Customer Reviews for

Whisper Cape (Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic ride through small town life ¿ with a twist. Susan

A fantastic ride through small town life … with a twist.

Susan Griscom's Whisper Cape - first in the Whisper Cape series - takes readers on a fantastic ride through small town life … with a twist.

The small town of Whisper Cape would have drawn me in with its ambiance...
A fantastic ride through small town life … with a twist.

Susan Griscom's Whisper Cape - first in the Whisper Cape series - takes readers on a fantastic ride through small town life … with a twist.

The small town of Whisper Cape would have drawn me in with its ambiance alone. Fog rolling in off the ocean, long winding roads along cliffs, small town where pretty much everyone knows who you are. It’s the kind of town where you expect everyone to know everyone else’s business but also where secrets flourish. And that atmosphere just adds to the suspense from the start. Griscom drops here readers right into the thick of suspense with Addison MacKenna’s nightmares and continues pulling them in with the strange deaths of local women. From the start I was quietly asking my kindle “what is up with this town?”.

Having only recently returned to Whisper Cape after her father’s sudden and brutal death, Addison finds herself at the heart of many mysterious occurrences. A man she thought she hit with her truck vanishes from the scene. Her nightmares get more intense. And newfound, inexplicable abilities are making themselves known. It’s only when she finds her vanishing man that Addison is able to start facing the changes and obstacles in her life.

Add in a secret society and you get Cael Sheridan. Cael is the living definition of an arrogant bad boy when you first meet him. He’s looking to protect the daughter of his murdered mentor but finds himself pulled even further into her world than he ever expected. As he tries to protect her from a malevolent force looking for her, Cael struggles to find that happy medium between sheltering her and allowing her to become who she is meant to be. Fate likes to play with people and Cael and Addison are no exceptions.

Despite all of its paranormal happenings, the town seems like somewhere you would want to get lost in for a long weekend. Everything Griscom described I could envision. I could feel the fog rolling over me, the sand between my toes on the beach and my heart raced right along with Addison’s.

Though a few peripheral characters have a tendency to come across as a little flat, it’s easily forgiven as they serve their purpose and the story continues. The main characters have enough substance to become real for the reader. You jump when they jump, your heart races with theirs and you find yourself yelling at them quietly (while riding the train) to just say what needs to be said because you want them to find what they’re looking for. (The yelling on the train may just be me, but you get the picture.)

I pride myself on being able to figure out what’s happening in a book before the author reveals it, but Griscom was able to pull one over on me. I never predicted just how the story would end (though looking back on it I can see what I missed but that just goes to show you how well she developed her story).

The twists and turns through Whisper Cape are amazingly navigated by this talented author and I am more than ready to follow Addison down whatever rabbit hole she finds next.

posted by A-Year-In-Books on June 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lovely story for the ptice!

It was a easy read.I think it took to long for the buildup of who she was. It was a short ending for the buildup.

posted by 7140747 on June 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    A fantastic ride through small town life ¿ with a twist. Susan

    A fantastic ride through small town life … with a twist.

    Susan Griscom's Whisper Cape - first in the Whisper Cape series - takes readers on a fantastic ride through small town life … with a twist.

    The small town of Whisper Cape would have drawn me in with its ambiance alone. Fog rolling in off the ocean, long winding roads along cliffs, small town where pretty much everyone knows who you are. It’s the kind of town where you expect everyone to know everyone else’s business but also where secrets flourish. And that atmosphere just adds to the suspense from the start. Griscom drops here readers right into the thick of suspense with Addison MacKenna’s nightmares and continues pulling them in with the strange deaths of local women. From the start I was quietly asking my kindle “what is up with this town?”.

    Having only recently returned to Whisper Cape after her father’s sudden and brutal death, Addison finds herself at the heart of many mysterious occurrences. A man she thought she hit with her truck vanishes from the scene. Her nightmares get more intense. And newfound, inexplicable abilities are making themselves known. It’s only when she finds her vanishing man that Addison is able to start facing the changes and obstacles in her life.

    Add in a secret society and you get Cael Sheridan. Cael is the living definition of an arrogant bad boy when you first meet him. He’s looking to protect the daughter of his murdered mentor but finds himself pulled even further into her world than he ever expected. As he tries to protect her from a malevolent force looking for her, Cael struggles to find that happy medium between sheltering her and allowing her to become who she is meant to be. Fate likes to play with people and Cael and Addison are no exceptions.

    Despite all of its paranormal happenings, the town seems like somewhere you would want to get lost in for a long weekend. Everything Griscom described I could envision. I could feel the fog rolling over me, the sand between my toes on the beach and my heart raced right along with Addison’s.

