Customer Reviews for

Whirl (Ondine Quartet Book 1)

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Angst, Intrigue, and Action

    Every book I have read about elementals has been phenominal; Whirl is no exception. While this wasn't a unique story line, I loved the fierceness in the characters. Kendra is independent and broken. Her mother raised her in the mortal world and taught her to fight for her life; sadly, Ondines are not meant to fight. They are meant to wield magic and sometimes that just isn't enough. Kendra's mom dies tragically, leaving Kendra alone in the mortal world...until...

    Tristan, powerful and skilled, arrives in the nick of time, escorting Kendra back to a home her mother had removed her from long ago. Kendra is from a royal line of Ondines and holds the power to change the world...just not as soon as she would like. Her mom kept numerous secrets from Kendra, leaving her angry and weary of those around her. Returning home is no easy task. Kendra knows little of the magic she possesses and will be forced to learn how to use it...and the quicker the better; however, all Kendra really wants is to be allowed to fight the Aquidae, the demon equivalent.

    I sincerely enjoyed Whirl, written in first person, you get up close and personal with Kendra's feelings. Feelings of hate, frustration, and love. The book is filled with angst, deception, and intensity. For those of you who enjoy some romance, never fear, there is plenty of that too. A fast paced read that keeps the pages turning. The characters are complex and lovable, giving you every reason to become invested in their well-being. Kendra is quick-witted and snarky, making her just my kind of heroin. The world building of Lumiere Academy and it's surroundings pulls you into another world. The only thing stopping me from giving it 5 Stars is it's lack of uniqueness in storyline.

    Whirl is definitely worth a read (or two). Emma Raveling wrote a wonderful and intriguing debut. I cannot wait to see what the rest of this series holds for us.

    *I was provided a free e-copy of Whirl by Emma Raveling in return for my honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly Recommend - A Must Read

    The first novel in the Ondine Quartet is a definite must read for anyone whp loves paranormal romance and a strong main female character. The story began a little slow, full of lingo that I didn't know or recognize but after the prologue, the story captured me and that's when the fast paced story began.

    As the novel progressed, the lingo became familiar as though I'd been reading about the Ondine and Selkies since the beginning of time. I fell in love with Tristan and experienced everything as if I was Kendra.

    For everyone who loved Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead and Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick, this novel will be the most exciting read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Whirl

    Whirl is the first book, and debut, in the Ondine Quartet series by Emma Raveling and what a debut it is.

    At the beginning I was a bit confused by all the customized terms that Raveling had used but once I read more into the story I totally became ensnared by the thrill of Julian, the taboo of Tristan, the boyish charms of Ryder and the unconditional love that comes from friendship with Chloe and Aubrey, that I soon got lost in their world. The main heroine herself, Kendra is everything that you don't want in an enemy: tough, defiant, persistent and an unlimited supply of fighting spirit.
    Now that I have gushed over the characters, let's get on with the other good stuff, the plot. My favourite thing about this book is that it's a very different, unlike anything I have come across before. The plot centers around Kendra and her role in freeing her race (water elementals) from an ancient war with the Aquidae (fire elementals) as well as irritating the hell out of her grandmother on her journey. The moments between Kendra and her grandmother, I find quite funny because if I Kendra's age and in her situation then I would be the same taking into consideration her upbringing. I think a lot of other readers would agree. With the help of her friends and some gorgeous men, Kendra starts to make a real difference in the hidden town of Haverleau and comes to realize her full potential.

    The other thing that I love about this book is the way it gets me questioning things. I am fascinated by this different, but same, world where ondines, dissondines, selkies and demillirs were a race started by a water deity. It's a bit god like in the creation but it gets me thinking about evolution. The unique virtues, hierarchy, French undertone and hidden villages have me intrigued and excited about this series and I honestly can't wait to read the next installment, 'Billow'.

