BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Whistlin' Dixie in a Nor'easter: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Peachie Keen Book

I LOVED this book. Interesting, well-written, great dialog between characters, funny, thoughtful, reflective, with great factual information about running an Inn and Vermont. I cannot wait for her next book that is a sequal, and was happy to hear there is one on the wa...
I LOVED this book. Interesting, well-written, great dialog between characters, funny, thoughtful, reflective, with great factual information about running an Inn and Vermont. I cannot wait for her next book that is a sequal, and was happy to hear there is one on the way! Why? Because the ending was predictable yet a suprise, and ending but not the end!

posted by LorHuem on February 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Escapism on a Rainy Day

I purchased the book on a whim (being a Southerner, can't even begin to fathom a Vermont winter). It was an enjoyable read. It wasn't a stay-awake-at-night-to-finish book, but the story and writing flow in the manner of a relaxed, entertaining story from a friend.

posted by LyndaGG on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Escapism on a Rainy Day

    I purchased the book on a whim (being a Southerner, can't even begin to fathom a Vermont winter). It was an enjoyable read. It wasn't a stay-awake-at-night-to-finish book, but the story and writing flow in the manner of a relaxed, entertaining story from a friend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Peachie Keen Book

    I LOVED this book. Interesting, well-written, great dialog between characters, funny, thoughtful, reflective, with great factual information about running an Inn and Vermont. I cannot wait for her next book that is a sequal, and was happy to hear there is one on the way! Why? Because the ending was predictable yet a suprise, and ending but not the end!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Loved it

    Good book! GREAT STORY was sad when it ended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Loved it!

    What a great book! I really enjoyed it. Found myself wishing it wouldn't end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Charming andd wittty great characters

    I really enjoyed this book Aa bit of Southern chaarm and Vermont quaintnesss.. Great chharacters!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    Another story of a middle aged man who decides to move his wife and two little girls to become the owners of a bed and breakfast in Vermont in the winter to follow his dreams.

    The story of another mid-life crisis that just proves no good deed goes unpunished.
    Sometimes life just is beyond control and you just have to take it as it goes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Recommend

    Really cute chic flick kind of book. Liked it enough to buy sequel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    ??should i??

    Seeing all of these reviews make me wonder if i should get the book for my daugter to read! I thinkk i will she should enjoy it as much as i did!!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Uplifting and LOL Funny!

    I loved this book! I laughed, I cried! The characters are well developed and fun. I found it fast paced full of page turning events. A perfect book to read on a dreary winter day to lift your spirits. I loved it so much, I am starting to read the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Wow

    What I really dislike about all these reviews is that some people want to give a complete book report. This really spoils it for the rest of us. Why buy the book? What a review is for is to let the potential buyer know if they liked or disliked the book and why. We do not need a complete play by play of everything that happens in the book. I am very surprised that there is no word limit on these reviews. I cannot be the only one who feels this way. When you think about it, you are really doing the author no favors. All you are doing is costing the author $$ in lost sales. I for one do not want to purchase a book if I already know what happens. Just saying.....some will agree and disagree. I only ask that you think about it before you launch into a tell all review. Thank you and please try not to be offended. Best wishes to everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Very highly recommended!

    A very humorous story of a southern belle transplanted to the harsh winter of New England. Lisa keeps you turning the pages and wanting more when your finished reading. Good thing a sequel is on the way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Fantastic book!

    loved this book. the characters were wonderful. cant wait to read another book by lisa patton.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    My Thoughts

    I think this book could make into a really cute movie with the right actors/actresses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Loved it

    My daughter gave this to me to add to my collection of signed first edition books. I really enjoyed the book I think it would make a wonderful romantic movie. Since I live in the South and grew up in the North, I could relate to the stark differences this gal faced. I also went through a divorce, so I could relate to her issues. All in all, I would reocmmend it for a fun, romantic read and one I am confident you would recommend to your friends to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    Lisa Patton has the potential to be a great writer.

