Customer Reviews for

White Star: A Dog on the Titanic

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I love books about the Titanic, but I've never read one that rea

    I love books about the Titanic, but I've never read one that really told about the dogs that were on board. Indeed, there was a dog kennel on the Titanic!

    Sam Harris is a young boy in 1912 traveling on the Titanic. He has a sharp eye for dogs and always enjoys having fun. He makes friends with the boy who works in the ship's kennel, Phineas MacDonald. Together, with Sam's friend, Bucky, these boys create their own adventures aboard the ship (mostly adventures which include dogs).

    White Star is the name of the beautiful Irish setter which immediately becomes attached to Sam. However, it's the Titanic owner's dog, so Sam knows that their time together is short.

    It's a quick, fun book. Most suitable for ages 9-14. The story is dominantly about boys, but girls would enjoy reading "White Star: A Dog on the Titanic" too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    great book

    White star by Marty Crisp was a very cool book mostly when the titanic starts to sink.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    White Star

    I would like to recommend the book called White Star a Dog on the Titanic by Marty Crisp. The genre is realistic fiction/historical fiction. The setting is the Atlantic Ocean on the Titanic in 1912. The main characters are Sam with his friend Bucky. Sam loves dogs so he volunteers to help out at the kennels. He gets attached to this dog-named Star. They will play all day. When the Titanic meets its doom the dog and the boy have to rely on each other like never before if they were to get through this. My favorite part was when the 2 boys and Star were looking for the ships cat and Star led them to below deck. The workers do not allow the passengers to be down there so they had to hide from them so no one would see them. Bucky got caught while Star and Sam jumped into a pile of coal. They were sent up to the deck and couldn¿t go back down. Sam had to return Star to the kennel but they were both filthy with ash, so Sam brought Star to his room to take a bath. They got water everywhere and Star didn¿t want to get wet. Sam needed assistance to help pick up so he called room service. While Sam brought Star back, room service was picking up his room for him. I just thought that was a fun part and especially what I knew was ahead for them. From reading this book I now know what you suffered being on the Titanic, having your friends and family die because of such tragedy. I like how the author describes how they characters are really feeling and you feel like you are that character. Like when Sam came off the Titanic he felt like his life had just fallen apart and nothing makes sense. I think this is a short easy read '130 pages long' that will bring you into the story. This would definitely be in my top 10 books. I recommend this book to anyone who likes historical/realistic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A dog on the Titanic

    White Star is a book about a gog on the Titanic. It is a sad,funny and historic book about a boy and his dog on the axual voyage of the Titanic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    White Star

    The title of my book that I read is White Star, by Marty Crisp. This story takes place on April 15, 1912 in the Atlantic Ocean. The genre is realistic fiction because this story really could have happened. White Star is about a boy named Sam Harris and a dog named Star (Sam¿s made up name) who struggle to survive on the titanic. Sam is a 12 year old boy who had lived with his grandma and grandpa for most of his growing up life because his mom could not take car of him. He ended up on the titanic because he was going back to his mom and new step dad. Star is going to be a top dog. He is a Irish setter. My favorite part of the story is when star jumps of the titanic into the freezing cold water and Sam has no choice but to jump of with him. That is my favorite part of the story because Sam rusts his life jumping off a huge boat into below 0 water for a cool dog who he half knows. I would recommend this book because It is a good book and you never want to le go of it. I would recommend it to any body how has a passion for pets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    White Star

    White Star is a great book. I would recommend this book because it is very intense. The main characters are Sam and his friend Bucky. Sam and Bucky are on the Titanic of the White Star Line. He was in England because his mother sent him there after his father died. Bucky and Sam have lots of adventures on the Titanic. They also meet new friends. One of them is Finn he¿s the dog keeper on the Titanic. Sam is a dog lover and that¿s when he met Mr. Daniel. Mr. Daniel is a banker from Philadelphia. That¿s when he met Star the dog. At first Star had no name, but Sam named him. Finn secretly let Sam take tar for walks. Sam has a great time on the Titanic with Star, Bucky, and the others. However soon disaster strikes. As the Titanic meets its fate Sam need to depend on each other to survive. The rest you will have to read to find out if Sam and star survive. Hope you like it! My favorite part is when Sam and star are covered in coal dust Sam tries to wash star. After that the bathroom was never the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Kid Review!

