Customer Reviews for

Whisper of Evil (Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    Kay does it again!

    Hi Everyone! I think I just about camped out in front of Barnes & Noble to get this latest edition of Kay Hooper's new book. At 55, I really thought I was beyond this, but when you find a book worth waiting for -- well, what can I say? The story begins like this: Men are dying for some very strange reasons in this quiet little town aptly called 'Silence'. Nell comes back after 12 years and is here to settle her family estate but she also has a secret! She and Max are the main characters in this book and Nell finds out that after 12 years she is still connected to Max, literally. You see, Nell is psychic and SOMEONE is blocking her mind and it is scaring Max, especially when she blacks out. I love reading books that bring back past characters, and Kay does this with Tony Harte and Miranda! These characters appear in her series which I call the 'Shadow Books' and 'Touching Evil. Miranda is now married to Noah Bishop, they merge their psychic abilities to a higher level and together, they are a force not to take lightly. Just when you think you know who the killer is, Kay throws in a twist! Oh, did I mention that this is a 'keeper'?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Love this series!

    Another grest book in the Bishop series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    A very interesting read

    The whole series is a very interesting take on head hunters. While occasionally I felt the books went a little overboard, the stories were well thought out and kept my interest all the way through book 12. I will wait until the next trilogy is complete before continuing on. But I will definitely continue on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good

    <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Rrrr, so. Disappointing.

    You know, based on the other reviews I thought this was going to be areslly great read, but I have to write how disappointed I am. This book is 272, or so, pages long, and it finally stopped droning on and on by page 217. Frustrating that something takes such unnecessary time to start moving. Dint get me wrong, it is a somewhat fast-paced book, however, events, characters, emotions, and explanations, repeated themselves again and again. I felt like screaming, "I get it, can we move on?" it seems like the author had the plot in her mind, which was a good one, but everything leading up to it was just a waste of my time that could've been condensed to no more then 60 pages. I did like, however, that when the story ended...it was over, not with some 20 page epilogue summating a finale. Okay, with all that, my BIGGEST pet peeve is that the story was written, or not edited properly, who knows, as if you're watching a movie. Sounds interesting, right? Yeah, it's not, because there you are, in the middle of a chapter, and page, and the next sentence picks up with tdotslly different characters and storyline than the previous sentence. Every author I've read thus far, in my 39 years, would indicate a chug in direction like that with, oh, I don't know, a NEW CHAPTER OR SOME STARS, OR A SQUIGGLY LINE. So you think this won't be bothersome to you? Well, I had to read, and reread s couple of pages, thinking, wait, are we on s different topic now? It's like having a conversation with an ADD. So if that's not enough, the author randomly ends chapters mid thought/conversation and starts a new chapter...and not with s new topic....right where the previous sentence ended. I was never an English major (perhaps obvous to some), but this seems like a very basic rule of thumb for writers...don't try to lose the reader. Would I recommend it? Only if it was free, period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Must Have!

    All three books of the 'Evil' trilogy are fantastic. You can get to know each of the characters in depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    Keeps you guessing!

    I was just introduced to Kay Hooper's novels and love them - she really does keep you guessing up until the very end. Excellent...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Suspenseful, very suspenseful

    This is possibly the best murder mystery I've ever read. This book is a classic and I really feel sorry for those who haven't read it. This is a very cleverly written book and it's got enough twists and turns to make your head spin. The best thing about the book and about Kay Hooper's style of writing is that she always leaves you hanging at the end of the chapter and that really makes you want to read more until you understand what's going on. The best part of the book is the biggest surprise-- when you learn who the killer is. All in all, definitely a pleaser and it's a classic in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    Oh My Goodness!

    I love Kay Hooper! She is an excellent author. I love her books. This is my 2nd book that I have read & just like the 1st one, it was great! Her books have everything that you're looking for, from suspense, drama, love, murder & more. Please, if you havent read this book, you need to buy it ASAP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    SUSPENSEFUL!

    Awesome awesome book. I loved it. It was truly amazing. Although the end was confusing, I enjoyed reading it and finding out a few of those things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    Great weekend read

    Just one in a series of great book. Couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    Great

    This was the first book that I've read by Kay Hooper and it was great. It was suspenseful and kept me guessing till the very end. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2003

    Definitely a Good Book

    This book is definitely one of Kay Hooper's best. I read this fast just so that I could find out who the killer was without reading ahead. I was surprised by the killer's circumstances but not by the identity. The book was incredibly interesting and I enjoyed catching up with the other FBI agents I've read about before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    great book

    The small Louisiana town of Silence is anything but quiet these days. Four men in eight months have been killed and the townsfolk are afraid, they want the police to catch the killer quickly. The only problem is the police are totally lost so the mayor has asked the FBI to come in since their profile suggests that the murderer is a local cop. Nell Gallagher ran away from Silence when she was seventeen, but has returned twelve years later to settle the family estate. Since she is also a FBI agent, she is able to work undercover without anyone wondering why se is so curious about the killings. She must deal with Max Tanner, her ex-lover after kicking him to the curb the first time they ¿made love¿. The plot is complex and has so many unexpected twists and turns that readers won¿t be able to predict what happens next. You will definitely want to read this book more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    Great Book!

    This book was great! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2002

    Wow!!!

    This book is great!!!! I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2002

    Awesome

    If this book, was so dry and stale, then why on earth would I want to read her other books. This book was awesome. It had me the moment I sat down to read it and it took me only 2 days to do so. I could not put this book down. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery with the paanormal mixed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Paranormal Thriller

    The first book I ever read by Kay Hooper was Touch Of Evil and that left me wanting more. I purchased this book and couldn't wait to get home to start reading it and I finished it in 3 days. I've always been interested in the paranormal but this book really got me interested. I was on the edge of my seat and positive that I knew who the killer was but in the end I was completely surprised. Don't worry I won't give the ending away. Nell and Matt showed how true love can effect a person both physically and mentally. The plot was excellent it definitely kept you guessing. I hope Kay Hooper will give us another look at the town of Silence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    delightful psychic thriller

    The small Louisiana town of Silence is anything but quiet these days. Four men in eight months have been killed and the townsfolk are afraid; they want the police to catch the killer quickly. The only problem is the police are totally stymied so the mayor has asked the FBI to come in since their profile suggests that the murderer is a local cop. <P>Nell Gallagher ran away from Silence when she was seventeen, but has returned twelve years later to settle the family estate. Since she is also a FBI agent, she is able to work undercover without anyone questioning her motives. She must deal with rancher Max Tanner, who needs to know why Nell closed the door on their relationship to run away after they made love for the first time. <P>Kay Hooper¿s, psychic thrillers are always a delightful reading experience and WHISPER OF EVIL is no exception. Characters from previous works lend a sense of continuity to the story line and readers will be glad to reunite with favorites who feel like friends. The plot is complex and has so many unexpected twists and turns that readers won¿t be able to predict what happens next. This is a one sitting read that will find its¿ way to the reader¿s keeper shelf. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3