Customer Reviews for

White Oleander

Average Rating 4.5
( 577 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(393)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This book was so good!

This book was amazing! It was so much better than the movie! Compared to the book, the movie was absolutely horrible. The characters were pretty much the same. I loved Astrid's strength and bravery throughout the entire book. Even though her mother and other people kept...
This book was amazing! It was so much better than the movie! Compared to the book, the movie was absolutely horrible. The characters were pretty much the same. I loved Astrid's strength and bravery throughout the entire book. Even though her mother and other people kept putting her down, she got through it. I felt like I was Astrid the entire book and it made me sad and a little depressed. I wish things like what Astrid went through never happen. It's just not fair.

posted by MaggieMcKickButt on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very good :)

The book was very lyrical and i loved the range of description as well. It's not the same as the book but it is worth reading for sure!

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 577 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 29
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    REally Great Book

    This book leaves an impression. I read it in a day,and thought about it for days after. This is one of the really great books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Love

    Very poetic.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I loved loved loved this book!!! It can be quite depressing and

    I loved loved loved this book!!! It can be quite depressing and there's times I just had to throw the book down because it doesn't turn out the way you want. Nevertheless, this book teaches so many lessons of bravery, perseverance that come to Astrid as she matures throughout the book. If your a cryer, I wouldn't recommend it, but I loved it so much. The blend of poetry and journalism just ultimately touched my heart, I cannot express my love for Fitch's writing in this beautiful book enough. Absolutely spectacular!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Absolutely fantastic

    Beautiful and heartbreaking and just amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Candice to Bethany

    Go back to chapter 1 3 and read the new charcters bio! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    This is one of my top five favorite books of all time. Read once

    This is one of my top five favorite books of all time. Read once a year, at least, since it was published. As others have mentioned, separate the movie from the novel. The beauty of this book is in the words, their poetic presentation, which can't be adapted on film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Great book, really enjoyed it.

    This book was so well written that I had a hard time putting it down. I was sorry to get to the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great Book!

    After reading the sample, I became attached to this book and its storyline.

    It was as if I was with Astrid throughout the story. I understood her. I sympathesized with her.

    I would highly recommend this book. It is a very easy read and highly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Outstanding

    Janet fitch portrays the human senses and heart better than I can with my nose, ears, mouth and heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    This book has stuck with me since I first read it 6 years ago. I

    This book has stuck with me since I first read it 6 years ago. I have never been drawn by the first sentences of a book in the same way that this one did. The fluid and artistic way Fitch writes completely swallows you. A beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    :D Love it

    I couldnt put the book down so I read it in 2 hours.... thats how good it is (8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Amaze-balls!

    The most amazing book; favorite book of all time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Excellent

    A nice change from my normal reads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Best book

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    A must read!

    It is a wonderful read. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Janet Fitch's debut novel, White Oleander, is an engrossing dramatic novel about a fourteen-year-old girl named Astrid from Los Angeles, California and Astrid adores her mother, Ingrid. Ingrid is not like most typical mothers that are seen everyday and is instead selfish, brilliant, and a little unstable. Ingrid also sometimes forgets that she has a daughter, leaving Astrid to witness things that not many girls her age would see. One day Astrid's world is turn upside down because her mother used the poison of the oleander flower to kill a man named Barry since he is a womanizer and used Ingrid. Because of this murder, Astrid is sent of to different foster homes from trailer houses to a bungalow in Hollywood. Through her journey, Astrid learns how to stand up for herself and develops her understanding while turning into a woman.
    White Oleander is a bestseller and it is an Oprah's Book Club novel. Fitch was sparked into writing fiction novels because she was born into a family of devoted readers. Fitch attended Reed College, and later won a student exchange to Keele University in England. Using vivid and descriptive images, Janet Fitch attracts the reader and makes the reader feel like you are experiencing what Astrid is doing. White Oleander also contains poems, which are told by Ingrid to Astrid either about herself or to Astrid's behavior.
    This novel is deep and will change your impression about the world because it showed me that not all homes are well. Reading through the events Astrid endured affected my thinking of homes. The hardships Astrid endured caused me to feel grateful for my home because even though we may have fights it was nothing compared to Astrid's hardship. She was forced to take care of other children, treated like a servant, and at one foster home she starved to the point where she didn't have a menstrual cycle. You are also able to learn lessons from this novel such as to learn from both good and bad so you are able to improve in your own character. In the scene where Ingrid teaches Astrid another lesson about life after breaking up with Barry Kolker, we too can benefit from this lesson. Ingrid says, "Remember it all, every insult, every tear. Tattoo it on the inside of your mind. In life, knowledge of poisons is essential. I've told you, nobody becomes an artist unless they have to". (67)
    I recommend this book to those that are slightly more mature because there are certain events in this book that are very graphic. This book contains some sexual scenes and if you are uncomfortable reading these scenes then this is not a book for you. However, once you overcome the sexual scenes it is very interesting to read the view from a child whose parent are in jail and how they cope with that. With the author's style to add many descriptive scenes towards the feeling and setting you are able to experience it from Astrid's point-of-view. Such as during the sexual scene it is very detailed so you can almost feel what she is feeling. The author also provides many poems in this novel to create a deeper impact towards the reader. This is surely not a novel to miss out on because it will surely keep your attention.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I loved everything about this book. All the characters were so real, and Astrid's struggles throught the foster home system were interesting to read about. I loved Claire, but I also thought Rena, Nikki, and Yvonne were great characters too and so real.
    I couldn't stand Ingrid, but that's OK because you're not supposed to like her.
    Also, Astrid's struggles about not having a dad in her life hit home with me, since I too am experiencing that, and I think other people who are going through that situation would like this book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    An amazing read!

    This hauntingly beautiful story is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    A+must+read+...+One+of+my+favorite+books+of+all+time

    A+hauntingly+beautiful+book.+You+grow+so+close+to+Astrid+and+love+her.+Please+read+it+because+every+young+woman+should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 577 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 29