Customer Reviews for

White Oleander

Average Rating 4.5
( 582 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(397)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This book was so good!

This book was amazing! It was so much better than the movie! Compared to the book, the movie was absolutely horrible. The characters were pretty much the same. I loved Astrid's strength and bravery throughout the entire book. Even though her mother and other people kept...
This book was amazing! It was so much better than the movie! Compared to the book, the movie was absolutely horrible. The characters were pretty much the same. I loved Astrid's strength and bravery throughout the entire book. Even though her mother and other people kept putting her down, she got through it. I felt like I was Astrid the entire book and it made me sad and a little depressed. I wish things like what Astrid went through never happen. It's just not fair.

posted by MaggieMcKickButt on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good :)

The book was very lyrical and i loved the range of description as well. It's not the same as the book but it is worth reading for sure!

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 397 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I never believed that a book could truly take hold of your emoti

    I never believed that a book could truly take hold of your emotions and exhilerate your senses, but this story drew me into the folds of surprise, heartbreak, and amazing prose.
    The story is told from Astrid Magnussen's point of view. She is a young girl (story goes from age 12-18), who lives with her mother, Ingrid, who is a smooth, freeminded poet. They live in an apartment in Hollywood, California. They go to museums, read books by Dmitry and Dostoyevsky, and do poetry readings. Ingrid uses her charm to lure in men and have carefree relationships, but she gets too serious in one of these relationships. After the man breaks it off with Ingrid, she kills him. She is then put into prison and sentenced for life.
    So begins Astrid's life of foster care and life altering changes. Throughout the story, Astrid is at 6 different homes, including a children's center. Each home is filled with people and experiences that all take their toll on Astrid and her upbringing. These include: getting involved with a MUCH older man, gun shot wounds, starvation, and a death, to name a few. During her time at these homes, she corresponds with her mother with letters, in which Ingrid is still trying to shape her daughter...even through prison. Astrid soon realizes that her mother wants her to remain unhappy in these homes, so she will still be "needed" by her daughter, and so that she can still influence Astrid into becoming like her.
    This is a book where you hope and plead for a good ending, but you're never sure if it will happen or not. This books is remarkable. You'll be mesmerized by Astrid Magnussen adventures. The characters are astonishingly well drawn and practically leap off the page. The writing is a work of art in itself. The plot takes you on a tour through the darkest depths of the human experience and still manages to leave you with a glimmer of hope at the end. A must read book if ever there was one! This book captures the difficulties of "broken families" and the struggle of trying to make your way in the world when you start off at a disadvantage. The languages and images are beautiful and will stay with you. It's one girl's story, but this is one of those books that gives voice to hard truths.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vivid Journey

    This book is not just about a mother and a daughter, nor is it a catalogue of foster care atrocities. It is the journey of a girl, Astrid, as she discovers that it is possible to remember, as well as to move on; to be able to understand hate, as well as love. Reads like a mix of poetry and journalism. I won't forget it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Love

    I have read this book about 7 times. It is an amazing book. Don't judge the book by the movie, the movie was terrible.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Breathtakingly Beautiful.

    Read this book once, liked it. Reread it, adored it. now after at least reading it 5 times, i cherish it. The prose reads more like poetry, drawing up as much emotion as a movie. Just beautiful. Highly reccomended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    Great book!

    I just picked this book up from B&N. I love the style of writing. Great book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Beautifully heartbreakingly profound

    Janet Fitch is so much more than a poet. This book is full of many sad truths. I read it often...to remind me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    First time

    I read this book was in 11th grade. It is amazing. Never gets old or boring. It is such a gripping and moving piece of literature. You will cry. You will laugh. You will be shocked. This book is so well written. The characters are very well developed. This book never lags or disappoints. Experiencing this will be one of the best decisions you can make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    One of my favorite books!

    Beautifully written, heart breaking story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Mmm so good :)

    Janet Fitch is a beautiful writer, I loved every phrase in the book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    White what?

    I wasn't at all interested in reading this book, but once I started, I forced myself to put it down so that I could fully experience every line. And the experience is a taxing yet terrific.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Amazing!

    I honestly love this book. Its amazing, a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    A fascinating story, tugged at my heart, yet truley inspirational!

    Great book, continues to be one of my favorites. A truley enjoyable read, I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Amazing story

    Loved ever bit of it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Flawless

    This beautifully crafted novel has a cast of realistic characters you won't soon forget. The wrtiting is pleasant and absorbing. The novel will take you in and make you feel emotion on every page. I whole-heartedly reccomend this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    REally Great Book

    This book leaves an impression. I read it in a day,and thought about it for days after. This is one of the really great books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Extraordinary writing,very interesting,story

    This is an exceptional book.The writing is inspired,original,surprising ....
    Fitch,understands her characters with depth and compassion.The story is riveting and hold your attention at all times.i will for sure read other of her works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Lovely prose and a book I could not put down.

    Lovely prose and a book I could not put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Love

    Very poetic.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I loved loved loved this book!!! It can be quite depressing and

    I loved loved loved this book!!! It can be quite depressing and there's times I just had to throw the book down because it doesn't turn out the way you want. Nevertheless, this book teaches so many lessons of bravery, perseverance that come to Astrid as she matures throughout the book. If your a cryer, I wouldn't recommend it, but I loved it so much. The blend of poetry and journalism just ultimately touched my heart, I cannot express my love for Fitch's writing in this beautiful book enough. Absolutely spectacular!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Absolutely fantastic

    Beautiful and heartbreaking and just amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 397 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20