to escape the two cutthroats and they run away until eventually they get caught again. Eventually the king figures out where they have been held hostage. When they arrive at the castle the prince decides to give Jemmy a break and take the whipping from his father instead of watching his friend get whipped. So in conclusion I felt that the story was entertaining for a short week long book to read, I would consider giving the book a chance and reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    i liked the book

    How would you like to live in a time where you get whipped for things you did not even do? Well that's exactly what happens in The Whipping Boy by Sid Fleischman, this is a non fiction book. In this story there are two boys one named prince brat and the other Jemmy, he is a whipping boy from the sewers. A whipping boy is a kid that will get whipped instead of the prince because it's against the law to whip the prince. I liked this story because it's funny like this one time the bandits where whipping the prince and this girl Betsy and her dancing bear Petunia. Then she let the bear go and Petunia went and threw one of the bandits in a river and the other one ran of with his eyes the size of bowling balls. I would recommend this book to every one. I would recommend it for kids because its funny, but I would also recommend it to adults because it has some adult characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I heartily recommend The Whipping Boy as a read-to or read-with book for youngsters of all ages.

    My classroom library contained most of Sid Fleischman's books, which were universally enjoyed by each of my classes over many years. His stories were full of the kind of adventure tales and humor that appealed to elementary-age students - and to their teacher as well. When I retired I left my entire library as a gift to future readers.
    In memory of Sid Fleischman's recent passing I purchased The Whipping Boy (*) and reread, with pleasure, this story of a spoiled prince whose whipping boy, Jemmy, takes all the corporal punishment in the prince's stead. On the upside, curious, resourceful Jemmy gets to learn all the lessons in reading, writing and mathematics that the prince refuses to do. So when the prince runs away out of boredom, taking Jemmy with him, it's clear who will save the day. Their misadventures include a run-in with a bear and being kidnapped by outlaws whom Billy persuades to ransom the prince. Not only is Billy the only one who can write (and read), but who is going to sign the note? The prince can't even sign his own name so no one would know whether the signature is real.
    The Whipping Boy tells a story about transformation and friendship. The prince never learned anything because he didn't think there was a need to. And he had never given a thought to Jemmy's terrible situation or to his own outrageous behavior. He's shocked to find out that the entire kingdom calls him Prince Brat. Certainly his helplessness to do anything for himself, or for anyone else for that matter gets him to want to do an entire makeover. Peter Sis's lively black-and-white illustrations complement the writing.
    (*) Sadly, there was only one other Fleischman book on the shelf that was available to buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    The Whipping Boy

    The Whipping Boy is about a boy who lived on the street. He was named Jemmy. He became the whipping boy. Whenever Prince Brat got into trouble, Jemmy would have to take the punishment. Prince Brat and Jemmy ran away. While they were away from the castle they had lots of adventures and became friends. The Whipping Boy is ok. I give it 3 stars it has lots of action. The bad part is that it gets confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Awesome

    I'm a 6th grade student and this is a inspring tale of a prince and his whipping boy. Who learn to get along and the prince changes his selfish ways. I like polar bears and pandas cheese

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    this book was ok

    Fleischmann Sid, The whipping Boy, Greenwillow books, new York 1986, level 3.9 Sid Fleischmann was born in Brooklyn, New York, but grew up in California, and that is where he still lives. Sid never planned on being a writer. As a boy, he thought that all writers were dead, and he certainly did not wan to be that. so he decided to be a magician. He was a good one, too, but eventually, he got a job at a newspaper, and he discovered that he loved to tell stories. For nearly fifty years, he has been writing books and screen plays for television. in 1987, Sid won the Newbery Award for The Whipping Boy. (In 1989, his son Paul Fleischmann won the Newbery Award for Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices.) The plot involves the orphan Jemmy, who must take the whippings for the royal heir, Prince Brat. Jemmy plans to flee this arrangement until Prince Brat beats him to it, and takes Jemmy along. Jemmy then hears he's charged with the Prince's abduction When the prince arranges for their return to the palace, poor Jemmy fears the worst, but things turn out for the best . I thought this book was ok. It is a sad idea that he must suffer from the wrongs of the king¿s son. However I think it is book children would enjoy. They will enjoy reading all of the issues the two boys face and how they become friends. I doubt it is something many children will relate to unless they are in a situation similar to jimmy and are being mistreated. I think children in this age group would enjoy it and be intrigued by the mystery of what will happen in then end. ¿Ain¿t I already been Whipped twice today? GAW! What has the prince done now¿ ¿ But I¿m His royal Highness!¿ Hey kids what will happen to the two boys when they return. What will they learn from running away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Fun and engaging.

