BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

White Doves at Morning: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting read!

The characters appeared reasonably realistic. At the end, I was confused concerning the historical applications of the main characters. I suspect the situations to be reasonably accurate for the period demonstrating the "classes" in the southern society during the war...
The characters appeared reasonably realistic. At the end, I was confused concerning the historical applications of the main characters. I suspect the situations to be reasonably accurate for the period demonstrating the "classes" in the southern society during the war.

posted by gke on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

WHITE DOVES AT MORNING takes jabs and punches in an attempt to glorify the Civil War era.

While the author as tediously and meticulously woven his story and cast of uncomely characters into this novel, they don't necessariy seem "real". Ira Jamison, Abigail Dowling and Willie Burke are not very convincing in their roles. In fact, Willie Burke seems more like...
While the author as tediously and meticulously woven his story and cast of uncomely characters into this novel, they don't necessariy seem "real". Ira Jamison, Abigail Dowling and Willie Burke are not very convincing in their roles. In fact, Willie Burke seems more like a character out of Lonesome Dove who was also obsessing over a dead friend and his burial just as Willie is obsessing over his friend Jim who was killed in side by side field combat. Ms. Dowling, the yankee abolitionist, fulfils her noble role as a nurse and advocate of the underground railroad, but in no stellar dimensions. On the other hand, Flower Jamison, the young mulatto woman, matures into a strong negro heroine as she bucks the repressive bondage slavery has so long held her captive. The author, no holds barred, tells it like it was. The truth, realities of the war and battlefield atrocities, soldiers and the rank and file low-life of that period, leave little to the imagination. It's all spelled out, all the gory graphic details. In my opinion, this book will appeal more to the male audience. If you southern belles out there really, really loved Margaret Mitchell's G.W.T.W., White Doves is not your must read. This novel neither romanticizes or glamorizes the Civil War era. We are not charmed by a hero like the debonair Jeb Stuart or sauve Major Mosby. Don't be fooled (as I was) by the gracious and oh-so-southern antebellum mansion nestled amidst the smoky Spanish moss hanging in the live oaks. It's not all moonlight and magnolias by an means.

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Interesting read!

    The characters appeared reasonably realistic. At the end, I was confused concerning the historical applications of the main characters. I suspect the situations to be reasonably accurate for the period demonstrating the "classes" in the southern society during the war.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    WHITE DOVES AT MORNING takes jabs and punches in an attempt to glorify the Civil War era.

    While the author as tediously and meticulously woven his story and cast of uncomely characters into this novel, they don't necessariy seem "real". Ira Jamison, Abigail Dowling and Willie Burke are not very convincing in their roles. In fact, Willie Burke seems more like a character out of Lonesome Dove who was also obsessing over a dead friend and his burial just as Willie is obsessing over his friend Jim who was killed in side by side field combat. Ms. Dowling, the yankee abolitionist, fulfils her noble role as a nurse and advocate of the underground railroad, but in no stellar dimensions. On the other hand, Flower Jamison, the young mulatto woman, matures into a strong negro heroine as she bucks the repressive bondage slavery has so long held her captive. The author, no holds barred, tells it like it was. The truth, realities of the war and battlefield atrocities, soldiers and the rank and file low-life of that period, leave little to the imagination. It's all spelled out, all the gory graphic details. In my opinion, this book will appeal more to the male audience. If you southern belles out there really, really loved Margaret Mitchell's G.W.T.W., White Doves is not your must read. This novel neither romanticizes or glamorizes the Civil War era. We are not charmed by a hero like the debonair Jeb Stuart or sauve Major Mosby. Don't be fooled (as I was) by the gracious and oh-so-southern antebellum mansion nestled amidst the smoky Spanish moss hanging in the live oaks. It's not all moonlight and magnolias by an means.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Dovestar

    Fresh kill pile! A place for the prey that warriors and apprentices catch on hunting patrols.... right now though, it is small but hopefully will grow.~Dovestar

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Not quality burke

    He uses modern day terms such as baby sit and gene pool. Unknown in that era. Also dialogue is sometimes strange and unatural. Refers to chinese laborers as coulees. Burke is my favorite modern author but this book makes me wonder if someone else collaboratef with him......someone not of his caliber. His signature descriptive talents shine thro though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Short

    Too short for the money...very quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    A true picture

    This book wasn't what I expected by looking at the cover it has much more depth. Burke has an amazing ability to connect the reader to the story through clear, realistic, and detailed descriptions. I really enjoyed getting to know each character, hearing his/ her thoughts and learning of his/ her struggles. This book captures the Civil War from both sides. A truly great read, although graphic -- if I can handle it, so can you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2006

    Transported me to the past

    This was a wonderful book about the Civil War era. I literally felt as though I had been transported to the past. My great-great grandfather fought at the Battle of Shiloh. Mr. Burke, you are awesome. Keep writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Pleasant Surprise

    I loved every word. Hopefully the author will revisit historical themed stories again. He's highly rated with John Jakes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    An outstanding dark Civil War historical novel

    Burke's excellent saga provides a much needed antidote to the familiar Civil War melodramas of John Jakes and Jeff Shaara. On Burke's Bayou Teche, there is no glorious cause, no Romantic heroics. To Burke, the Civil War is a Hobbesian world of evil, anarchy and inhumanity. Here, even the well meaning efforts of abolitionist Abigail Dowling lead only to death and misery. Burke's well-drawn characters like Dowling and the author's ancestor Willie Burke come across as real human beings, not wooden historical role players. This is a must read for Civil War buffs seeking a better understanding of the war's effects on the common Southerner, far from the great battles and their larger than life participants.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    Writing as an art form

    James Lee Burke is without question the most literally adept writer of his genre, or of any genre today.WHITE DOVES AT MORNING is the result of the perfect combination of words and it is a beautiful, compelling read. It is a book I have given to others who admire his works, and I am ordering another for myself. The horror of war is in no way minimized, and the characters with their humor and insights as well as their courage make this an unforgettable read. Do not miss this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Nitehawk

    He dipped his had to them and padded off with his gifts fro nature

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Nature

    Grr! Lolz

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Twilight

    "See you soon... brother," she purred

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Wolfsun

    She pads in and walks over to birdstrike. All right lets split up. You follow the river upstream and catch whatever you can find. River is third result. I will hunt in that field speckled with pine trees. That is fourth result. Catch as much as possible lets go.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Birdstrike

    Ok

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Highly checked - you must recommend it.

    This be a gud boke. It has a lott of big wurds, tho.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2