Customer Reviews for

White House Burning: The Founding Fathers, Our National Debt, and Why It Matters to You

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    A Wrthwhile Read If You're Concerned About Our Fiscal Mess

    I read this book right after I read Tom Coburn's book: The Debt Bomb.

    I like Johnson's books and I liked his idea that we - as Americans - need to focus on those areas where we need to pool our collective resources to guard against disasters that none of us individually can either predict or survive: a notion that gets lost in the ideology-driven blather that passes for information in the current political debate.

    On the other hand, I feel the solutions outlined for our horrific fiscal challenges put too little emphasis on the savage problems of waste, corruption and downright financial stupidity embedded in the way our present political system works to allocate taxpayer dollars - actually regardless of which side of the aisle you're on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    A lot of statistics.

    I'm finding it difficult to finish. It is like reading a text book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I purchased this book expecting to get a serious attempt to expl

    I purchased this book expecting to get a serious attempt to explore the evolution of economics and public debt in the U.S. I was disappointed to find that I got a biased political discourse. If you believe in big government and support tax and spend policies, you will like this book. But the authors only restate the same tired arguments while concluding that with increased taxes we could afford anything we want.

    The first part of this book covers the growth of our national debt from the Revolutionary War through to the end of 2010. The material is accurate and well written. However, it is a light-weight treatment. The struggles of Alexander Hamilton to finance the war debt are extensively covered and there is a good accounting of the financing of succeeding wars. However, the forging of the first central bank and its subsequent demise under Jefferson’s Presidency are absent. And there is no mention of the battles between Andrew Jackson and Nicholas Biddle cumulating in the closure of the Second Bank of the United States. These banking milestones are important because they influence liquidity and money supply as well as affect the government’s ability to borrow cash and finance its debt. Since this book is purportedly about debt, their absence seems perplexing.

    The middle section of the book is by far the longest section. The authors discuss expenditures and revenues from Reagan to Obama and they accomplish this by way of flattering the left while finding fault with Republicans, conservatives, the Tea Party and the so called tax revolt.

    For example, when former President Bush adds a new prescription drug program to Medicare, it is seen as causing ‘increased long-term entitlement spending’ while Obama’s three consecutive years of $1T deficits are considered a good thing.

    The authors also go to great lengths to defend Obamacare. The claim is that the federal government is the only entity capable of providing this insurance. Yet even the authors find that ‘the United States pays almost twice as much per person on health care as the typical industrialized country, yet our actual outcomes are mediocre at best..’ How they then conclude that the government is best suited to fill this role is a further example of economic (if not journalistic) irresponsibility.

    In the last part of the book, the authors present their solutions to these complex problems. The first step is to eliminate the Bush era tax cuts. This is actually a step I would agree with if I felt my hard-earned dollars were being wisely spent. Then to solve the Social Security problem, we merely need to raise payroll taxes (both rates and caps) and index the retirement age. Other issues are likewise solved by raising taxes.

    The bottom line is that if you are fortunate enough to have a job today, you pay income tax on your earnings. Then if you elect to invest any savings, you will be taxed on any investment return. If you have any money left after this and want to spend it, you will be taxed a third time.

    The authors only want to add to your burden and support President Obama’s stated goal of wealth redistribution. This should make anyone revolt – unless you are part of the 45% that pay no income taxes. In that case, this is a situation you would want to see expanded. A government which robs Peter to pay Paul can always depend on the support of Paul (George Bernard Shaw).


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Fantastic read for anyone interested in our National Debt

    This book really digs into the history of our national debt and how it has been used since our nation's founding. It also provides practical solutions for solving our current debt crisis. This book cuts through the hyperbole that we usually get from the talking heads and provides the truth about our fiscal situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Liberal Gibberish

    Following mass medias example this author tries to blame all of our country's problems on Republicans. Don't waste your time if you're anywhere right of center.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Highly recommended

    The reader can understand the details and concepts in a well written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Fantastic read!

    Breaks down the history of U.S. debt and deficits in clear and easy to understand writing. It provides a general history and basic primer on economics, economic policies from Federal spending, the budget, and many topics that are at the forefront on the current political climate. This is one of those books you'll want to keep around for reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Very useful analysis

    Very useful analysis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1