Customer Reviews for

The White Road (Charlie Parker Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding but 4 stars

When I first began to read this book. I could not grasp where the story would take me. I am very glad that I kept on reading. This is one weird story and I have yet to understand certain characters. With that said, I still enjoyed the book. Although, the author ten...
When I first began to read this book. I could not grasp where the story would take me. I am very glad that I kept on reading. This is one weird story and I have yet to understand certain characters. With that said, I still enjoyed the book. Although, the author tends to be a little 'wordy' at times. This certainly is not an 'edge of your seat' novel. But, still is good enough to warrant a place in my library.. And, all of us in South Carolina are not as bad as this book makes us out to be...

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as his previous three Bird novels

White Road disappointed me. It was very cliche and Connolly is too good a writer to rely on cliches. And he relied on them heavily throughout the entire novel. It also carried a very obvious plot line, which again, was disappointing. From the outset I knew what this...
White Road disappointed me. It was very cliche and Connolly is too good a writer to rely on cliches. And he relied on them heavily throughout the entire novel. It also carried a very obvious plot line, which again, was disappointing. From the outset I knew what this was all about and how it would end. What should have been surprises.....weren't. Plus the wrap-ups were half-baked, I wanted much more detail about who got what in the end (as far as vengence and justice were concerned). Overall, this wasn't his best work. I'm hoping that his new 'Bird' novel (Black Angel) will be better, because Charlie, Rachel, Louis and Angel are great characters that I enjoy reading about.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Outstanding but 4 stars

    When I first began to read this book. I could not grasp where the story would take me. I am very glad that I kept on reading. This is one weird story and I have yet to understand certain characters. With that said, I still enjoyed the book. Although, the author tends to be a little 'wordy' at times. This certainly is not an 'edge of your seat' novel. But, still is good enough to warrant a place in my library.. And, all of us in South Carolina are not as bad as this book makes us out to be...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    definitely a fast read.

    Charlie Parker is at his best and as we all suspect has an ability to communicata with other entities. eeerie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Higly recommended series.

    The book should be titled The White Knuckles. It's a harrowing ride through crime storytelling. Another great Charlie Parker addition. If you like Patricia Cornwell or Dennis LeHane this is a great series to add to your collection. Along with his less than honest sidekicks Charlie Parker continues to solve the unsolvable. Very down to earth funny writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Filler book between #3 and #5

    After reading the 3 previous Charlie Parker books (in order), I was expecting more of an adventure rather than trying to patch together needless information about Charlie's partners-in-crime, that had little to do with the direction I was hoping John Connolly was taking me. At the beginning I expected and received the story plot quickly, but instead of advancing at a steady pace and reveiling more current crucial storyline, it seemed to come to a plateau for long periods. I appreciated the semi-historical accounts John put into his story, but I would have liked to see him reach for more authenticity on a touchy subject, or not at all. I will certainly read #5, hoping to add more stimulation back into reading his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Not as good as his previous three Bird novels

    White Road disappointed me. It was very cliche and Connolly is too good a writer to rely on cliches. And he relied on them heavily throughout the entire novel. It also carried a very obvious plot line, which again, was disappointing. From the outset I knew what this was all about and how it would end. What should have been surprises.....weren't. Plus the wrap-ups were half-baked, I wanted much more detail about who got what in the end (as far as vengence and justice were concerned). Overall, this wasn't his best work. I'm hoping that his new 'Bird' novel (Black Angel) will be better, because Charlie, Rachel, Louis and Angel are great characters that I enjoy reading about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    beware if this is your first 'bird' feeding!!!

    only when i realized that the author had built this novel on characters and situations in prior works, did i begin to find the enjoyment i sought in such reading. this necessitated beginning with the first of connolly's charlie parker books and going forward. having followed that bent, this book became clearer and i grew accustomed to the author's style. this work is less than its three precedents, however; yet it is still worth reading BUT ONLY IF YOU HAVE DIGESTED THE INITIAL TRIO IN SEQUENCE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    AN INTRIGUING STORY

    Dublin born and bred novelist John Connolly is Irish to the core - a bit fey, a tad dark, and extremely gifted. His initial offering 'Every Dead Thing' (1999) won the Shamus Award for the best first novel, and his third 'The Killing Kind' garnered raves. So will 'The White Road.' According to Mr. Connolly his recurring protagonist Detective Charlie 'Bird' Parker may have a good bit of the author in him. This is 'probably typical of a lot of novelists who choose to write in the first person,' he said. 'We tend to imbue our lead character with many of our own qualities, although we only admit to the good ones.' Whatever the case and wherever Parker came from he's a standout. '....Parker is a flawed man,' Mr. Connolly continues. 'He is capable of violence, and is often tempted by the possibility that he can turn his back on a case, if he chooses, and make his own life a little easier. He is stopped by his own guilt, his own desire to be a better man, and by visions of the lost.' Surely that's an apt description of Parker in this tale. A southern millionaire's daughter is raped and sadistically murdered. She is found in a south Carolina swamp; her black boyfriend is arrested and a trial date is set. Race is a salient issue in 'The White Road'; hatreds never buried seek reprisal. Only Parker would tackle a case such as this. Little does he know that he not only endangers himself but also the lives of his lover and his unborn child. John Connolly skillfully probes the American psyche with the clear eyed view of an outsider, while he spins an intriguing story that will keep most of us burning the midnight oil.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Gripping!

