BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

White Oleander

Average Rating 4.5
( 582 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(397)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This book was so good!

This book was amazing! It was so much better than the movie! Compared to the book, the movie was absolutely horrible. The characters were pretty much the same. I loved Astrid's strength and bravery throughout the entire book. Even though her mother and other people kept...
This book was amazing! It was so much better than the movie! Compared to the book, the movie was absolutely horrible. The characters were pretty much the same. I loved Astrid's strength and bravery throughout the entire book. Even though her mother and other people kept putting her down, she got through it. I felt like I was Astrid the entire book and it made me sad and a little depressed. I wish things like what Astrid went through never happen. It's just not fair.

posted by MaggieMcKickButt on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good :)

The book was very lyrical and i loved the range of description as well. It's not the same as the book but it is worth reading for sure!

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 582 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Flawless

    This beautifully crafted novel has a cast of realistic characters you won't soon forget. The wrtiting is pleasant and absorbing. The novel will take you in and make you feel emotion on every page. I whole-heartedly reccomend this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    REally Great Book

    This book leaves an impression. I read it in a day,and thought about it for days after. This is one of the really great books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Extraordinary writing,very interesting,story

    This is an exceptional book.The writing is inspired,original,surprising ....
    Fitch,understands her characters with depth and compassion.The story is riveting and hold your attention at all times.i will for sure read other of her works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Good, but not great

    After struggling to get through the 1st chapter, I was afraid the rest of the book was going to be the same. It was a good book, sometimes very depressing and boring at the same time, and other times fantastic. The author did an amazing job of describing the characters and the different personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Lovely prose and a book I could not put down.

    Lovely prose and a book I could not put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Love

    Very poetic.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I loved loved loved this book!!! It can be quite depressing and

    I loved loved loved this book!!! It can be quite depressing and there's times I just had to throw the book down because it doesn't turn out the way you want. Nevertheless, this book teaches so many lessons of bravery, perseverance that come to Astrid as she matures throughout the book. If your a cryer, I wouldn't recommend it, but I loved it so much. The blend of poetry and journalism just ultimately touched my heart, I cannot express my love for Fitch's writing in this beautiful book enough. Absolutely spectacular!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Absolutely fantastic

    Beautiful and heartbreaking and just amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Candice to Bethany

    Go back to chapter 1 3 and read the new charcters bio! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    This is one of my top five favorite books of all time. Read once

    This is one of my top five favorite books of all time. Read once a year, at least, since it was published. As others have mentioned, separate the movie from the novel. The beauty of this book is in the words, their poetic presentation, which can't be adapted on film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Great book, really enjoyed it.

    This book was so well written that I had a hard time putting it down. I was sorry to get to the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great Book!

    After reading the sample, I became attached to this book and its storyline.

    It was as if I was with Astrid throughout the story. I understood her. I sympathesized with her.

    I would highly recommend this book. It is a very easy read and highly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Outstanding

    Janet fitch portrays the human senses and heart better than I can with my nose, ears, mouth and heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    This book has stuck with me since I first read it 6 years ago. I

    This book has stuck with me since I first read it 6 years ago. I have never been drawn by the first sentences of a book in the same way that this one did. The fluid and artistic way Fitch writes completely swallows you. A beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    :D Love it

    I couldnt put the book down so I read it in 2 hours.... thats how good it is (8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Amaze-balls!

    The most amazing book; favorite book of all time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Excellent

    A nice change from my normal reads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Best book

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    A must read!

    It is a wonderful read. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 582 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30