    From the very beginning the reader is hooked. Both tender and hilarious, the character of Leelee carries us along through her heartbreaks, adventures, and her courage. The characters are well developed and as a reader I fell in love with them all except for Helga (which was the intention). If you are not from the South, you now have real insight to the strength and hiliarity of the Southern woman. A wonderful read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    A Southern Belle driven from the comfort and security of friends and fimaliarity to a wintery nightmare of deception, abandonment and despair. Her true grit surprisingly rises up to surprise everyone including herself!

    Moving from CA to TN several years ago made it easy to relate to the sudden change of surroundings, culture and normalcy Lee Lee experienced. Leaving the coccoon of comfort, friends and familarity reveals what we're made of and Lee Lee's advertures filled me with dread, sympathy and laughter at her hilarious dilemmas. Her friends remained close, despite the geographical distance, and truly cheered her on through the hardest of life's hits. Lisa Patton invites us into her thoughts, fears and victories with each page and when I arrived at the end, I wrote her to ask when the sequal would be published. I'm one who enjoys reading about quirky characters, passionate heriones and stories with happy endings...this book met those needs and then some.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    shallow and snobbery

    I did not enjoy this book. I usually enjoy books set in the south. But this one of a Southern belle that moves to Vermont - not so much.
    She always looks down at the people of the Northeast. I kept waiting for her attitude to change but it never really does, right up to the end "when I wrapped my arm around her roly-poly back, I felt so much love for her" - Really? always a comment about someone's physical features.
    The setting of Vermont is almost a character in itself and the character never stops putting it down.

    I originally wanted to read another book by this author but thought I'd start with this first. Now I'm not so sure I want to try another.

    Just made me feel aggravated.

    Disappointing.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    meh

    It was a nice book but it had an awful dated feel to it. stereotypical 1960 homemakers from Memphis etc. yet it was just published. Is Memphis still full of homemakers who boss their rich husbands around and dote on their children and don't seem to have a thought about the world outside their own little bubble?

    nice description of the restaurant business and Vermont in "Mud Season." Been there, done that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    C No

    Not very interesting. Could not finish it. Not good writing. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Charm, charm, and pure charm

    Lisa Patton has done it again. Her bestseller, Whistlin' Dixie in a Nor'Easter, was an absolutely perfect, entertaining, and fun novel. Now, with this second foray into "Dixie whistlin'" she has brought even more humorous, heartwarming, and hilarious characters into a literary world that has been more than a bit depressing for the past year. Our Dixie heroine has returned in Leelee Satterfield. She and her two children have returned to Memphis because her "trip" to Vermont didn't turn out all that well. When she moved to the frigid cold East with her husband and opened up the Peach Blossom Inn, she had no idea that her journey would end with her husband turning into a philandering jerk, and a woman by the name of Helga (who acted like a true Nazi) trying to wrestle away her popular B&B. The only thing Leelee did find that was good in the East was a stunning man, which is the only person that Leelee misses. Coming home, she stays with her old baby nurse, Kissie, for a while before finding her "legs" and getting a place of her own. Her friends are all back around her at the Memphis Country Club listening to Leelee tell of the mysterious Vermont stranger who stole her heart (yet, she can't seem to get him to return any of her phone calls). This trio of women who have loved and supported Leelee all her young life are still standing 100% behind her, and the conversations that they get into over numerous peach daiquiris are absolutely hysterical. In fact, with this type of sisterhood, all readers will find themselves thinking about the women who offer them advice and share each other's lives. Leelee soon opens another restaurant because of want, need, and more than a bit of advice from her helpful friend. Being a single Mom and wanting the "man who stole her heart" to appear in her neck of the woods makes Leelee's life a bit of a mess. Although she's back in the "world" that she knows like the back of her hand, Leelee soon comes to the realization that even though this is "home," she is still going to have to work to make a successful business, figure out her love life, and raise her girls. This second tale of Leelee allows readers to, once again, have a wonderful time. The characters are vivacious, the story is lovely, and the Memphis charm oozes through every page. Quill Says: Charm, charm, and pure charm. Leelee is a Dixie heroine who never goes out of style!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3