    The setting of this story is 1912 Cherbourg, France to New York Harbor. The genre for this story is realistic fiction. There are 130 pages and there is 16 chapters. The story is about a boy, and his love for dogs. He is riding on the Titanic and he has a best friend who he calls Bucky. He is going to America to live with his mom and her new fiancé Jack. He is nervous about going to live with his mom who he barley remembers, and his new step dad jack. Who he doesn¿t even know or know anything about. The main character in my book is Sam, he loves dogs and he is very course about things. Sam¿s dad died when he was 7 and then he went to live with his grandmother and grandfather in England. My favorite part in this book was when Sam, Bucky and a dog named star went down to the fuel aria of the Titanic, and caused a lot trouble. Then when they went back to their cabin they where back with coal dust and very dirty. It was fun to listen to how they managed to clean off. It sounded like it was very messy in Sam¿s bunk! While Sam and Star cleaned off. Bucky was still in the fuel room asking the men questions about the engine to help stall so that star and Sam could make it back to their bunk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    kid review

    I would like to recommend White Star: A Dog on the Titanic by Marty Crisp. The book takes place on the Titanic in 1912.It has 130 pages and it would de a quick read. It is Historical Fiction. It has a lot of people but there is one main character. His name is Sam. Sam is a passenger on the Titanic. He goes down to the dog kennels and finds White Start. He is an Irish Setter he is a very good dog because he is a champion show dog. I did not like the first six chapters because it was very slow. Also it described thing I did not need to know. For example did not need to know out a rich lady¿s coat. But after the first six chapters it was great because that is when the ship stared to sink. My favorite part was when another lifeboat resued Sam and Star. But Sam and Star were not on the Titanic when they got rescued because they were in the ocean. Star jumped off the side of the boat and Sam followed him because he loved that dog. It gave me hope again because now know I that they would have a better chance to stay alive now. I would like to recommend White Star: A Dog on the Titanic. This was a good book because it had a lot of action. It also had a part where it was part survival. Read the book and find out what part it is. I hope you will like this book. I give it four stars. At the back of the book there are pages about the Titanic. One of them is a map of the Titanic voyage. Another page is a time line of the Titanic. Other pages are about fascinating mysteries, fascinating people, survivors, victims, and more. Those pages were very good for informing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    White Star

    I would really recommend the book White Star by Marty Crisp. The book is of the genre realistic fiction. In this book there is great love and friendship between a boy and a dog. The boy¿s name is Sam and the dog¿s name is White Star and he was famous. Before Sam got on the ship he was going to his parents to see his new dad. When he was going he went on the R.M.S Titanic. The people on the ship thought the ship was unsinkable. My favorite part of White Star is when the ship was sinking. I like this part because it had all kinds of things happening to the R.M.S Titanic. The first thing that happened in the ship was that some of the crew on the Titanic was giving out lifejackets to people in their rooms, helping them get ready to go on the lifeboats. Afterwards, Sam went to the top of the ship where there was a lot of moving. Sam took the dog out of the dog pen before it sank. After I read it I could feel how the character had been in the story and his thoughts and his feelings. I recommend White Star to people that love animals and friendship. I also would say that in this book there are a lot of feelings. There is commotion and action all the time with Sam and his friend Becky and the dog. Sam is going from his grandparents to his parents on the R.M.S Titanic. So if you like adventure books and excitement then check this book out of any close library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    white Star