    Disclaimer: I was sent this book as part of a blog tour hosted by The Bookish Snob Promotions. I have not been paid to review this book and everything I have said is of my own honest opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Highly Original and Captivating- A MUST read

    Emma Raveling's debut novel Whirl is a captivating, imaginative, enchanting, enticing, fast paced page turner.

    Whirl pulled me in from the beginning and by the last sentence of the prologue I was hooked. In Whirl, Raveling has created a highly original and spellbinding fantasy world full of charismatic characters, a thrilling story, creative fantasy elements, and some sizzling romance.

    I love how Raveling took a fantasy/mythical being- the ondine- that has not been explored much in YA books, and created such an intricate and fascinating world around it. From the detailed histories of the ondine to the governing infrastructure within Haverleau to the societal hierarchy in this community, Raveling provides so much detail, background, and development that this world she created, especially Haverleau, and the people within it, seem incredibly real and believable.

    There is a large cast of characters, all very well developed and engaging. I really love the heroine Kendra. She is one of those perfectly flawed characters that could easily demand your attention, but doesn't have to because you can't help simply giving it to her. Kendra is witty, independent, tough, clever, and compassionate, but she's also quick to judge, hasty to act and speak, and has a temper.yet, underneath her tough, hard exterior lies an insecure vulnerability. I instantly connected with Kendra and found her to be a relatable and impossible to ignore. Kendra's new friends, Chloe, Aubrey, Ryder, Cam, and Alex provide an eclectic and refreshing reprieve for both Kendra and readers alike.

    Two of the most intriguing characters are the charming Julian and the mysterious Tristan, both of whom make for very different romantic interests for Kendra. Julian is a rich, charismatic demillir (male ondine-born) who serves as a chevalier (knight or protector of the water elementals). Julian and Kendra often share witty, sarcastically insulting banter and always seem to be trying to one up each other. Julian really gets underneath Kendra's skin, but there exist an undeniable attraction and pull between the two. Scenes involving these two were always fun to read. Tristan on the other hand is a gardinel (a selkie warrior) and his job is to protect Kendra. A romance between Tristan and Kendra would be most forbidden and dangerous, but their connection is palpable. The chemistry between these two sizzles right off the page and is enticingly hot. Both men are completely swoon-worthy and I cannot wait to see how this little love triangle progresses.

    The story itself is fast paced and never boring. There were scenes that left me breathless and wanting more and scenes that took me by surprise. Raveling doesn't shy away from the realistic and vivid when it comes to the fight scenes; there's an exciting edge to the way she presents these scenes. The fantasy elements are, well, fantastic. Kendra's ondine powers are explored in such a way that I found them wickedly cool. Raveling has truly presented the world of water elements in a new, fresh way.
    MY FINAL THOUGHTS: I am always impressed when a writer can create a new, refreshing, and fantastical world that I've never imagined before, and I'm doubly impressed when I find myself longing to be back in that world hours after I've put a book down...when it comes to Whirl consider me doubly impressed. Whirl is an enchanting, fun, beautifully written novel. I will eagerly be awaiting the next book in the series. A definite MUST read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing novel that holds the reader's attention

    Reviewed by Rita V for Readers Favorite

    Whirl is the very first novel in the Ondine Quartet Series by Emma Raveling. The story begins with the illusive Kendra Irisavie, who is anything but an average teenager. She is an Ondine Water Elemental who is being hunted by vicious dark demons who are trying to wreak havoc on the Elemental World. Kendra's gift of virtue is being an empath. It is in the human world where she encounters a mysterious stranger named Tristan, who comes and takes Kendra away from her foster home and brings her to the Lumiere Academy where she can perfect her virtue, magic, fighting skills and battle maneuvers in preparation for the war against the Aquidae demons. She must struggle to stay true to herself and embrace her destiny while facing a dangerous world and forbidden romance. Will Kendra be able to defy true love and save the elemental world from the Aquidae?

