Customer Reviews for

Whispers at Midnight

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    My favorite author does it again!!

    One of her raciest books! The love scenes are hot and the mystery even hotter! Karen Robards does it again...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    At last!

    I read this book about 4 years ago and unfortunately couldn't remember its title or author because I read tons of romance novels so forgetting authors and titles is common for me. So I spent hours trying to find this book title by searching online with remembered plot details and finally, at last, it paid off! I cannot wait to read this again, it was so good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    funny as heck

    oh my goodness...this book was hilarious. i found myself laughing out loud at so many points during this fun read. if you need a good laugh and a great book to cozy up with, this is it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    I loved this book!  It's one of my favorite, of all time.  It's

    I loved this book!  It's one of my favorite, of all time.  It's funny, sexy, and mysterious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Anonymous

    Fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Racy!

    Another must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!

    Loved it so much that I have read it more than once! If you like romance, laughter, and mystery, this book has it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    One of my favorite books by a favorite author

    This book has so many of my favorite aspects of romance. I love a friends-to-lovers theme, and Matt and Carly go way back their childhood, when she followed him like an adoring shadow and he, a kid who was always in some kind of trouble, looked out for the poor little girl who'd gone from living in an orphanage, abandoned by her mother, to living with her grandmother. I love a protective hero, and Matt took up for Carly even when he was a teenager who was always getting into trouble. When they reunite, he's the local sheriff, and his protective streak is even wider than before. Carly is a successful chef who is planning to open a B&B in her hometown with her good friend after experiencing a painful divorce. I love a hero who simply cannot resist his heroine. Finally, I like a romance that brings the heat to a story, and this one is red hot.

    After raising his sisters, Matt is looking forward to having no responsibilities and spending time with only his motorcycle and the open road. The last thing he wants to do is to get tangled up in Carly's issues again or, worse yet, to become responsible for her. Even so, he can't turn his back on her, and he just can't keep his hands off her, no matter how ill-advised he believes it to be.

    Add in several women from the orphanage who turn up dead and an unknown assailant who appears to have Carly in his sights, and you have a story that is hard to put down and that is worth a slot on the keeper shelf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Wasn't sure about this one at 1st, but loved it!

    This was one of those books which had ratings from 1 star to 5 stars. I was wary about ordering it but I'm glad I did. Yes, Carly was a little annoying with her 'no good, dirty, rotten, SOB'. And Matt with his 'kiss and run attitude' was very immature. He apologized for his actions 12 years earlier because he was 'just a kid' (21 years old?), then he did the same thing again even though he knew it was wrong. I really enjoyed Matt's sisters and he did a wonderful job of putting his own dreams aside to raise them. Another reviewer had mentioned Carly treated her cat terribly. I didn't understand that. But I must admit that while I like cats I don't know much about them so that's probably why I didn't see it. Being a dog person I was so glad to see the dog find a good home. Sandra was hysterical, what a character! I loved the setting and the house. Matt & Carly had a lot of chemistry, especially once he realized that she was the one he'd always wanted. Read this one, you won't be sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Crass characters

    I did NOT like these characters. Their dialogue was crass and juvenile. Not my favorite.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Romance is alive and well in this small town.

    I was disappointed at first with this book..it started off just great for a thrilling mystery..but then became a romantic story. I couldn't put this down after I started reading it...the romance is steamy and the conclusion good. Good read for an adult-- but would not recommend this for any teenager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    her best book!

    this book was really good! if you're going to read karen robards, you must read this. it's funny and romantic with some suspense too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Wasn't sure about this one at 1st, but loved it!

    This was one of those books which had ratings from 1 star to 5 stars. I was wary about ordering it but I'm glad I did. Yes, Carly was a little annoying with her 'no good, dirty, rotten, SOB'. And Matt with his 'kiss and run attitude' was very immature. He apologized for his actions 12 years earlier because he was 'just a kid' (21 years old?), then he did the same thing again even though he knew it was wrong. I really enjoyed Nick's sisters and he did a wonderful job of putting his own dreams aside to raise them. Another reviewer had mentioned Carly treated her cat terribly. I didn't understand that. But I must admit that while I like cats I don't know much about them so that's probably why I didn't see it. Being a dog person I was so glad to see the dog find a good home. Sandra was hysterical, what a character! I loved the setting and the house. Matt & Carly had a lot of chemistry, especially once he realized that she was the one he'd always wanted. Read this one, you won't be sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Excellent! Suspenseful! Romantic

    Great Read! Kept me interested all the way through. Both Carly and Matt were great small town people. And the sisters - so typical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    This one is a winner!