    I would really recommend the book White Star by Marty Crisp. The book is of the genre realistic fiction. In this book there is great love and friendship between a boy and a dog. The boy¿s name is Sam and the dog¿s name is White Star and he was famous. Before Sam got on the ship he was going to his parents to see his new dad. When he was going he went on the R.M.S Titanic. The people on the ship thought the ship was unsinkable. My favorite part of White Star is when the ship was sinking. I like this part because it had all kinds of things happening to the R.M.S Titanic. The first thing that happened in the ship was that some of the crew on the Titanic was giving out lifejackets to people in their rooms, helping them get ready to go on the lifeboats. Afterwards, Sam went to the top of the ship where there was a lot of moving. Sam took the dog out of the dog pen before it sank. After I read it I could feel how the character had been in the story and his thoughts and his feelings. I recommend White Star to people that love animals and friendship. I also would say that in this book there are a lot of feelings. There is commotion and action all the time with Sam and his friend Becky and the dog. Sam is going from his grandparents to his parents on the R.M.S Titanic. So if you like adventure books and excitement then check this book out of any close library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    I would like to recommend the book White Star by Marty Crisp for historical fiction readers. The story is set during the time of the Titanic and is about a 12-year old dog loving boy named Sam Harris heading to America to see his new father. He is traveling with his friend that is always positive, Bucky Kingsbury on the most famous ship on Earth, the Titanic. Once on the ship Sam finds out there are dogs on the Titanic he immediately volunteers to help out the kennel. While wandering on the ship Sam finds a dog named Star that he is very fond of and they instantly become friends. As we all know that disaster strikes on that fateful day Sam and Star must help each other to survive¿ One of my favorite parts of this book is when Sam¿s lucky coin from his grandpa slides out of his jacket pocket and it falls into the water. He desperately try¿s to reach it, but a sea gull come out of nowhere and catches it right before it falls into the water! After that Sam is upset because his luck is all gone, but then Bucky tells him at least the gull will feel even worse than him after eating the coin. I chose this part of the as my favorite part because I think its really weird how a gull would catch a coin that fell out of a person pocket and it also seems pretty weird when you imagine it. I would recommend this book because it is about one of the most amazing and unexpected thing¿s in the world. Finally I would give this book a 3.5 because I¿m not that in to historical fiction, but if someone else read it I bet they would give it a 4-4.5 rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    White Star: A dog on the Titanic

    I would like to recommend the book White Star: A Dog on the Titanic by Marty Crisp. The genre of the book is historical fiction. The setting takes place on the Titanic, on it¿s first and only voyage through the sea. The book tells the story of a boy Sam Harris who is taking a trip on the Titanic from his grandparents, who live in England, to his recently remarried mother in New York. On the very long voyage through the sea, Sam learns that there are actually dogs on the boat. He goes racing to the kennel to see all the dogs, and when they get there, Sam sees an Irish setter that he thought looked exactly like his dads deceased dog Rusty. When the Titanic starts to sink Sam immediately thinks of the dog he has now named Star. Sam risks his life to save the dog, but will they survive the bone chilling sea that lies ahead of them? The main characters include Sam is a twelve year old boy who is very curious about everything and is willing to work hard. Sam is the kind of boy who does not want to let go of some things (Star). Another main character is Star who is a very energetic dog who loves Sam. Also in the story Sam finds out that Star belongs to Mr. Ismay, also known as the owner of the White Star Line. My favorite part of the story is when Sam refuses to go inside the lifeboat when the Titanic started to sink. Sam rushed to the kennel to get Star. This is my favorite part, because it shows that Sam really cares about Star. In the story Sam is wild and a little immature, but in this part, it shows that he really can care about things in life. I would like to recommend this book because it is a great story showing how a kid and a dog bond. This book is a great read, and it isn¿t that long. If you like to read books about dogs, that have some adventure, this is a book for you. The book is pretty easy to read and doesn¿t have very many confusing parts in it, so it is great for many kids. White Star is an amazing story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1