BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

White Ladder

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Timeless

    Gray's music reaches across the generations. It has a timeless classic quality that touches one on a personal level. I will recommend this album to many others, my family and friends. David Gray is truly a great artist of distinctive talent. Charlotte

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An amazing voice ....

    Unlike any musical artists I have ever heard, David Gray's "White Ladder" brings such detailed image to mind. The first David Gray song I heard was "Babylon". Everytime I hear that song, this image of London on a foggy day just pops into my head. His music is so incredibly lyrical and the rhythm is amazing. "Say Hello Wave Goodbye" is my favorite on the album- although I should not pick favorites because I like them all. His music is the kind that I would want to listen to on a rainy day at home. The album can be overly mellow at times, but I don't think it affects the overall sound of the album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly a Great Album

    If you like slow, jazzy toons you will LOVE THIS ALBUM. It was recommended to me by a friend and sense then I have become hooked. You MUST buy this album. The mixture of electronics with a simple acoustic guitar all put together with his soothing voice makes for a great song time after time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHITE LADDER- BEST OF THE YEAR!!

    I flipped out the very first time I heard, "Please Forgive Me." As a songwriter myself, I am blown away at the impact this album has had on me, using only a drummer, bass, guitar, keyboards and a sampler. Outstanding compositions with great lyrics as well. This was my favorite album of 2001.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Equally Provocative and Intellectual

    David Gray's lyrics ring so true. He writes love and truth. His voice is like a back massage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a must have

    I had only heard the song Babylon when I bought this CD. After I had listened through the album once, it was all over. I could not stop listening. I liked every single song! His songs are unique, touching, interesting, etc. This is a definite must have album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a great CD!

    I was unfamiliar with David Gray until I bought this CD, but it is great! It is a CD that I can put in and not have to skip any tracks. I especially like ''This Year's Love''.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You'll never get tired of it!!!!

    I have listened to this CD so much that I wore it out! David Gray is the best new artist I have heard in a long, long time. Every song is great. If you like Dave Matthews and Bob Dylan, you'll love this album. Buy it! It is totally worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the most amazing cd you may ever have the pleasure to own!

    David Gray's songs are poignant and creative, they sting your heart and embrace you at the same time, all the while using his Dylanesc voice...he makes magic with his guitar and piano! Simply irresistable! David Gray gets under your skin and you dont want him out...he is unbelievable. Great driving and thinking music.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wave hello, say good-bye.

    I bought this disc because a friend of mine (who has never misled me) said that it was an amazing cd. I'd never heard it before, but since i trusted this friend i bought it to help a five hour plane trip go by. THis was two weeks ago,and i have listened to little else. This CD the best disc i have bought in the past year. His lyrics are so real to life, and his music is written so well that i dont think there is one song on the cd that i dont love. Buy it.... I know you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    UNbelieveable album!!!!

    I CANNOT stop listening this CD. I bought it this afternoon and i've listened to the whole thing about 4 times already...and it won't ever get old. David has an uncanny ability to express emotion in his music. His ability to write lyrics exceeds everyone that i've come across up to this point. Phenomenal! It's so completely pure and original and poetic...FAR better than any other pop garbage that's out there. David is one of those (like Dave Matthews) who though he might fade from the mainstream pop airtime, will enjoy a HUGE following for his years to come. I promise that you will NOT be disappointed with David Gray's music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    David Gray Isn't That Dark

    When you're having a stress-filled,what is the perfct album to listen to?Why,White Ladder(David Gray)of course!Not only is this CD mellow & easy going,but it has catchy lyrics to sing along to.His smash hit,Babylon,talks about a horrible day that is getting better as it goes along.All of his songs are subdude & easy to listen to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweet Album

    I have to agree that this album is very Dylanistic. If you haven't checked this album, definatley give it a whirl. It's soothing and cool melodies kick major a**.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best I have heard

    I am a fan of Dave Matthews, and I heard David Gray's fan is Dave Matthews. They have many things in common. I just bought David Gray a week ago. I think he is very talented and has many good songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could this be the best album of the year?

    The songs are sweeet! They are new and creative. This is a great CD and you will definitely enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cuts right through to your heart

    unbelievable. Crisp, Tony Childs meets Dylan, if you can image. Mellow, emotional, uplifting, thoughtful, great driving and thinking music.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What more can you ask for!?

    This album goes from song to song without ever letting up! David Gray writes awesome songs, has a magnificent voice, and performs magic with the guitar and piano! Simply irresistable! If you like this album, you'll love his earlier works.....A Century Ends (his debut), Flesh (out of print), Lost Songs (compilation of his unreleased songs from 1995-1998), and Sell Sell Sell (recently rereleased). Also, if you have a chance to see him in concert as I did earlier in the year, then you can die happy. He's the best live performer I've ever seen. Plus, the other members of the band are crazy!!! The drummer rocks! You won't be disappointed! If you get the enhanced White Ladder cd, then you can see how good he is live on the computer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must-have Album

    I just got White Ladder, and I can't stop listening to it. All of the songs are amazing; they are all so personal and expressive. Unlike so many albums, every song is a great song. This is an unbelivably creative and emotional CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    I just bought White Ladder, and before that was not familiar with David Gray at all. This cd is outstanding. He is so uniquely talented; this is one of those cd's that doesn't come along often. Not a bad song on the entire disc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2