    This fourth in the Charlie Parker series has all the evil characters we've come to expect from a Parker outing, as well as an enormous amount of historical (both real and fictional) background on racial abuses in the south. While the writing is lyrical and the characters are fully fleshed, The White Road doesn't have quite the power of the previous books. The plot hinges on a motive (which I will not give away) that didn't ring true or believable to me for bringing Parker into the case of Atys Jones's forthcoming murder trial. There's plenty of activity in swampy settings; Louis and Angel come to the forefront this time out. And there's enough torture, gore, murder and mayhem to satisfy readers who've come to expect a thoroughly disturbing adventure from Connolly. The glue that is intended to hold the plot together is a little thin, leaving cracks and gaps in the whole. Entertaining but not quite up to the very high standard the author has set with his previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Disappointing...

    I'm only 3/4 of the way through this book and perhaps the ending will redeem it, but I found it full of stereotypical characters, cliches, and cutesy little colloquialisms intended to be humorous. It was so irritating that it spoiled my enjoyment of the narrative storyline. I wish just once I could read a thriller without the predictable coarse language, trips to strip joints, and such. If the dialogue is supposed to be true-to-life, I must live in a different world...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating Parker tale

    South Carolina lawyer Elliot Norton calls his pal Charlie Parker to help him with a case in which his client a black man has been accused of murdering his white girlfriend, the daughter of wealthy powerful parents. Charlie would like to help his friend, but is concerned about leaving his pregnant girlfriend Rachel alone. He fears that their enemy Reverend Aaron Faulkner will retaliate for the deaths of his murderous son and daughter though he is standing trial for killing his congregation members and other people. Charlie reluctantly travels to South Carolina, but arranges for Rachel¿s protection while he is away. In the South, Charlie becomes involved in a world where hatred is the norm and the pretrial may prove deadly for the defense team. Though perilous, Charlie investigates the case that leads him to several other murders and a trip to hell down THE WHITE ROAD coaxed by a malevolence beyond anything he ever faced before even while evil stalks Rachel back in Maine. John Connolly provides an exhilarating Parker tale as the audience receives more than an investigative novel. Readers obtain a taste of the historical South cleverly interwoven into the drama as well as a powerful crime story occurring in two states. Parker is at his best as he tries to solve a mystery, stay alive, keep his friend and client safe, and struggle with being in two places at the same time in order to insure no harm comes to his beloved. Readers will want to travel THE WHITE ROAD and when attaining the final destination will look for previous Parker treks (see THE KILLING KIND). Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    A FANTASIC READ THAT DESERVES BESTSELLER RECOGNITION!!

    If you enjoyed EVERY DEAD THING, DARK HOLLOW, and THE KILLING KIND, then you¿re going to love John Connolly¿s newest ¿Charlie `Bird¿ Parker¿ novel, THE WHITE ROAD. It begins a few months after THE KILLING KIND ends. Charlie and a very pregnant, Rachel, are still together, living in a new home and contemplating the birth of their child. The Reverend Aaron Faulkner is soon to be tried for the murders of his congregation, as well as the deaths of several other people. When Charlie gets a phone call from an old friend, Elliot Norton, who¿s now a lawyer in South Carolina and is representing a black man who has been wrongfully accused of murdering his white girlfriend, he finds himself hesitant to leave Rachel. The word is that there isn¿t enough evidence to convict Faulkner and that he may be released from prison in the immediate future. If so, neither Charlie nor Rachel will be safe. The good reverend believes in payback, and he intends to get revenge for the death of his murderous son and daughter by having the detective and his woman killed in the most hideous manner. Still, Charlie can¿t ignore a plea for help from his friend in South Carolina. Arranging for Rachel to be watched, he flies down to the southern state and steps into a boiling caldron filled with hate, racism, death, the Dixie Mafia, the Klan, and an evil force that wants retribution against him for the deaths of its many followers. As Charlie puts his life on the line by investigating the murder of Marianne Larousse and the long, dark history that has existed between her wealthy family and the family of her boyfriend, Atys Jones, he sets in motion a series of events that will lead to a blood bath on the grandest scale. Even Louis and Angel may not be good enough to save Charlie this time around, or rescue Rachel from the evil that¿s stalking her back in Maine. To save the woman he loves and to right a terrible wrong, Charlie will have to travel the White Road and face the supernatural entity that waits for him at the end of it. No one will walk away from this unscathed. THE WHITE ROAD is a grand slam of a novel that delivers with full force! It¿s written with such poetry, such honesty and truth to character, that I¿m left in awe of Mr. Connolly¿s sheer craftsmanship as an author. As only the Irish can, he writes with an elegance of style that¿s simply a pleasure to read. I even find myself reading aloud at times, soaking in the beauty of his words and sentences that so clearly bring to life the characters of his noels. Charlie Parker is now ready to start over with Rachel and his unborn child, putting the past behind him, hoping that the spirits will leave him and his family alone. Louis and Angel are on a quest for vengeance. Louis is determined to kill the men who destroyed his family so many years ago in Georgia, while Angel still has to come to grips with the torturous experience he had at the hands of Aaron Faulkner¿s son, Mr. Pudd. Angel understands that no one is safe unless the Reverend Faulkner is finally put down like a mad dog, and he¿s more than willing to do it, if Charlie won¿t. Also, except for maybe Thomas Harris, no other author is able to capture the pure essence of evil that lurks so deep within the darkness of humanity as well as John Connolly does. The characters of Cyrus Nairn and Mr. Kittim will once again give the reader goose bumps on the arm, and the spirit of Mr. Pudd and his recluse spiders are always in the background, watching and waiting for the demise of our reluctant hero. Like Mr. Connolly¿s three previous novels, THE WHITE ROAD is a journey into the dark night of the soul. It will have you questioning the way we treat others who are different; yet, at the same time, it will also show the goodness in people who are willing to stand up and fight the evil that seeks to destroy us. As I understand it, THE WHITE ROAD will be the last Charlie `Bird¿ Parker novel for the next year or so. Read this book, savor its sharp twists and turns,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2