Customer Reviews for

Whisper

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

Right from the very first page, I devoured this book till the very end. If one power I would love to have, the ability to hear one thoughts I would want. There are so many elements in this book that really hooked me as the reader and did not let me go.

The main chara...
Right from the very first page, I devoured this book till the very end. If one power I would love to have, the ability to hear one thoughts I would want. There are so many elements in this book that really hooked me as the reader and did not let me go.

The main character of this book, Joy is a perfectly written character. Things are hidden from her right from the start, so she quickly learns that all she knows are lies. I loved that Joy took matters into her owns hands to find out what is really happening. She is much stronger than what she gives herself credit for. And she is selfless. Even when hearing such bad thoughts, she did more for others than herself.

I also enjoyed the progression of her powers. I really love how Ms. Kitanidis, showed the reader her powers grow. The reader is taken back by the immense power that Joy carriers within herself. When her full power is finally out, I like how the reader is too bombarded with thoughts everywhere. Ms. Kitanidis, really made the reader feel the story as well as the feeling of being in it. The love interest is also great! I am really happy that Joy found someone to confine in. With all those thoughts flowing through her mind, its great to have her find some peace.

This book blew me away, that I need more! I can't wait to see what Ms. Kitanidis writes next. The characters, plot line, all elements in the book really made for a fast entertaining read. What to really get into someone's head? Then read this book!

posted by BooksWithBite on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

2 Star

Cover. The cover is weird and I did not understand the point before or after reading the book. It seems to me that the girls head is floating in space with these weird smoke stuff that forces half of her face off of the frame. I don't get the smoke. It reminds me of cig...
Cover. The cover is weird and I did not understand the point before or after reading the book. It seems to me that the girls head is floating in space with these weird smoke stuff that forces half of her face off of the frame. I don't get the smoke. It reminds me of cigarettes and although there are some smoking and drug use I don't really see why it was put on the cover the way it is.


Plot. The summary that is given does not really describe the book that well to me. The first two-thirds of the novel is almost a completely different novel than the last third and even though it is the last that is described in the summary I found myself liking the first portion better. Joy can hear people's desires. In the beginning it is only the surface ones that she hears and she can't stop herself from giving in to the desires of the people around her. I absolutely loved the first half. There was so much promise and I really wanted to learn more about the Whispers and how they work. Joy seemed to knowledgeable about them and because her sister was so rude to everyone I found the fact the Joy always went to her mother less strange than I would have under other circumstances. Yet very suddenly everyone changes personality and we are given flashbacks to convince us that they have always been that way. Her friends up until now had been portrayed as an average group of friends are suddenly the popular crowd. The A-List of the entire school and yet they are only in their freshmen year. While I loved the beginning I found that the end of the book just did not keep my attention and I became so very annoyed with how the book ended. It had so much potential and I feel as if I have been let down. Yet I don't regret picking up this book because the premise was so interesting and the author has such promise that I might even read the second book in the series. If there actually is one because to be honest while so many sites said that this was the first book I could not find anything about a second one.


Characters. I didn't have a favorite character because I did not really like any of them. Joy was shunned by her entire family and than they all had the gall to act like it was her fault for not knowing things. I especially despised how whenever the dad talked to her he would only talk about his work and never even tried to get to know Joy. I could not like Joy because of her lobotomy half-way through. I could not like Jessica because she was barely actually in the book. I think that she had a total of three actual scenes that were in the present and the rest were in flashbacks. The book was supposed to be about Joy saving Jessica or Icka as she is called but she is barely in it and Joy only finds out that Icka is missing after a little over 200 pages in. That left 40 pages for Joy to think about doing something, 30 pages for her to do something, and 10 pages for the resolution. So not enough.