    Fleischman, Sid. The Whipping Boy. New York: Harper Collins Publishers 1986. Illustrated by Peter Sis. Prince Brat was an obstinate young man. He never did anything for himself. He even had someone, Jemmy, to take his whippings for him because a Prince could never be whipped. He would cause trouble which would ensure The Whipping Boy would get beat. ¿Ten whacks at least, good and hard, if you please¿ said the brat Prince. ¿Jemmy didn¿t bawl. He didn¿t yelp or bellow.¿ The story follows the pair through a misadventure where they get kidnapped. The boys had to be very clever to outsmart Hold-Your-Nose Billy and Cutwater by pretending to be the other person. After escaping, they return to the King and the Brat Prince convinces the King to let the Whipping Boy go. They are forever friends from that point on. This is a humorous book for grades 4th and on. Sid Fleischman was born in Brooklyn, New York. He grew up in San Diego during the Great Depression and decided to become a magician. After graduating high school, he traveled widely in vaudeville and with a midnight ghost-and-goblin show. He says, 'I was on the way to becoming a writer. I just didn't know it.' After he finished college, he worked as a reporter on the San Diego Daily Journal. He credits his children for becoming a children¿s book author. He has written more than 60 children¿s books. He earned the Newbery Medal Award for The Whipping Boy, in 1987. His son, Paul Fleischman, is a Newbery Medal winning writer and poet, author of Joyful Noise they are the only father and son to receive Newbery awards. Peter Sis is from Czechoslovakia: an illustrator for more than thirty years. His drawings are mostly pen and ink, oil pastels, or watercolors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    College Review for Class

    How would you like to be the one who got a whipping every time someone else got into trouble? In the 1987 Newbery Award children¿s book The Whipping Boy a shout comes echoing up the stairway, ¿Fetch the whipping boy!¿ A young boy named Jemmy rouses from his sleep. ¿Ain¿t I already been whipped twice today? Gaw! What¿s the prince done now?¿ It was forbidden to spank, thrash, or whack the heir to the throne and Jemmy has been plucked from the streets to serve as whipping boy to the arrogant and spiteful Prince Brat (That¿s what everyone calls him). Dreaming of running away, Jemmy finds himself trapped in Prince Brat¿s own dream of running away, and so Jemmy has no chose but to do what Prince Brat¿s tells him too. When they are kidnapped by two outlaws, Jemmy makes them think that because he can read and write, he is the Prince so the real prince and go back to the castle. But the real prince is having none of that and will not return to the castle acting as the new whipping boy. When things turn bad and the prince finds himself being the one receiving the whipping he¿¿. To find out what happens when the prince is the one getting the whipping and not Jemmy. This wonderful boy set back in the 18th century was written by Sid Fleischman. Sid Fleischman was born in Brooklyn, New York, but grew up in California, and that is where he still lives. Sid never planned on being a writer. As a boy, he thought that all writers were dead, and he certainly did not want to be that. So he decided to be a magician. He was a good one, too, but eventually, he got a job at a newspaper, and he discovered that he loved to tell stories. For nearly fifty years, he has been writing books and screen plays for television. Other books you might enjoy by this author: Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices and The Abracadabra Kid. Fleischman Sid, ¿The Whipping Boy¿, William Morrow & Company: New York, New York, 1986

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    A Great Adventure for Young Readers!!!