    Hurting from an ugly divorce, Carly Linton is ready for a new start, so she goes back to her beginnings, a small town in Georgia, hoping to start a bed and breakfast. .............. Life is never that simple. The boy she had one special night with long ago has turned from bad to good and become the sherriff. Maybe she would not have to see Matt Converse much even in a town so small, but finding a dead body on one's property tends to make the sherriff come around. Carly and Matt are thrown together, especially after the murderer targets her for his next victim. Matt is all that stands between Carly and death. As she comes under his protective wing, Carly finds her way back into Matt's heart. .................. ***** Karen Robards has struck gold with this book. Suspense and romance will keep the reader enthralled as the pages rapidly turn. Not only is Matt and Carly's story compelling, but the suppporting cast adds color and life to this well crafted, tightly woven plot. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Fun and sexy weekend read

    Enjoyable, entertaining, and enthralling! The chemistry between Carly and Matt was excellent. The humor might have been corny at times, but I couldn't help laughing. The suspense made it impossible for me to put the book down! Karen Robards has a knack for creating characters both lovable and believable. I would recommend this novel to anyone who wants to have a good time with some great characters and a refreshing plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Hot And Heavy At Midnight

    Feels like welcome to Mayberry. A very small town. You get the impression that something is not right,It's off balance a bit. Then you meet Carly and Sandra then you add more strange folks like Matt and his sisters Erin,Dani,Lissa, more interesting His weird deputies Antonio,Mike and the town's nudiest Mrs.Hayden all rolled into a good summer vacation's read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    Funny, sexy, romantic suspense

    I really loved this book. The hero and heroine had incredible chemistry, and the supporting characters, particularly the hero's sisters, were great. The action never let up, and the conclusion left me with cold chills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    COMPELLING LISTENING

    Acclaimed for her performances both on and off Broadway, voice artist Kate Forbes gives a compelling reading to the latest from bestselling author Karen Robards. At times suspense laden, at other moments seductive the Forbes voice is always supremely listenable. Following a divorce that left her emotionally black and blue, Carly Linton returns to her tiny hometown, Benton, Georgia. She brings with her a master cook, Sandra, and plans to open a b & b in an old Victorian mansion bequeathed to her by her grandmother. Their midnight arrival is less than auspicious - there is no electricity and it looks very much like the house has been burglarized. That's not all the bad news - a dead body is unearthed on the property. There is some good news in the person of great looking Sheriff Matt Converse. He's someone Carly has never forgotten - her high school crush with whom she shared a memorable prom night. Matt, it seems, has forgotten Carly but must protect her from whoever broke into her home and try to solve the mystery of the suddenly appearing body. Carly's not satisfied just to be spending time with Matt; she wants more - much more. The plot simmers to a boil, and so does their relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining romantic suspense thriller

    Following the divorce from her philandering husband, Carly Linton returns to her hometown of Benton, Georgia to open up a bed and breakfast. Her first view of her new home is the buns of her high school sweetheart Scraven County sheriff Matt Converse crawling under her porch. Matt is looking into the disappearance of Marsha Hughes, whose boyfriend suffers from ¿raid rage¿ caused by steroids. The neighbors inform Matt that Marsha and Kevin had a fight, but did she just leave or did he kill her? Fearing for Carly when someone threatens her, Matt vows to keep her safe. As he carries a gun in his hand and a cocked pistol inside his underwear, Matt and Carly share sex and fall in love. However, she begins to recall her depressed memories of rape and sodomy as a child, while an unknown villain gives her the choice of leaving town alive or dying. Readers who enjoy a romantic suspense thriller in which the hero either just shoots his wad or is in a three-legged state will want to read Karen Robards¿ latest tale. The story line contains tons of sex, though when Matt slept is a question as he either is investigating, protecting or lovemaking. When Matt and Carly are on stage, the plot is fun as the two argue, fuss, and share sex. However, the ¿Ding Dong the Donkeyman¿ villain requires quite a stretch to accept. Still fans of a heated southern romance with an accent on the boudoir rather than the police procedural will take pleasure in Ms. Robards¿ latest caper. Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2