Customer Reviews for

White Bone: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    an exceptional read enjoyed every minute and have told countless

    an exceptional read enjoyed every minute and have told countless others ita a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Brilliant!

    Not a quick read, but an amazing one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An aspiring, memorable piece!

    this novel contained a vividness not found in many books, and also was laden with a sense of realism. Not meant for younger readers, on behalf of it being a bit too realistic, in animal terms, including mating season, and such, but sure to please, and very touching indeed. The mating periods were unneeded, I would think, but Barbara Gowdy definately has a great sense of description and a talent that is capable of touching your heart. A great book for animal lovers that are older readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Haunting, Memorable, classic

    Seven years after reading The White Bone I am still haunted by its elegant, inventive language, its entirely original conception, the authority with which the narrative device is carried out.
    I am still recommending it to friends, still enthralled by it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    you will get out of it what you put into the read

    If you can allow yourself to delve fully into the text, and if you will allow the thoughts of a world unbeknownst to you to exist fully in its own right, you will fall in love with Mud, and learn not only about her life but be reflective of your own in its wake. Not only your own related family but the one of the whole world of which you are a tiny part. Seeing the interconnectdness of species and the beauty of animals' subtle ways is an appreciation you may gain, and if you do, you will be the better for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    An engrossing, novel piece of fiction

    This is the first novel I have read by this author and I found it compelling. The premise is novel and the writing wonderful. It is a story that should make us all stop and think about the treatment of animals and our earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    best book i ever read

    This book was definitley the best book I have ever read! Once you learn who is who and what the elephant's lingo is (a big thank you to the author for adding the dictionary at the beginning) it is a great book. I hope she writes a second. I wish there were more books like this out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    Great book

    You have to read this book i am 14 and i read it. It was hard to understand at first then i found who the shes were who was who and who was talking.She really puts it in perspective what an elepants life is like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    An amazing piece of work!

    The story is so real and factual yet so creative and imaginative at the same time. The author manages to blend it altogether into this masterpiece and you feel as if you are right there with the She-Ones. I think anyone would enjoy the beauty and simpleness of this complex book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2001

    An Important Book and Mesmerizing to boot!

    I've read this book 3 times now and am still entranced by it. The author grounds her story in what is scientifically known about the emotional and social lives of elephants and imagines an entire possible elephantine worldview from that. Wonderful characters in an engaging story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    a reviewer

    I absolutely love this book! When I finished it I felt like something was missing in my life. This book left me crying and showing soo many emotions for these elephants. I told everyone I know about this book... it has to be my FAVORITE BOOK ever!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1