Customer Reviews for

The White Mountains (Tripods Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book for Novel Study

I have used this novel for many years to teach elements of the novel to gifted 4th and 5th graders. It is a MARVELOUS work that really captures their imaginations and stretches their minds. The use of ambiguity of time in the setting is uniquely able to entice the gifte...
I have used this novel for many years to teach elements of the novel to gifted 4th and 5th graders. It is a MARVELOUS work that really captures their imaginations and stretches their minds. The use of ambiguity of time in the setting is uniquely able to entice the gifted reader. The internal dilemma of the main character mirrors the emerging sense of self and offers the basis for many fine discussions. A MUST for elementary science fiction genre study.

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Book review by the status seter

Horrible, i deffinitly do not recommend it, its just to hard to read, and please, do you have to add your "humor" (not funny) just to practiccaly kill us, i mean, hello! If you dont want to be bored to death, DONT READ THIS BOOK!!!!

posted by 16350486 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Excellent Book for Novel Study

    I have used this novel for many years to teach elements of the novel to gifted 4th and 5th graders. It is a MARVELOUS work that really captures their imaginations and stretches their minds. The use of ambiguity of time in the setting is uniquely able to entice the gifted reader. The internal dilemma of the main character mirrors the emerging sense of self and offers the basis for many fine discussions. A MUST for elementary science fiction genre study.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    That Was A Great Book!

    I am a 9th Grader and I read this book in my 5th grade class. To this day i haven't found a book more interesting than The White Mountains. I haven't read the sequels yet because I haven't found a copy of the book anywhere. I'm sure its good too because everyone says so. I thought it was a great book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    To all who hate it and those who dont..please read

    I am 12 years old and i absolutly love these books . I read white mountains and the second book when i was 11. I just got the third book ( pool of fire ) and i love it. It is very easy to understand if you read slowly and you think about what is happening. It may be brutal for some ( i also thought it was brutal at times ) and If you like the hunger games you will love these books. I am not a big fan of those because the main focus is teenagers killing other teenagers, but that is besides the point. I read at an above college level and i have an extrodinary big vocabulary, so it might just be me who can understand these books but i recommend them to all. These books are filled with action, faith, and trust. It is a very good book and to those who do not read it are going to miss out on a wonderfuly written book. From readergirl1234

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Good read

    Next books in series are not yet available for E-Book. :-(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    The Tripods are coming

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    To status seter

    Read the frist book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Epic awsome book must read

    The absolute best book iv read from then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    I read this book and it was the best book I have read yet. Hunger Games, move over. You got some serious competition. This book isnt five star worthy. It is five billion star worthy. Bravo!! ******************** stars of awesomeness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Intriguing

    I hope they get the other two books in the series intoe-book format. You certainly look at all those water towers all over the landscape in a different way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Phenomanal

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!:/&()-++!?"'@,,,'?!+-(/())+(&,'!),

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    White Mountains

    This is a very interesting book I would I would reccomend it for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    boys life classic

    i remember reading the comic strip in my boys life book. the books are just as grest as the strip was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    great book

    my teach reaad this series to my class 40 years ago and it was one of the few things I remember from that class. i bought Nd read this rhe momment i found it and still enjoy it and will read it to my daughter. Can't wait for the reat of the series to come out. A 'should' read for both kids and kids at heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    great book

    I read this like 30 years ago when i was in 6th grade and i loved it. i always think back that this is one of the best books i've ever read. i plan on reading again someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    awesome!

    i absolutly love this exciting book. once you get into the heart of this book, you will surely adore it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for TeensReadToo.com

    Centuries ago, the Tripods took over Earth and enslaved mankind. Every human wears a helmet made of metal that makes it so they are controlled by the Tripods. There is a period of time in one's childhood, however, where one is free to think for oneself.

    When thirteen-year-old Will is told that there is a place in the mountains where there are people free of the Tripods, he decides he doesn't want to be capped and runs away. Along the way, he is joined by a childhood friend and an old man. Their journey goes fairly well, until Will becomes really sick and the three have to seek shelter in a medieval-like town.

    Will meets the town's princess and her family and is invited to become part of their group. He becomes torn between becoming capped and finding acceptance or following his friends to the mountains. Will Will make it to the mountains to freedom, or will he sacrifice that freedom for a life of luxury?

    A compelling adventure story filled with action and suspense. Readers will like this science fiction story splashed with a medieval times feel as well as the well-developed plot and characters. A fast-paced story that keeps you at the edge of your seat, WHITE MOUNTAINS is a great start to the TRIPODS series (and don't forget to check out the companion novel, WHEN THE TRIPODS CAME).

    Readers who like science fiction and adventure will enjoy reading this book, as well as the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    what a great book!!!!

    omg! this is such a great book any age could read it it is so so so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    very thought provoking

    I read Christoper's books almost 20 years ago, I think, and as I recall, they, along with Madeleine L'Engle, (I was 10 or 12) really made me realize that life didn't always work out in the end. His books are a very good antidote to a lot of the garbage that kids are exposed to in terms of their simplicity and happy go lucky endings. . Also very poignant in its allegory that we adults have to give up some of our autonomy and suck it up and be polite to each other, and children can see how we've been controlled, so to speak. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    Awesome

    This book was a great book. It's filled with a lot of action packed adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2001

    Timely for adults, too

    When I first read this book, I picked it up in our school library because the cover was mildly interesting. I proceeded to read the entire trilogy - two or three times... It's certainly a must-read trilogy for youth, but I also recently found the whole thing at B & N and snapped it up. The themes appeal to all ages of reader, and I would recommend this author to anyone (check out also the Prince in Waiting trilogy.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3