Customer Reviews for

White Fang

Average Rating 4.5
( 1131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(840)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

White Fang By Jack London Reviewed by Luis Ramirez

In the amassing story White Fang By Jack London the author teaches you to keep moving on. This is because through out the story white fang (the main character) faces many problems such as losing his mother, getting into illegal dog fights, and many more, but despite th...
In the amassing story White Fang By Jack London the author teaches you to keep moving on. This is because through out the story white fang (the main character) faces many problems such as losing his mother, getting into illegal dog fights, and many more, but despite that he kept moving on.

The story begins with two men mushing (dog sledding) up in the mountains of Alaska. Soon their dogs start to disappear one by one, this is because of a she-wolf and her pack of wolfs killing them. One night Henry (one of the men) spots the wolfs trying to eat one their dogs. Immediately got his gun out, sadly it only had 3 bullets. As quick as possible Henry charged towards the wolf's. Henry fired his gun but sadly missed. Before Henry could reload his gun one of the wolfs pounced on him and killed him leaving Bill (the other man) all alone. Luckily Bill scared off the wolfs by using fire. Afterwards the wolfs regrouped. The she-wolf then found a mate and had puppies, unfortunately only one of the pups survived. The she-wolf and white fang(the pup) then returned to a native American village where the she-wolf's master lived. Soon the master sold the she-wolf to another man leaving White fang all alone with Gray beaver(The master).

Time went on and white fang grew more vicious each day. Grey beaver then decided to move to another city. Once there Gary beaver encountered beauty smith(a monster of a man) and was forced to give white fang to him. Beauty Smith then started to make white fang more vicious. Afterward he put white fang in illegal dog fights. White fang kept wining and wining, until one day that he met his match a bulldog. White fang fought but got injured and almost died luckily a young man named Scott save his life. Scott then tamed white fang and brought him to California whit him where he lived a happy life.

This book has been one of the best ones I've read. This is because this book has action, drama, and suspense all packed into one book. I also recommend The Call of the wild By Jack London. I recommend this book to anyone who likes action and suspense.

posted by Wiicho- on October 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love it

Great book i reqest this book

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1133 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 57
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Love it!

    I am ten and i read it in two days. This story is just sooooo heart warming and heart breaking. It literaly made me cry. You MUST get it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Iceshard, Stormfire, Dovepaw, Goldthunder, and Amberspark - to A

    Iceshard, Stormfire, Dovepaw, Goldthunder, and Amberspark - to ALL. I dropped my nook, and now the screen is messed up. Don't worry, I'm doing a reset on it by letting it fully discharge. However, this process may take a month or so. If you need me, please remember to e<_>ma<_>il me at Umbreo<_>2000<_>@<_>gm<_>ail<_>.<_>c<_>om Never give up, Wolfclan! See ya soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    W

    You guys know you can just buy white fang and call of the wild together for free

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    recomended

    White-fang
    By jack London


    White-fang is about two characters that are going through a bad time in the wilderness with there bob sledding dogs. Scott-one of the main characters spots a wolf around the dog and he soon calls It white-fang. He could tell that the wolf dog was mistreated by humans in the past causing him to be fritend and vicious. Scott approached the dog, while being careful to see what’s wrong. When Scott first gets close to the wolf-dog snarls and growls, but then relieves it self. White-fang allows Scott to get close and touch him. During the story the two have conflicts with a bunch of other wolfs, but white-fang is the most talked about animal. All the other bob sled dogs are mentioned also.

    Chapter 2 begins with Scott and his friend making their way through the snow. Neither of the two had any idea what’s wrong in the wild but they took chances. After occasional stops, the men realize their dogs are coming up missing and their rope being bitten. While they get ready for bed Scott hears wolfs howling as they get closer and closer. As the story progresses white-fang is discovered. He seems mean and vicious at first but come to find out he’s been miss treated by other humans.

    The theme of white-fang is the enviorment and physical-mental characteristics creating the wolf dogs fate. Survival of the fittest is placed in this story using two worlds. Nature and the human world are the two. The story gave a idea that famine is given to every living thing. The weakest, sickest, and oldest will be hurt or will die. Every character feels this. By the end of the book white-fang goes to a place were survival of the fittest isn’t used and everyone is fine. Weedon Scott, the Californian expert miner rescues the wolf-dog before it could have a chance to get to the place without survival of the fittest. As white-fang gets stronger, heavier, and more compact he sees lots of things that are needed.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    White fang

    White fang is the worst book ever dont read it it sucks i usually like animal stories but this is a fail i wanted to give it 0 stars but there was no option this book has grammar mistakes it cusses and it is just plain dumb im sorry jack london but this book sucks think of something new 123 and i am asleep it is a book with words that have no meaning look elsewhere.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Aaaaaaaaamazing!

    I luv this book. This book has alot of grammer mistakes though. I recommend this to people 10 and up but if you 9 or under it would be better for an adult to read it that way they can sencor the bad word. :D luv the book though. Better than Wolves of the Beyond. Ok mabey a tie between them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Awinspiring

    This is my favorite book of all time ive read it many a time and every time it thrills me white fang is a classic it has enlightened me to many things i never saw before it is a must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Love it!

    Always wanted this book on "nook"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Not a favorite

    I adored Call of the Wild, one of my favorite stories. But this seemed to lack the same fire. Mr. London is a wonderful writer, but the she wolf here doesn't grab my loyalty in the same way that Buck did.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    AAAAWWWWWSSSSSSOOOOOOMMMMMEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!

    Its a entertaning book for pepole of all ages!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Decent

    There are a lot of grammar mistakes and mispelled words. There is wrong puntuation (like a < when there's supposed to be a ") often. But the story is great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    NOT A ONE STAR

    I hate this book so much!!!! This book doesnt even have well grammar!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Yes

    I am in fourth grade and i can read it eny day
    Ps. Belive it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Scytheclaw to flamepelt

    Join me and be spared flamepelt. Join Clawclan to be rewarded instead of killed.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    To fireclan

    Great pack i must say i am from moonshine and i am the leader

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Hi mom!

    Hi dad!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    FireClan Territory

    I,Eaglestar,leader of FireClan with my deputy,Hawkclaw,now claim this as FireClan territory.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Good

    It is really engaging and detailed story.And its free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    White Fang

    Was a great book not that catching in the the begining but in the middle of the book started to get more exciting. AWESOME BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Awesome

    Most awesome book ever i am a wolf person ilove wolves esspecially white fang its sad he died though

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1133 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 57