Customer Reviews for

White Lies (Arcane Society Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This is my second read for the Arcane Society Series. I'm afraid I started backwards with the Ghost Hunter Series and then Midnight Crystal. But it's great to see how it all started and meet the ancestors of major players throughout both series. We meet Clare, who's a tough and skilled woman that loves her family. We also learn there's a heck of a past attached to her. I adored the first time Jake saw her and the crack about 'something wicked this way comes' haha. We fast find that he's a very intelligent and in control man, and that he's also not quite who he seems. Both have abilities and secrets which leads to a wild ride of murder, mystery, danger, conspiracies, romance, family and humor.
    I adored both Jake and Clare's families and am glad they were just as developed as the leads. Clare's dad is gruff yet loving, and a very sweet papa bear. Her loving and loyal sister and Myra, who ends up being a surprise. Jake's cousin, who's going to have to work hard to win Clare over *grin*, is also very interesting. Have a feeling we'll be seeing him again. I also feel this series will only get better. As always, Krentz's work is exceptional and I highly recommend this amazing series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrific

    Jayne Ann Krentz (aka Amanda Quick) is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I recently read "Second Sight," the first Arcane Society novel set in the Victorian era. I am very glad that Krentz decided to extend the Arcane society stories over a wider time range; it gives lots of scope for interesting 'back-and-forth'-ing through time. This novel is smart, funny, passionate, and mysterious with sizzling sexual tension. I loved the relationship between the protagonists, Jake and Clare. They talked and listened to each other; they had disagreements and difficulties, but they were willing to communicate and deal with their problems. Start reading this series...I promise you won't regret it!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    The Arcane series is great.

    I love all of Jayne Ann Krentz's books no matter what name she writes under. This book was exceptionally good. Krentz has a way of blending the perfect amoounts of supsense, romance, mystery and sci-fi to make a smooth, "can't put the book down" read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    White Lies Jayne Ann Krentz

    Five stars all the way. The Arcane Society is a amazing and detailed looked into the (not so unrealistic) side of human nature. Well written and fantastic. I have read all her books on the Arcane Society, cannot wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Excellent!

    This had an intriguing plot and great characterization. Typical for Jayne Ann. I couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not many people can resist a Jayne Ann Krentz romantic suspense

    The Arcane Society founded in Victorian times to promote research in parapsychology, identify psychics and use their talents for the benefits in society is in trouble today. Fallon Jones knows that a cabal is being formed to take over the Arcane Society and get the formula that enhances a person¿s psychic powers. One place the cabal is involved in is the company founded by Archer Glazebrook, a member of the society as are all the members of his family. Jake Salter an operative sent in to identify the cabal members is working undercover as a business consultant for Archer.----------- Clare Lancaster, the daughter Archer never knew he had, is summoned to her father¿s home and is offered a job heading up a philanthropic foundation. When she and Jake meet they know that each is a powerful psychic with intense training training. She is sensitive and a human lie detector and he is a hunter. Eight months ago Clare rescued her sister Elizabeth from her husband¿s murderous clutches and six months ago she was the one who found his murdered body. Now attempts are made on her life and she finds the body of Elizabeth¿s mother in law. They think the four murders and other incidents are linked to the cabal. Now all they have to do is prove it and find the mastermind behind the killings.-------------------- Not many people can resist a Jayne Ann Krentz romantic suspense. Readers who read her historicals written under the name Amanda Quick will be delighted to realize that the descendents of the characters in SECOND SIGHT are featured in WHITE LIES a tale filled with plenty of action, quirky psychically gifted characters and a powerful romantic sub-plot. Fans will look forward to more novels featuring the Arcane Society as they battle with the cabal.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    good second book in the series.

    The suspense was there for the whole book. It wasn't until the near end that I was aware who the murderer might be. It was a very enjoyable book in a enjoyable series so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you love delicious intrigue, love and justice in the end....

    I love intrigue, love, and that element that keeps me hanging on and turning those pages with urgency!!! Found it in here...not to mention a little spritual fulfillment on the side. Another fabulous page turner that completely won me over and I can't wait until the next book from this author!!! EXPLOSION IN PARIS by LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG blew me away!!! Check out the reviews!!! They hooked me big time!!!! If you love paranormal, I enjoyed Pirrung's book, I WILL WAIT FOR YOU as well!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    I love a good hero

    This is a great read that although selves into the supernatural, it is still very believable. The plot is good and with the main characters delving into murders and mayhem, they are not so meddlesome that the reader becomes annoyed with them. This is a great book to curl up on a rainy afternoon and escape. It is a good length but also does not drag anywhere. Great plot development and although these books are a series, there is enough reader information as to not feel left out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    What a Delicious Read...

    Well folks, she did it again. Jayne Ann Krentz has you up all night with book in hand. From the first line to the end of the Novel, you just can¿t put it down. So be prepared to give up on sleeping. I¿ve read Thousands of Novels, and when I run across something that has me turning pages with no concept of time, its Appreciated. The passion between Clare and Jake is steamy¿ You fall in Love with Jake and Clare. Clare with a Love of family and wanting to belong, but don¿t get me wrong, Clare can be pretty stubborn and will stand on her own and Jake is a powerful man with a protective streak that makes you just want to wrap yourself around him or him wrap himself around you. With both having extraordinary talents that may have you thinking about what the future could hold. So grab yourself a blanket, wrap up and read how the events unfold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Second sight

    Amanda quick is historcal jayne castle is future jayne ann krentz is now these stories entertwine into the arcane society they are great reads sight sight written by amanda quick is the first white lies by jayne ann krentz sizzle and burn by jak the third circle aq running hot jak the. perfect poisen aq fired up jak burning lamp aq midnight crystals jc in too deepjak quicksilver aq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Still awesome

    I have read this novel several times and enjoy it every time. The entire Arcane Society series is fun to read and anticipating the next steps in all of the mysteries are great.

    Clare and Jake make a great team. Ldooking forward to reading the rest of the series .....again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    read it

    Love the Arcane Society Series with the different authors writing them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    a must read

    Once hooked into the book, I couldn't put it down. Don't you hate books who leave you crying at the end ?? Not because of a sad story, but because you loved it so that you didn't want it to end !!
    This is one of those books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    I love the Arcane Society!

    Once I start one of these books I can't put it down until it is done. Sometimes sleep is not an opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4