    Though a few peripheral characters have a tendency to come across as a little flat, it’s easily forgiven as they serve their purpose and the story continues. The main characters have enough substance to become real for the reader. You jump when they jump, your heart races with theirs and you find yourself yelling at them quietly (while riding the train) to just say what needs to be said because you want them to find what they’re looking for. (The yelling on the train may just be me, but you get the picture.)

    I pride myself on being able to figure out what’s happening in a book before the author reveals it, but Griscom was able to pull one over on me. I never predicted just how the story would end (though looking back on it I can see what I missed but that just goes to show you how well she developed her story).

    The twists and turns through Whisper Cape are amazingly navigated by this talented author and I am more than ready to follow Addison down whatever rabbit hole she finds next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Lovely story for the ptice!

    It was a easy read.I think it took to long for the buildup of who she was. It was a short ending for the buildup.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Good

    Enjoyed this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Loved it!

    Great read 288 pages..ending was a bit of a shocker..definatley didn`t see it coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Ok

    Fun read but a little ditsy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    My Initial Reaction...  I don't read a lot of mystery, because I

    My Initial Reaction... 
    I don't read a lot of mystery, because I don't like books (or shows, really) that feel super procedural. But every now and then I'll find one that merges with fantasy (which I love) and I'll give it a shot. Whisper Cape was the perfect blend of mystery and paranormal romance for this girl! 




    The Narration... 
    I've been discovering a lot of new narrators lately and I'm adding Shelly Baldiga to my list of fun ones. Some of the male voices felt a little over accented, as if that was the only way she could make them both male and different, by adding an accent, but it imbued the characters with personality, perhaps beyond what I would have found in reading the book alone. Her female voices felt spot on and the pacing was just right. The villain's voice was definitely over the top, but it didn't bother me, it just made me laugh a little. So not a flawless reading, but overall an enjoyable one. 




    The Characters... 
    Whisper Cape is told primarily from the point of view of Addison and Cael, though we also get a few glimpses from Darcy's point of view and even once from Idolan (the villian). I really enjoyed the way Susan used the different points of view, sometimes retelling short pieces before moving forward to really give you a dynamic view of the events. It never felt like too much or got confusing, as can often happen for me with multiple voices. 




    I really liked Addison - or Addie, as everyone called her. When we meet her she's struggling to deal with the loss of her father and isn't happy with everyone's conclusion that his death was an accident. She's determined he was murdered and wants to solve his murder, though she clearly isn't sure how. And then Cael shows up, literally just appears and then disappears in front of her truck while she's driving to work. Besides scaring her half to death, he sets things in motion, including Addie's discovery of who she is and her father really was. Addie really struggles with her new found abilities - both adjusting to their existence and learning how to use them, and I loved that. I can't stand it when someone discovers they have abilities and are just naturally amazing at them. So Addie's struggle was refreshing. 




    One of the things I liked most about Addie was that she let herself be irritated with Cael. We are dealing with a bit of insta-love here and it went a bit over the top for me, honestly. It's the main reason I'm giving Whisper Cape four stars instead of five. But, Addie at least doesn't see Cael as some perfect creature, she finds him frequently annoying and calls him on it. I agree with Addie, Cael can be a bit annoying. He's got a bit of an ego and a hero complex. Mostly, that didn't bother me, though at times I did want him to get over himself. I also wasn't thrilled with the very predictable romance scenario where he loves her instantly, but doesn't want to believe it, realizes that maybe she'd be safer if they weren't a couple so sends her away (in very mean fashion, of course) and then (at that very moment) realizes that he loves her. It did help, I guess, to add some tension to the insta-love, but in such a predictable way that it wasn't very exciting. Other than that, I liked Cael and thought he was very likeable (though not really book boyfriend material, IMO). 




    I also really liked the supporting characters. I kind of felt that Darcy's point of view, though it worked for the story great, was weird in that we don't really get to know her that well. She just didn't develop much beyond the surface level, which was a girl consumed by pain because the only man she ever loved cheated on her and she's trying to get over it. The supporting characters I would have loved to get inside the heads of are Maya and Jerry - Addie's aunt and her long-time boyfriend. We see a lot of them throughout and I loved them both. Jerry is fiercely defensive of Addie, but it never annoyed me like it did Cael. Instead I found him funny and lovable. Maya was also the very sweet, very intuitive aunt figure and I would have liked to see her more. But they all came together in a great way for the story. 




