Customer Reviews for

White Gold Wielder

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    ...WoW

    I can't beleive how great this book was. I've read both the first chronicles and second and I remeber reading Illearth War, book two of the first chronicles, and wondering if I will ever again read a book that good. After reading it I knew I wanted more on Thomas Covenant. I finished the first chronicles, began the second and when I picked up White Gold Wielder, I was almost sure that I would not enjoy it as much as I did Illearth War because all previous books had not held up to the thrilling story Donaldson had created. My reason to continue the story was hope. Not only to find a book as good as Illearth War, but also to see the Land healed. I remember clearly the hurt that I felt when I first read Wounded Land, when the world that I had grown to love had been destroyed by the Lord Foul. Now that I have finished the second chronicles I am very excited to say that White Gold Wielder is the best book in the series. The struggles Covenant, Linden, The Search, the Haruchai and the Land face are unparralleled in this book. By far my favorite Thomas Covenant book. Throughout the series the books have been exciting and fun to read, but I always found myself let down with the final chapters, this book however had no such chapter. It is a great read and i recomend it to anyone. After reading these books my only wish is that Donaldson becomes far more popular and that more people get a chance to visit a wonderful and beautiful world I have grown to love, simply called: The Land.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Where is the epub version? The other five books have been availa

    Where is the epub version? The other five books have been available at B&N for a while...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    This is a must read

    It's a shame that most authors from the late '70's to the early '80's don't get the recognition of todays authors. Thomas Covenent is an enigma. This series of books is one of the best I've ever read from ANY genre, and I have walls of books. If you are a fantasy lover like me, do yourself a favor...buy the entire series. I promise you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Another Outstanding Book by Donaldson

    I can't say enough about the writings of Stephen R. Donaldson. I have enjoyed every book I have read by him. That said, the translation to digital format for the Nook was terrible. Virtually every page had obvious typographic and formatting errors. Names were misspelled so much I wondered at times what a character's name really was. It seemed obvious that the finalized digital product was not reviewed. The 5 star rating is for the Donaldson and his masterpiece. If I were to rate the digitally formatted translation I would give it 1 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    It is a good series. I have all the books already. But for convi

    It is a good series. I have all the books already. But for convience, since I have a nook, decided to re-purchace them in ePub. For some strange reason, WGW is not available in nook ePub. Disappointing. I haven't even checked if the Last Chronicals are available in Nook ePub or not. I guess I'll have to put my Nook away (where I might forget about it) and re-read the paperbacks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Don't forget this one!

    I haven't started to read this one yet but I purchased it based on the strength of the first four books in the Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever Series. I've already purchased the next two books in the Third Chronicles. This is a series that pulls you in, you find yourself rooting for Covenant as the unlikely hero of the Land. This is definitely a book for any day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    A Great Read!

    I read the whole series an this is by far the best one yet! I don' think there is another author in the world that could keep me hooked like Donaldson. The harsh punishment Covenant takes to find self redemshin is breath taking! You have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    Poor final chapter for a great series

    Although this book has a good ending, there is little else to recommend it. The first 1/3 of the book is excruciatingly bad. Donaldson shows absolutely no new invention, simply rehashing themes that get very weary very quickly. And so much in this books just makes no sense; some of this was apparent in the otherwise quite compelling Wounded Land. In the last third of that book, Covenant makes decisions that had no meaning other than to extend the storyline. Here Donaldson simply plods from one poorly executed idea to the next. The books becomes a bit more readable once Covenant _finally_ gets back to Revelstone. There at least there is a bit of interest. But not enough to make compelling reading for long. Back we go marching across the Land under the Sunbane (why not at night when it would be so much easier going??). Repetitous, tedious and boring correctly describe this book until the last 50 pages. For true fans of the series, those last pages must be read (but just skip the first 150!). For all others, skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    The End of Thomas Covenant

    Much to the dismay of the reader of this series, the Chronicles of Thomas Covenant come to an end. It was a great adventure of epic proportions. The Land and its many lifeforms are exquisitely interwoven. I can't help but feel remorse knowing that I am no longer able to share in the lives of the characters who I considered to be unbelieveably real. Ah, what I would give for a sequel of tales describing what happens to the giants, the Elohim and especially the Haurchai.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1