Customer Reviews for

Whirlwind Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    GOOD READ

    REALLY A DIFFERENT STORY LINE FOR THIS WRITER. UTILIZES PSYCHIC POWERS IN HER FEMALE HEROINE CHARACTER. STORY LINE ADAQUATE WITH PARTIAL PREDICTABILITY AND PART SURPRISE. ANY BOOK WORTH THE READ FROM THIS AUTHOR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Entertaining...

    This is my first book of Jacquie D' Alessandro and certainly not the last. In fact, I am now in the process of reading RED ROSES MEAN LOVE. Elizabeth and Austin are lovely couple. I did enjoy their character as well as their romantic story. The mystery/action twist of this book is intriguing. The secondary character's are also an added spice. Overall, Whirlwind Wedding is fast paced, filled with humor, romance and exciting turns. The reason why I didn't rate this book a five stars is cu'z of a small personal preferences. Every now and then, I do enjoy seers, visions, magics and etc on my books especially if the time setting is in the medieval ages. However, I am not much of paranormal regencies (18th century). I didn't particularly favor the heroine's gift of vision. I guess you can say in this instance, I prefer the element of surprise. I didn't appreciate Elizabeth knowing what Austin's thinking. There are cute moments but I still prefer surprises. I wanted more excitement and tension between them. Also, the ending was a wee bit lacking for me. Perhaps it's cuz I was looking forward to read William's homecoming. The added surprise of Josette and Claudine to the family would have been a grand and heart warming ending. Also, I wanted so much to read a bit more of Miles and Caroline. Oh well, like I said, these are just small niggle of my own preferences. Overall, this book is entertaining and a charming read. I would love to read Robert's story, if Jacquie D' Alessandro would create a novel just for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    American beauty meets dutiful Duke.......

    Setting: England 1816 Austin Randolph Jamison, ninth Duke of Bradford had to protect his family's good name but he has been receiving blackmail letters telling of his brother William, a deceased war hero, betrayed his country. During a ball for his sister Caroline at his country estate he stumbles into a charming American, Elizabeth Matthews. When she touches his hand she tells him two things, his brother isn't dead and that he wanted to kiss her. Austin is intrigued by Elizabeth and decides to keep a close watch on her while she is a guest in his home. Elizabeth Matthews has a gift, she can see visions when she touches people and objects. When she touched the Duke she could tell he wanted to kiss her and he was upset about the death of his brother, whom she see as alive. She is taller and a bit clumsier than the normal petite lady in society and she was raised by her British parents in America, which labels her a 'Colonial Upstart' to members of the Ton. When Elizabeth warns Austin, after one of her visions, not to ride out in a storm because he will be in danger, he ignores her warning. Elizabeth wakens shaken from a vision of Austin laying hurt and bleeding. She finds him then nurses his wounds but falls asleep in his arms and is later found in a compromising position that forces them to marry. After they marry they become a very close and passion couple until a vision of the future frightens Elizabeth into lying to Austin about her true feelings for him. WHIRLWIND WEDDING has some of the best dialogue between a hero and heroine that I've read in a long while. They had a mud fight that was hilarious and when returning to the house Austin's sister ask, 'Had an accident?' And the prim and proper Duke of Bradford replies 'No thank you. We've already had one.' There was a tiny misunderstanding and a short separation but with the paranormal to help solve the mystery this was a great read. The only thing I was disappointed with was the rush romance of Miles and Caroline, I would have love to see them in a future book. Elizabeth is fun, witty, and intelligent while Austin is romantic and sexy. This book is on my keeper shelf. Debbie Gilbert

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    Wonderful Read!

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book! It is a wonderful sweet love story and exciting thriller. The characters are all well-rounded and interesting. We have a dashing hero and a delightfully quirky heroine (with a propensity for seeing the future)! It is nice to see a different, fun relationship develop and grow, change and be challenged. It also has an intriguing mystery to be solved. I look forward to more from this new author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting Regency romance

    In 1816 England, Austin Jamison, the Duke of Bradford, feels very alone in spite of hosting an event attended by over two hundred aristocrats. All Austin can think of is hiding the truth behind the death of his brother William, an alleged war hero at Waterloo, from his family and the Ton. William apparently was dealing with the French. He suddenly feels the weight of the world upon him and goes out to the gardens for air where he meets outspoken American expatriate Elizabeth Matthews, the niece of the Countess of Penbroke. <P>Suddenly, Elizabeth tells him that his sibling still lives as she has just seen a vision of him. Austin thinks Elizabeth is a charlatan, but wonders if his sibling could have been a traitor and therefore not even contacted his family. As she and her aunt are his houseguests for the next few weeks, Austin plans to learn the truth from her. Though he suspects her duplicity, he falls in love with her even as her visions place them in danger from unknown but perilous enemies. <P>WHIRLWIND WEDDING is an enchanting Regency romance with a touch of otherworldly elements that actually blends into the action-packed story line. The lead characters are a warm duet carrying baggage that leaves little room for love. The suspense grows with each foretelling that Elizabeth provides. Fans of the sub-genre will gain much pleasure from Jacquie D¿Alessandro¿s exciting historical romance that has a bit of a twist. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1