    The title of this book alone leaves you wondering what is a whipping boy. The author of this wonderful children¿s novel began writing novels when his children started asking questions about what he did for a living, to show them, he wrote them a book. I, along with many more am grateful for this. As I mentioned earlier this book hooked me from the time I read the title. This book is for any child that has ever wished they could behave however they wished and someone else receive the punishment. This Newbery Award winning adventure book is about a spoiled prince, Prince Brat, who forces his whipping boy, Jemmy, to runaway from the castle with him with the main theme of this book being about the friendship forged between these two and their survival on the streets. In the beginning they are enemies. You at first will hate the Prince because of comments made after Jemmy¿s whippings on his behalf such as, ¿A whipping boy is supposed to yowl like a stuffed pig! ¿It¿s not fun if you don¿t bawl!¿ (p.4) However, through their adventures with cutthroats, dancing bears, and sewers you see the transformation between the two. This is a great book that I would recommend to any young adventure seeker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    An Interesting Book for Young Readers

    The Whipping Boy is a story of adventure when young prince brat decides to run away because he is bored. He brings Jemmy his whipping boy. Jemmy is from the streets and is made to take the punishment when the prince is bad. The two boys are the total opposite of one another and they don't like each other. They switch identities which makes their adventures interesting, and through their perils they become friends. I enjoyed reading The Whipping Boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Moved to Fast

    The ideas in this book seem to jump out at the reader to quickly so they can't figure it out for themselves. The book was easy to understand but wasn't one that seemed to grab the reader's attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    The Greatest Whipping Boy

    This book is about a prince who runs away with his whipping boy. If you like kings,queens,adventure,action,and castles this is the book for you. This book is funny and great. The pictures and details in this book are just so amazing. It can capture your attention really fast. I am not going to tell you antmore about the book. It is a fantastic book. Just read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    Buy it now don't waste your time go hurry!!!!!!!!

    this was the best book ever I sure hope the prince brat learned his lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    Absolutely LOVED this book!

    I must include 'The Whipping Boy' in my list of favorite children's novels... Entertaining and FUN, funny! I originally purchased this book for my 3rd grade son (it was on his list for an extracurricular reading program he has at school). I got my hands on it first. It makes a terrific underlying point-- with two main characters, the pauper boy from the streets and the bratty prince boy-- about viewing things from different aspects, putting one's feet in another person's shoes, and 'thinking out of the box.' In the beginning neither child has respect for the other. As they are forced together on an adventurous journey of strife, they begin to broaden past their self-absorbing perspectives and ultimately discover true friendship. It has a message that overcoming life's hardships will ultimately build inner strength and promote personal growth. The boys kept pushing on through their trials, and did not give up. A very important message for children (and adults alike), not to give up. The only thing I had a little bit of trouble with this book was when the characters were speaking-- I found myself rereading to figure out who was saying what. This gave my son a bit of trouble too. I think I may read it to him... and might suggest waiting until the child is older than 8 if he is left to read it on his own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    The Whipping Boy

    I found the story to be realistic. It is about a prince and a boy from the streets. They come from different lives but through their adventures learn from each other. They learn not to take things for granted and become friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Great book, yet short

    An exellent book indeed, but it to short to get a good feeling about the book. There is no real action, just false action. I would suggest this book to someone who likes to read in a couple hours time, but if you want to read a good book, here it is!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Don't waste your time!

    If this book sounds intresting to you, BEWARE! This book is probably the worst book I have ever read; why this book recieved a Newbery Medal,I have no idea.I mean, the story line isn't too bad it's just that there is just not enough detail to make the plot come together.It skips too much information so that while your reading the story you sort of get confused, it sometimes feels like your missing a page out of the book or you accidently skipped a page. If you would like to enjoy a good book read Tangerine or Ella Enchanted -not The Whipping Boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3