BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Whisper (Boston Police/FBI Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    LOVED THIS SERIES!

    I absolutely love this series set in Ireland. The characters are full and wonderful and the mood and setting pull you right into the wonderful mystery woven so intricately. Carla Neggers is the master of thrillers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    A Page-Turner

    Originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com*****Whether love-at-first-sight, fairy dust, or whatever; it changes Scoop Wisdom's life, when Sophie Malone appears at the old ruins in Ireland where Scoop lingers. They both feel a connection that has nothing to do with a mutual acquaintance that had a near-death experience at the ruins.

    The Whisper switches from Ireland to Boston repeatedly as Scoop and Sophie dodge would-be assailants and work to solve the mystery of the terrifying night Sophie spent in a cave on a small Irish island. They need to find out how it ties to theft, arson, and murder.

    Amid an abundance of secondary characters, Scoop, a detective for internal affairs for the Boston Police Department, and Sophie, an archaeologist, tiptoe around their emerging love as they search for answers. Tension runs high at times. They are both at a crossroads in their lives.

    Two of the secondary characters Myles Fletcher and Josie create their own heated love story as they help Scoop and Sophie unravel a tangle of events that are fueled by greed.

    Even though the secondary are somewhat distracting at times, Carla Neggers enhances The Whisper with beautiful description and subtle humor while creating twists and turns that keep the reader eagerly turning pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    Powerful, Intriguing, and adventurous!

    THE WHISPER BY CARLA NEGGERS is a delightful, adventurous, romantic suspense thriller set in modern day Ireland and America. It is well written with depth and details. It has a lot of information in reference to ancient Irish folklore, legend and artifacts. It is the sequal to The Mist. It has romance, suspense, ancient rituals, forklore, legend, lost artifacts, adventure, intrigue and some sweet sensuality. It is about a diabolical screme using ancient Irish rituals to gain power and success. The hero is an Internal Affair officer, who was wounded a few months earlier due to a bomb blast. He is strong, intelligent, a force to reckon with and travels to Ireland to recuperate. The heroine is an archeologist who is out to find the truth, she was left for dead in a cave in Ireland. These two meet in Ireland by accident and there is love at first sight. They go back to the USA to their jobs, where fate or fairies are at work and put the two together. They together with the help of others find the truth. The secondary characters are just as inspiring. We see romance and love come together between several of the characters. This is a fast paced, page turning story. A must read and a keeper. I would recommend this book, especially if you enjoy intrigue, suspense, myth and legends. This book was received for review from, Net Galley and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Mira Books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful romantic suspense thriller

    The bomb in Ireland almost killed Boston detective Cyrus "Scoop" Wisdom. As he recuperates he meets archaeologist Sophie Malone, who had been left for dead in a cave filled with blood and lacking the ancient Celtic treasure, which brought her there. They are attracted to one another.

    However, when he returns to Boston, Scoop searches for the bomber. When his prime suspect kills himself, he relooks at Sophie, who found the corpse hanging in a ritual suicide. She traced the missing treasure to Boston. Scoop looks deeper into the alleged suicide and begins to theorize the culprit faked a death while hoping his trust in Sophie proves right. With her help with interpreting the archaic clues, he begins anew his search for the bomber who tries to kill the woman he is falling in love with.

    Following up with the explosive The Mist, The Whisper is a powerful romantic suspense thriller starring two delightful lead protagonists who fell in love at first sight in an ancient Irish ruin. The story line is fast-paced throughout as each uses their detecting skills to search for a diabolical serial killer using ancient rituals to either conceal avarice or for something sinisterly arcane. Readers will enjoy accompanying the lead couple, as they argue, fuss and kiss during their suspenseful investigation.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Recommended

    A must read. Carla has done it again, created a story and takes us along for the ride

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great suspense

    Enjoy the continuing changes in the work of this writer. She is doing a great job with the continuance of the characrers. Love FBI books with the great characterization andexcellent plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One year ago, archeologist Sophie Malone spent a terrifying nigh