Recommend? Yes

posted by RebeccaNaomi on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    2 Star

    Cover. The cover is weird and I did not understand the point before or after reading the book. It seems to me that the girls head is floating in space with these weird smoke stuff that forces half of her face off of the frame. I don't get the smoke. It reminds me of cigarettes and although there are some smoking and drug use I don't really see why it was put on the cover the way it is.


    Plot. The summary that is given does not really describe the book that well to me. The first two-thirds of the novel is almost a completely different novel than the last third and even though it is the last that is described in the summary I found myself liking the first portion better. Joy can hear people's desires. In the beginning it is only the surface ones that she hears and she can't stop herself from giving in to the desires of the people around her. I absolutely loved the first half. There was so much promise and I really wanted to learn more about the Whispers and how they work. Joy seemed to knowledgeable about them and because her sister was so rude to everyone I found the fact the Joy always went to her mother less strange than I would have under other circumstances. Yet very suddenly everyone changes personality and we are given flashbacks to convince us that they have always been that way. Her friends up until now had been portrayed as an average group of friends are suddenly the popular crowd. The A-List of the entire school and yet they are only in their freshmen year. While I loved the beginning I found that the end of the book just did not keep my attention and I became so very annoyed with how the book ended. It had so much potential and I feel as if I have been let down. Yet I don't regret picking up this book because the premise was so interesting and the author has such promise that I might even read the second book in the series. If there actually is one because to be honest while so many sites said that this was the first book I could not find anything about a second one.


    Characters. I didn't have a favorite character because I did not really like any of them. Joy was shunned by her entire family and than they all had the gall to act like it was her fault for not knowing things. I especially despised how whenever the dad talked to her he would only talk about his work and never even tried to get to know Joy. I could not like Joy because of her lobotomy half-way through. I could not like Jessica because she was barely actually in the book. I think that she had a total of three actual scenes that were in the present and the rest were in flashbacks. The book was supposed to be about Joy saving Jessica or Icka as she is called but she is barely in it and Joy only finds out that Icka is missing after a little over 200 pages in. That left 40 pages for Joy to think about doing something, 30 pages for her to do something, and 10 pages for the resolution. So not enough.


    Recommend? Yes

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Right from the very first page, I devoured this book till the very end. If one power I would love to have, the ability to hear one thoughts I would want. There are so many elements in this book that really hooked me as the reader and did not let me go.

    The main character of this book, Joy is a perfectly written character. Things are hidden from her right from the start, so she quickly learns that all she knows are lies. I loved that Joy took matters into her owns hands to find out what is really happening. She is much stronger than what she gives herself credit for. And she is selfless. Even when hearing such bad thoughts, she did more for others than herself.

    I also enjoyed the progression of her powers. I really love how Ms. Kitanidis, showed the reader her powers grow. The reader is taken back by the immense power that Joy carriers within herself. When her full power is finally out, I like how the reader is too bombarded with thoughts everywhere. Ms. Kitanidis, really made the reader feel the story as well as the feeling of being in it. The love interest is also great! I am really happy that Joy found someone to confine in. With all those thoughts flowing through her mind, its great to have her find some peace.

    This book blew me away, that I need more! I can't wait to see what Ms. Kitanidis writes next. The characters, plot line, all elements in the book really made for a fast entertaining read. What to really get into someone's head? Then read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lesley for TeensReadToo.com

    Joy receives a message from her sister, Icka, that something bad is going to happen on her birthday. But Icka is always horrible to Joy on her birthday, so she chooses to ignore her.

    When it does happen, Joy wants to know what's happening to her and why. Unfortunately, no one is willing to give her an answer.

    Within a matter of days she has two crushes, finds out her friends might not really be friends, her mom that she trusted is not who she thinks she is, and her sister might be on to something bigger than both of them could imagine.

    Joy finds herself on the run with a boy she hardly knows, looking for a sister she barely acknowledges. What will they find and how does Joy know where she's going?

    I really enjoyed this book: the twists were surprising and the suspense had me so anxious I couldn't put it down. Joy really shined after her birthday, and the love interest was an extra bonus for the story I didn't see coming.