    Whirl is a very complex and intriguing novel that holds the reader's attention and keeps it until the very end. Emma Raveling does not disappoint in this novel and uses her intuitive imagination to take us to the depths of the Elemental World and back. She delivers a powerful fantasy story entwined with danger, romance and action. Emma does a great job in depicting great depth in her characters, settings and plot. The chapters flow along nicely and the use of descriptive and supernatural wording was brilliantly done. I found myself truly engaged in this thrilling novel and could hardly set it down. It kept me at the edge of my seat with its edginess, twists, turns and fantasy adventure. This novel is for the older teenage and adult audience since it does contain mild sexual content and strong language. I am excited to read more of Emma Raveling's Ondine Quartet Series and can easily see this story in films or a television series; much like the Twilight Series, but very different and unique in its own right.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!!!!!!!!!++!!!!!!!!!!!!!+!!!!+++++++!!++!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I dont know why anyone would say that this book is terrible because its really not . In fact , it is one of my new favorite books in the whole wide world! Its a perfect blend of romance, fantasy and action. Totally an amazing read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Loved it!

    I can't wait for the next book! Great world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    loved it

    This one actually sort of reminded me of Vampire Academy. Anyway, it was good, can't wait for the next release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Fantastic

    I was happy to dive into a book that was completely unique in it's own way. I haven't read a book of this caliber since Vampire Academy (school of gifted students, forbidden love between teacher/student, and a cool tough heroin). Can't wait for the second installment "Billow" to come out ^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Loved it!!!!

    I cant wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    awesome!

    It was a very good book. It was kinda slow at first, but it started to get batter as it went and now I cant wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    Very good book! Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    If you're a fan of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, or Half-Blo

    If you're a fan of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, or Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout, then I think you might really like Whirl. They are all very similar in style and even story line, yet each have their own flares and originality based on the author’s strengths.

    Now, to be fair. Whirl actually came out at the same time Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Half-Blood did, give or take a month depending on the publication site you peruse, but due to different marketing and publishing houses, Half-Blood took off as Whirl remained lesser known. However, they are virtually one in the same, which makes me believe both were modeled off of Vampire Academy, which came out in 2007. But in the end, does it really matter? If the characters have different abilities, personalities, and issues, does it matter if the plotline is similar to other novels? Some are going to say “yes, definitely,” but I’ve found that, for me, it all depends on the author and how they spin their story. Personally, I enjoyed Half-Blood just as much as I enjoyed Whirl, but I distinctly disliked Vampire Academy, which I read a very long time ago (and probably need to re-read). And the reason for this is that they’re all different in their own rights, with different elements, be they vampire, deamon, or ondine, and the mythology surrounding them all is what gives the books their own originality (along with author flare and the ability to write).

    Whirl focuses on the ondine—water elementals and selkies—a group I’ve never read about until now, and it was really interesting to learn all about this group of people. And I love novels about elementals, so it is no surprise that I really enjoyed this novel, regardless of it’s similarities to others I have read. Raveling gives her story life through her own words, and I really liked both Kendra and Tristan, especially as their worlds collided and the tensions mounted. Filled with intense scenes and non-stop action, Whirl grabbed my attention from the very beginning and I found myself wrapped up in Kendra’s life. The characterization was realistic and, though Kendra can definitely be a bit annoying at times, I see a little of myself in her, and so I was able to bond with her and her antics right away. She’s a free spirit set on fighting for those she loves, and I loved that she didn’t back down from a fight, regardless of danger.

    Reader beware, there are tons of terms and names in this novel that you’ve most likely never heard of before. Luckily, the text explains it fairly well, but there’s also a glossary in the back for those of us who need it (like me) to keep everyone and everything straight, because there are a lot to remember.

    Overall, I personally enjoyed this novel. But if you’re adverse to similar plotlines and you’ve read either Vampire Academy or Half-Blood, then you may want to skip this one. On the reverse, if you haven’t read either of those other novels, then pick up Whirl novel stat and check out the awesomeness that is the ondine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    New favorite book!

    Sucks you in full of actuion and just the right amount of rebellion! It is siimilar to the vampire academy series but different at the same time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2