Customer Reviews for

The Whistling Season

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Good Book if you don't mind typos!

    I read this on my Nook. Really enjoyed this book. Will definitely look for something else by this author. My only problem was with the editing. There were so very many typos, I wondered what was happening. I found it very distracting from the story. I don't think this should be the case, especially when the Nook price is so high anyway.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    A return to a time gone by

    As fan of historical fiction, I found the book very well-written and entertaining. The characters are well-developed and very believable within a family structure. The simpler days of farming and one-room schoolhouses brought back memories of the stories my mother would tell. The life was simple but Paul, the main character was facing the coming of age where moving beyond his family is not so far off. I also liked the author's choice of having Paul recall his childhood by telling the story with flashbacks. His use of the main character as the State School Superintendent lends itself well to the details of learning in a one-room schoolhouse and the teaching tools used at that time. It's was a far cry from all the technology and media incorporated into classroom today. A good read for relaxing and traveling back in time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Well-written-thoroughly enjoyed it.

    The book kept me captivated from beginning to end. I think all would like it and it would be great for book club discussions. I would definitely read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Good story telling

    Unique

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    Good Read for a Book Club

    I enjoyed this book because it gives a picture of Rural, Western America at a simpler time in our history. There is good character development, some suspense, and a pleasant writing style

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Whistling while you work

    Usually, if we've all liked a book in our book group, the discussion after reading is a little boring. "Good book." "Yes." "I liked it." "So did I." But Ivan Doig's "The Whistling Season" was a little different. We all really liked it, but most of us felt dissatisfied, one way or another, with the ending. That made for a really interesting evening's chat.

    Most of us found the book a little slow to start with. The voice is very authentic, but takes some getting used to. But it's worth persevering, we agreed. Soon you're absorbed in a not-so-distant world, watching an everyday life that you more-than-half regret missing. Everything is told from the view-point of a young teenaged boy--details skipped that you might have wished told--details added that surprise and intrigue. And there's a cleverness in the way the tale is put together that rewards deeper thought afterwards. Why doesn't Rose cook? Why does she whistle? How do different pairs of siblings compare? And whose decisions in the end are more similar than different?

    But, as I said, we weren't at all sure about the end. We speculated at what might be missing, which questions unanswered perhaps, and came to no conclusion. Maybe that's what the author intended of us, because life leaves us wondering too.

    I felt like I'd spent a year in the country when I'd finished. It was a pleasant time though the living wasn't easy. I learned something, and I'm left questioning--what have we gained? What have we lost? And when will Halley's Comet return?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Grows on You

    I had a hard time getting into this book. Someone at the store recommended it and she seemed so moved that I had to get it. I spent the first hundred pages wondering if I had wasted my money. After a point things actually start happening and you start caring about this family and trying to piece together the mystery between the woman and her brother. It is very well written and has vivid descriptions of the scenery and era which helps you get lost in it after awhile. My only advice would be to not give up on it and read it to the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    THE IMAGE RESTS WELL

    Had to stop and read it all over again after I got to the end. Didn't want to break the mood and got to enjoy the imagery at a deeper level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just finished this book. Doig's writing makes you understand the difference between a writer and a novelist. I agree that the ending was a bit weak. But the richness of the prose is worth the reading - sometimes over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1