    Can't wait for the next in the series - I will definitely be reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Hold on...

    It says deepest, darkest desires. So someone's "deepest, darkest desire" is a cup of coffee....?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I thought this book was an ok read. The plot was really slow mov

    I thought this book was an ok read. The plot was really slow moving.I was so tempted to put the book down and stop reading it, but I managed to read it all in one siting.It was until the last 40 or 50 pages that grasped my attention. Mainly close to the end the story takes a drastic turn and starts getting interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Its a teen book

    Its a teen book 14 and up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Age?

    Does anbody who read the book have a idea an the age group? Please respond!! (:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Ok

    Not the best book, kind of bland, but really not horrible....bad ending though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whisper

    I liked Whisper. The only thing that angered me is that it moved sorta slow for me, so I kept putting it aside to read other books.
    I related to the sisterly 'bond', since I don't always get along to well with my own sisters, but just like Joy, I know I'd do anything to help them. Joy sets everything aside to go to Icka's aid: she lies to her parents, steals a car with a boy she barely knows who has a secret of his own --and she struggles with this Hearing that gets on her nerves and in her head in the most random places. That's probably what I liked most about the book: How the seemingly most 'perfect' girl comes to the rescue rather than sitting at home and fulfilling everyone's wishes (which is...interesting, in my opinion).
    Phoebe Kitanidis is a new voice I think I'm going to be following along the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Unique Paranormal Story

    Joy's ability has always been a positive factor in her life. She uses it to help those around her, and tends to heard fairly shallow Whispers (thoughts). Unlike her older sister, Icka, she has a group of friends, and is on good terms with their mother. Icka, on the other hand, haters her power. She hears the negative Whispers. The self-conscious, jealous, or angry thoughts of the people around her. This has led her to loathe her ability, and to distance herself from everyone. Joy often feels that Icka is trying to ruin her life, and at first it seems that she is. Icka gets in the way of her friendships, and keeps warning her that her power is going to cause her problems. At the start of the book, I thought Joy was right. Upon reading more, I realized that it was more complicated than that.

    What I most enjoyed about this book was the relationship between joy and Icka. While at first I thought Icka genuinely hated Joy, it became apparent that she was only trying to protect her. As an older sister, I can understand the mindset Icka was in when she thought that making her sister miserable would help her. Despite this, when Joy hears Icka's frightening Whisper, she knows she has to help her. I know that if the situation had been reversed, Icka would have dropped everything to help Joy, too.

    I was torn about Joy's character as I started the book. She used her power to help others, but sometimes it was at the expense of her own feelings and choices. For example, the loner Jamie leaves her a flower on her birthday (sweet, right?), but she ends up throwing it away because her friends don't approve. She is able to hear some negative Whispers about him, and she would rather her friends be happy. Despite this, proving that Jamie is a nice guy, she hears him Whisper that he just wants her to be happy.

    The beginning of the book is slow. It's completely dedicated to introducing the characters, and what Whispers are. By the time the action started, I couldn't imagine how everything could wrap up in the pages I had left. When the action started, however, it really picked up! I don't think I set the book down at all once I hit the last third of the story, because I had to know what happened. The ending also left some things open, but Kitanidis is working a sequel, according to her Goodreads page.

    Overall, I enjoyed the unique premise, despite the slow start, once the action picked up I couldn't put it down. There are also a few questions I'm looking forward to having answered in the sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whisper is a great teen read!

    What if you could hear everyone's secret desires? Joy is getting used to it. Her life is predictable, running with the popular crowd, she has figured out a way to use her ability for good. The only thorn in her side is her older sister Jessica, who always finds the down side to everything and makes Joy's life miserable.

    When her ability starts to change and she receives a strange message from Jessica, Joy has to decide how she will use her newly developed talents. Add in a boy with some dark secrets of his own and you have a total page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2