    One year ago, archeologist Sophie Malone spent a terrifying night alone
    in a cave on a remote Irish island. Instead of finding Celtic treasure
    she fought for her life. And now she discovers her incident bears a
    striking resemblance to a recent case. Her search for missing gold
    artifacts leads her to Boston, where she meets Scoop Wisdom. The cop was
    still recovering from his injuries after nearly being killed in an
    explosion at his home. As the attraction builds, they uncover ritual
    killings, and everyone is a suspect. And it seems the killings have just
    begun. Neggers' fans will recognize Scoop and secondary characters from
    previous books, starting with The Widow, and so on. I, myself, couldn't
    wait for Scoop's story. More than the romance, mystery, and
    action--which this book in no way lacked-- is the way Neggers is able to
    transport the reader from a page to the Irish coast and back again. You
    can almost hear the waves, the Irish lilt, or see the fairies. I was
    lost from page one. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Very good book from page 1. Carla Neggers does not disappoint the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    I love this series!

    I have a graduate degree in archaeology and found the character of Sophie Malone to be quite relatable as well as enjoyable. I love the setting of Ireland and America, and the way Neggers weaves together folklore, myth, and artifacts with suspense and intrigue. What I love the most, though, is the rich tapestry of characters that fill the pages! I also love how the books are connected -- it's not really necessary to read them in order to fully enjoy each, but it's so fun finding the backstory on characters in each book. Thanks for a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    This book is a Hugh waste of time!

    It has no plot and nothing you want to remember about it at all. I forced myself to finish it only because I was on vacation. I have read other books by this author so I have no idea how this one went so wrong.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Disappointed...

    Cannot suggest this book, even for a rainy day, despite the fact that I typically enjoy Ms. Neggers' novels. Have struggled for 3 weeks now to finish this book, and I'm a book every 2-days type reader. Hoping she's got better plans for the next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Dissappointed

    I like Carla Neggers books, but this was difficult to read. It depended too much on having read the previous book, with too many characters and no background on their connection. I finished the book with difficulty. I read a lot of books and the plot in this one just seemed to be lacking something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Carla Neggers Strikes Gold Again!

    This continuation of the series begun in The Widow improves on it's predecessors which is hard to do. Carla Neggers strikes a perfect balance between character and plot, emotion and action. Sophie Malone finds a Celtic treasure on a remote Irish island but it disappears and she is left stranded on that island. A year later she is still haunted by that and is suspicious that it was connected somehow to recent violence in Boston. Enter Scoop Wisdom, a Boston detective recovering from wounds received in that violence. Soon the bomb that almost destroyed his home and could have killed his friends isn't the only source of sparks. Together, along with other characters encountered from earlier books, they put the puzzle together as well as themselves. The Whisper has Neggers' trademark depth of emotion and crackling suspense and puts them all together with the greatest effect. The characters are well-drawn and memorable and the plot is engaging and exciting. And Neggers' prose style ranks with the best out there. A great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Left me waiting for more whispers

    I am a Carla Neggers fan and have loved everything she has done; however, this one did not live up to my expectations. The plot left a little to be desired and the characters were not connected. There was a lot of reference to characters from previous books, but the main characters in this book lacked excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Whisper

    I say I found Sophie a bit interesting as a celtic archaeologist. She has some moments where she can be funny yet charming and blunt at the same time. Then there is Scoop who is a Boston internal affairs detective who was inured during a bomb. He went to Ireland to relax for a few weeks when he ran into Sophie. Was it a coincidence they met in Ireland? Maybe it was a coincidence they were on the same flight back to Boston. Scoop thinks she has something to hide and she is trying her best to keep her secrets to herself and find out what she can that is bothering her. Scoop is trying to figure out who planted the bomb that about killed him and his friends maybe Sophie's secrets are part of it. They begin working together so to speak and things start to happen not to mention falling for each other. They work out their secrets to reveal who the person was who caused all the problems from the bombing to the present. I have to say I was shocked to learn who it was. It took to the end of the book to figure it out. Those are the books I love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4