    The Story... 
    One of the reasons I don't typically like mysteries is that they tend to be either too predictable or too difficult to solve. When I get to the end of the book I want to be wrong about the bad guy, but I want to feel like I could have figured it out if I had just paid a little more attention. If it was never possible to guess, then it wasn't a good mystery for me. And if I knew too early, that's not good either. Whisper Cape nailed it IMHO. I spent the entire book trying to figure out who Idolan was and every time I was pretty sure I was right, a few chapters later something would happen to make me doubt. And then I was caught in that place where you're just not sure if that was a detail to throw you off the scent or to help you figure out who it is. I got to the end of the book and was like, "WHAT?!? No way!" So a great mystery. 




    The story revolves around trying to find out who killed Addie's father - well, you know it's Idolan, but you don't know who Idolan is. That mystery is heightened by Addie's developing her own powers and learning about herself, the people she belongs to, and her father's secret identity - not to mention some pretty good sex, as you'd expect from any self-respecting paranormal romance. I really enjoyed the way the supernatural elements weaved together with Addie's old life and look forward to exploring more of the supernatural world Sharon created. She does a solid job of showing us who these people are and what they are capable of, while leaving some questions to be answered in future books. 




    Concluding Sentiments... 
    A fantastic mystery and a fairly solid paranormal romance,Whisper Cape is a fun read I'd recommend and I look forward to exploring more of this world. 




    I received this book for free from Audiobook Jukebox in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.




    This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    Refreshing read "Whispering Cape", the first book in

    Refreshing read

    "Whispering Cape", the first book in the Whispering Cape series, is a refreshing read in the paranormal romance genre. 
    If the setting doesn't capture your attention, the characters will certainly bring you into the mystery and romance. Addison and Cael are magical together. You'll find yourself turning the pages and you'll swear the ocean breeze whispered your name. 
    Beautiful. 

    Reviewer: Nelta
    Disclosure: This ebook was provided by the author in exchange for an HONEST and not necessarily positive review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2013

    I am so thrilled I opened this book to read. I loved it!!! There

    I am so thrilled I opened this book to read. I loved it!!! There is nothing better than a book that keeps you in suspense, till wee hours in the night. You keep flipping the pages, batting your eye lids in hopes, that the answers you are looking for will be reveal before you loose the power to hold your eyes open. While sitting on the edge of you seat, you fine yourself on a mission to solve the mystery, you have been woven into by the author. But wait! Not only is this book suspenseful, it almost has a edge of darkness to it. Adding in the tenderness of romance, great characters.


    The author's descriptions keeps you captivated till the very end. My favorite part was finding out who actually the bad guy was, holy smokes it will literally blow your mind. Is he a serial killer, is he a friend or family member. Or is he a she? Curious yet? Then stop reading this and get the book!


    Addie lost her father in a "accident", but soon moving back to Whisper Cape she starts thinking it wasn't a accident at all. Then after hitting a guy she was sure she killed, was not dead at all, he will become a huge part in her world. The perfect sexy book boyfriend, but he has his secrets too. The awesome world the author has built is strong, engaging, powerful characters, compelling you to read till the last page. The tangled web this Author has weaved is truly awesome.


    Definitely a must read. Oh snap, wait till you find out the meaning of "Whisper Cape". Remember I told you about that edge of darkness....can we say creepyyyy.... So now I am off to read the next book, because I am already curious about Gerry. What? Who is that? Well get reading so you can find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    The book Whisper Cape By Susan Griscom was AWESOME! I had a hard

    The book Whisper Cape By Susan Griscom was AWESOME! I had a hard time putting the book down ! The characters were strong. The book had love ,mystery ,kept you on the edge of your seat. It has so many twists and turns that everytime i thought of oh it will turn out this way , but no it turned out way completly of what i had thought of . I can not wait to read the next book and continue to read the books in this series! I was lost the adventures in this book !!! I give this book 5/5 stars!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Lots of fun

    This was a fun paranormal romance, with a nice balance of action and suspense and two very interesting protagonists that will have you turning the pages to see what happens next.
    What I enjoyed the most were the relationships between the characters. Cael and Addie had a great repartee, with witty dialogue that had me laughing as they go from disliking each other to discovering its turned to love. The supporting characters add a lot to the story as well. They fill the pages with their quirkiness, creating a nice little world that seems completely real.
    The story itself is pretty good. I do wish the tension between Cael and Addie had lasted a bit more, since it is resolved rather quickly. I do like that Cael struggles with how he feels for Addie, not wanting to admit to himself that he just might love her. That adds dimension to the romance. The action scenes, although not many, are well written with just the amount of violence necessary but without bothering the flow of the story.
    I had a fun time reading this book, and I can recommend it. There are some sex scenes, so be aware of that if those tend to bother you in books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1