Customer Reviews for

The Whisperer

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unexpectedly Wonderful

I am a voracious reader. I own more than 2,000 books and have read in my lifetime many, many more. I have read great books, like this one, and very, VERY rarely do I ever review or comment on a book. But when I do, you can take it to the bank (or to Barnes & Nobel) a...
I am a voracious reader. I own more than 2,000 books and have read in my lifetime many, many more. I have read great books, like this one, and very, VERY rarely do I ever review or comment on a book. But when I do, you can take it to the bank (or to Barnes & Nobel) and BUY THIS BOOK. It was a terrific and unexpectedly wonderful book. I loved it. Not a formula book type in sight, terrific characters, and mesmerizing to the very last page.

posted by Trixxie on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sorry I bought it.

I am sorry I bought this book. Overall, I was very disappointed that, although the setting was supposed to be Italy, it could have happened anywhere. There was no feeling of place. The body count is over the top, and the descriptions of the gruesome ways children are ki...
I am sorry I bought this book. Overall, I was very disappointed that, although the setting was supposed to be Italy, it could have happened anywhere. There was no feeling of place. The body count is over the top, and the descriptions of the gruesome ways children are killed was too much for me. I suppose the severed arms should have warned me off, but I mistakenly thought that would be about the worst. Maybe it was the translation. The end of the book hints there will be more coming, but not for me.

posted by bookaholicNC on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Unexpectedly Wonderful

    I am a voracious reader. I own more than 2,000 books and have read in my lifetime many, many more. I have read great books, like this one, and very, VERY rarely do I ever review or comment on a book. But when I do, you can take it to the bank (or to Barnes & Nobel) and BUY THIS BOOK. It was a terrific and unexpectedly wonderful book. I loved it. Not a formula book type in sight, terrific characters, and mesmerizing to the very last page.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Fun Read!

    The Whisperer is one of those books that you hate to put down. I wasn't sure if it would be good because I had never heard of the author but I was not disappointed! Lots of twists and turns for those who love a great mystery!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    LOVED IT. Closed my eyes and randomly picked a book off the B&am

    LOVED IT. Closed my eyes and randomly picked a book off the B&N shelf one day, and read the first 60 pages that day. Went two more months not reading it because I was busy, and once I finally took the time to read it I was so upset that I had waited so long. If you can ignore the occasional awkward translation (not nearly as often as other reviewers would like you to believe) this book is fascinating, thought provoking and horrifying. I couldn't sleep because I was kept up thinking about the book. Ignore the low ratings, trust me you don't want to miss this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    i was not able to put that book down...

    i was not able to put that book down...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Excellent

    Very entertaining. Very difficult to put down - many twists and turns. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptional

    While there are a few awkward editing moments typical of a complex first novel, the story is indescribably disturbing and unpredictable. Although the gruesome murders consistently inspired a heightened level discomfort, I couldn't stop reading and loathed the inevitable conclusion. I highly recommend for readers with a strong stomach and ability to rise above a normal level of empathy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    awesome book

    I got lost in this book from page one, i couldnt put it down....excellent read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Great book

    Ifyou like crime and investigation stories, this os a great reading. The plot and characters are very well developed. I couldn't stop reading from the beginning untill the end. Fantastic book, I totally recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Creepy

    This gave me nightmares! I liked Lost Girls of Rome better. Characters more likeable and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I thought I had it all figured out but in the end plot twist...I love that in a book and this book really did deliver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Excellent read!

    Have you ever gotten tired of criminal thrillers that never surprised you the same way I have? This book defies the banality of classic whodunits. Its a little closer to psychological thriller by classification. I recommend it, although parents may be deeply disturbed by some of the imagery. I would love to tell you the plot, but that ruins the story. Just give it a shot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Absolutely loved this book!

    It grabbed me from the get go. Everyone I have shared this book with loved it too. Great characterization, loved the twists and turns. Can't wait to read his next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Featured in the book thiefe?

    Was wondering if anyone knew if this was the book liesel was reffering to in the book "book thiefe"?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1