Customer Reviews for

White Night (Dresden Files Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 486 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition to the series..

    This was a great book! There isn't any other series that I've read yet that is worth 24 books to its name like this one. It stands out from the crowd and while may start out a little slow the first 25 or so pages, once it picks up speed it won't let you put it down.. simple as that. I stayed up til four in the morning finishing this book, and it was worth every minute. The characters are perfect, along with their flaws and personalities. They all feel like they have been fully fleshed out by Butcher in a way that only he could. If you are debating whether to get this book, don't think about it, just do it..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    White Night, the Dresden Files, Book 9

    The best Dresden Files book since "Summer Knight"!!! When helping Chicago's SI with a suicide, Harry finds that his brother, a vampire of the White Court is the prime suspect. Working along side Murphy, their relationship is growing beyond that of just friends, but can Harry get over that she and Kencaid went to Hawaii? Once a coven is found to be Thomas's next target, an old enemy of Harry's shows her face. And, his old childhood friend and first love, Elaine is there to protect the witches of the coven. The weight of being a warden is bearing down on him, along with teaching his apprentice, Molly. Once again, with the aid of Marcone and Lasciel, Harry is able to uncover a threatening plot of the White Vampires.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Jim Butcher keeps Harry on his toes yet again.

    Vampires, witches, friendships and a giant dog! Harry Dresdan is a world class hero, and a hero of the other realms too! Great story with enough twists to keep you thinking ahead to where Jim Butcher is going to take his cast of characters this time! Each installment to the Dresdan Files is so unique in the approach to the woes of our hero and his companions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    highly recommended - love the character

    yet again Harry gets into more than it seems he can handle, and yet he pulls thru. a must read. love Harry's sarcastic attitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Never boring

    I always enjoy reading this series because of the humor. It makes me laugh and cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    This was a great story.

    I love this series, The Dresden Files.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Outstanding

    Freaking sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Another great one

    S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    The main story and action elements are good as ever, but the clutter of subplots could have been handled better.

    I think this trip into the world of Harry Dresden shows just how complex the world has gotten over the course of nine books. There are a large number of call backs here. I'm having trouble thinking of one of the previous stories that wasn't brought up, even just briefly in passing, in this one. And I think that may have been why Butcher may have had a little bit of trouble juggling them all in this story.

    For example, one major subplot that's been brought up repeatedly in the past several novels seems to have been officially ended in this book. It had such a build up that I was expecting a future novel to be about this subplot coming to a head and all of Harry's close friends having to deal with the fall out. Instead, it's sacrificed in the climax, probably to make room for a new subplot that was introduced at the same time.

    And it's not just major characters and subplots that are falling victim here. A couple of supporting characters are set up as a couple, but given the history of events between them, I can't honestly see how that could possibly have happened. I mean, from what I'm reading, there has been some blood spilt here, but that doesn't seem to stop these two from being a couple.

    Over all, the main story and action elements are good as ever (and Ramirez is starting to grow on me), but the clutter of subplots could have been handled better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    NovaslayerX: dresen files rock

    It could of been better but ill give it a 4/5,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Nazain

    Sits singing to the plants

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Allissa

    Eh.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Chloe

    Marcaline, Zachs my bf..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    To other "Lily"

    Please change your name im the lily that just joined

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Troy

    Im back!!:)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    First Lily to other Lily

    My name is actually Linka lm just in fox form.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Leo to courney

    We need u at campjupiter Res 1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Fawn

    She looks around.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Amanda

    Huh?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Princess Lightning

    Jumps out of the tree "hi"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 486 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25