Customer Reviews for

The White Cascade: The Great Northern Railway Disaster and America's Deadliest Avalanche

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Wonderful and captivating read.

    I wish I had read this book several years ago. I used to live in the town of Leavenworth, WA mentioned in the book. My nephew and I hiked the Iron Goat Trail which used to be the Great Northern line west out of Wellington. We hiked through the old short wooden tunnels leading up to Wellington. The last snowshed is long and damp. Close to the end there is a walk out pier over the ravine. Along the railings are pictures and stories of that fateful day....week. You can look down the ravine and you can still see pieces of the train left there 100 years ago. We then turned east and walked through the old 2 mile tunnel that you read about in the book as the passengers hope for shelter. This is a totaly interesting story told in great detail for Gary Krist. I would consider it a must read for any railroad fans.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    chocowinity, NC

    we'll written and a pleasure to read---definitely recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    man vs nature

    Great read which had a perfect blend of human intrest, social insight, and mother nature - resulting in a captivating telling of truely tragic events. I hope to someday see the pass where man and business came face to face with a brutal untameable wilderness, were so many lives were lost under the increadable circumstances that played out those temptuous days on the mountian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Excellent.

    A great story about a little-known railway disaster high in the Cascade mountains in the winter of 1910. Like the Titanic, this catastrophe was the result of Gilded Age capitalist hubris and unusual natural phenomena working together to create the ideal conditions for loss of life. The human interest stories are fascinating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    This book is a rehash of Ruby El Hult's "Northwest Disaster," and T. Gary Sherman's, "Conquest and Catastrophe."

    Very little new material is contained in Mr. Krist's book. Most all of the factual accounts have already appeared in the two books I have already mentioned. I had the privledge of working with Ruby El Hult for several years when I was doing research for Conquest and Catastrophe. In fact I provided Gary Krist with answers to questions he had in helping him with the writing of his book. Unfortunately, he chose not to use the information. His book is a strong narrative, but a weak history.. There are errors. As an example, Mr. Krist is wrong in stating that Wellington was a much smaller town than Cascade Tunnel Station. Wellington had a population of nearly 600 people at times, not 100 as Mr. Krist states. Cascade Tunnel had only Great Northern workers living there. When they received their paychecks, they would walk through the Cascade Tunnel to Wellington to cash them at Bailets Hotel or Fogg Bros. Restaurant. They would then remain at Wellingto to drink and gamble away their money, for it was the only town close enough for them to do this. His book is a good read, but I must recommend Ruby El Hult's book, Northwest Disaster, for historical facts. Conquest and Catastrophe has a very detailed account of the Wellington disaster too. However, it also covers far more of the history of Stevens Pass and the Great Northern Railway, in addition to Wellington.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    Very good book

    I read this in just a few sittings it was extremely well written and exciting to read. This was riveting all the way through. Amazing recreating of the details and people involved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Interesting

    Thls was a very interesting book packed full of facts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Highly recommended

    A very well written book, it tells the story without bias. It reads like an adventure while maintaining the strictest of historical accuracy. Very hard to put down, even when you know how it will end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    RECOMMEND

    Well written piece of Northwest history..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1