BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Whispers

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Koontz don't disappoint

    I am a great fan of Dean Koontz, and this book had twists and turns throughout. It kept me on my toes and was a definate page turner, even though some parts seemed unnecessary and a bit predictable.
    I would say that my only pet peeve on this book is the way the chapters are writen. I am a person who likes to read from chapter to chapter, but this 451 page book only has 7 chapters, so with my busy schedule, I simply couldn't go chapter to chapter, especially because some of the chapters were over 40 pages long. The chapters were layed out though to where I could find stopping points but I hate stopping in the middle of chapters.
    I would recommend this book to those who like Dean Koontz or are a fan of mystery/suspense novels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Loveed it

    This was the first Dean Koontz book i read afted that i try to read all i come into contact by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great

    One of the first Koontz books I read and have been a fan for 20 years. Very good book. Have enjoyed all his books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HOLDS YOUR ATTENTION FROM START TO FINISH!

    Since I have a lot of 'windshield' time for my job, I purchased this book on CD to listen to in my car. It keeps you captivated from the very start up to the very end. I found myself driving slower, and not getting out of my car right away once I had reached my destination. I wanted to be able to get in more of the story.

    William Dufris does an admirable job on the narration and the various character voices.

    Dean Koontz, I have recently discovered, is my favorite author. His way with the English language has me enthralled. I appreciate that his CD's are unabridged, so I don't have to miss a single juicy nugget of story!

    (I have shared this book on CD with a friend, and she liked it, too)!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    I will rp

    JAYKIT PLZ!!!!! AT GIK RES 2!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Can I

    Please roleplay Jaykit, if he isn't taken? He'll be a quiet, calm, and side-kick like kit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Dovekit

    Please can i rp her?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Pebblekit

    Okay!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Icefire

    Yes. Camp is at 'sylver' res1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Silvermist con.

    Half brothers and sister. During her warrior vigal she was catnapped and given the rest of her powers. And that is her bio

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    Mostly bad, but some good.

    I've read so many Koontz books. First and favorite was Watchers. Love the Snow and Odd books. He has basically the same characters in every book and this is no exception. He can go on and on about the environment/atmosphere, but I was blown away how he went into so much detail about minor characters that had absolutely no bearing on the story at all. I ended up skimming 40% of the book. It is predictable throughout and the ending is anticlimactic to say the least. Plus he didn't unwind the story at all at the end to see what becomes of our do-gooding male lead and the strong, super-intelligent female lead. I thought there would be something redemptive at the end, but I was wrong.

    He wrote well about the urges and sexual relationship of the leads. Usually he is very PR, all fluff, when it comes to intimacy in relationships. I'm not sure when he became afraid to write the truth, but it was nice.

    There is an afterword that speaks to his working out his past in this book (as well as leaving his old typewriter). His publisher kept wanting it edited, but he wouldn't give. He should have given in. Then maybe it could be 3 stars. I don't need to hear about how a former drug dealer cleaned himself up and started creating designer dresses, especially when all the guy is doing in the story is helping detectives find a character that is also ultimately irrelevant.

    This book was a waste of time. Many better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspensful

    Suspenseful with lots of twists and turns. There were a few parts that I felt drug on a bit, but overall not a bad read. Just when you think you have it figured out the direction Koontz is taking you, the plot twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Koontz consistently great reading

    Another in a long line of Koontz novels that keeps you interested and guessing all the way to the end. Many twists and turns that does not allow you to anticipate where you are heading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Great read!

    I just started reading Dean Koontz books and I never though I would read a book with so much suspense! I never knew what was coming next and the characters and plot are very believable. Very unpredictable and suspenseful, I definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves thrillers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    Dean Koontz at his chilling best!

    This is not for the faint-hearted. I really have never read one of his books that I didn't love. I don't know how he comes up with his twisted characters and new plot lines. Definitely hard to put down once you start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Whispers Draws You In

    Possibly one of the best of Dean Koontz's early novels. The plot is filled with enough twists-and-turns to keep you reading long into the night. While essentially a plot-driven novel, Dean begins to develop his characters more fully here than in other early novels. In the Afterward, he reports not liking the "rigid Freudian psychology" underlying the story, but while his presentation of the character's psychology is rather simplistic and stereotypcial, it makes the story stronger and more interesting. This story is particularly creepy because the horror is rooted in the real world and not in the supernatural. There are some fantastic set pieces in this novel that no Koontz fan should miss. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just finished reading, and it was great! I love how it doesn't make the bad guys just black and white. It goes into what made them the way they are, and you can't help sympathizing with them. One thing I would suggest is read when this book was written before you read it. For awhile there I was like, 'Why don't any of these people have cellphones?' but then I read the copyright date. This book is also not for the feint of heart. There are some very disturbing scenes. I wouldn't read it to any kids unless you want them to have nightmares and possibly need major therapy like most of the characters in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    keeps you reading u wont want to stop

    i am an 18 year old college student who loves dean koontz and i really enjoyed this book it kept me on the edge of my seat i always wanted to know if my prediction was right. it goes straight into it and doesn't drag along there are many twists in the story and things you will read that will just creep you out if you love books that have many twists and unexpected turns get this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    Deliciously Captivating

    This book is amazing. It has everything to offer. The plot is intruging, bringing new facts and twists along the way. Though, at one point it gets a little too disgusting (in some of the character's relationships) to enjoy, it is a ride to remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    WOW!!!

    This book was AWESOME!!!!!! I loved loved loved it!! The plot twists were amazing and the characters were extremely well thought out!! I would recommend this book to EVERYONE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6