Customer Reviews for

The White Tree

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Plenty of action and a storyline that keeps you turning the pages

The first thing I look for with any book I read is the formatting. A lot of books aren't formatted properly, but this one is, and it was refreshing and easy on the eyes.

The story begins with a hook that draws the reader in - "It was the dog's fault Dante was about ...
The first thing I look for with any book I read is the formatting. A lot of books aren't formatted properly, but this one is, and it was refreshing and easy on the eyes.

The story begins with a hook that draws the reader in - "It was the dog's fault Dante was about to die." As a reader I am immediately wondering:

1. Who's the dog and what does he have to do with it?
2. Who's Dante, and why is he about to die?

Moving on from there, I enjoyed that the book was filled with plenty of action. The writer's words are sharp and crisp and easy to follow, and the book has some wonderful lines. Among my favorites: "He'd close the memories like a book, an irrelevant story from a place that no longer existed. There was no room for looking back on what couldn't be undone."

I enjoyed the story and recommend it.

Cheryl Bradshaw, Author of Black Diamond Death

posted by pixichick on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

I would not recommend this book. The story is long and drawn out and should be much shorter. A lot of the book was the authors attempt to create a long novel, but it was too stretched out and the story line became more difficult to follow. I am not going to purchase ...
I would not recommend this book. The story is long and drawn out and should be much shorter. A lot of the book was the authors attempt to create a long novel, but it was too stretched out and the story line became more difficult to follow. I am not going to purchase the next two parts of the trilogy. Don't even know why I finished the first, but was very disappointed in the book.

posted by bjsbooks on July 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Plenty of action and a storyline that keeps you turning the pages

    The first thing I look for with any book I read is the formatting. A lot of books aren't formatted properly, but this one is, and it was refreshing and easy on the eyes.

    The story begins with a hook that draws the reader in - "It was the dog's fault Dante was about to die." As a reader I am immediately wondering:

    1. Who's the dog and what does he have to do with it?
    2. Who's Dante, and why is he about to die?

    Moving on from there, I enjoyed that the book was filled with plenty of action. The writer's words are sharp and crisp and easy to follow, and the book has some wonderful lines. Among my favorites: "He'd close the memories like a book, an irrelevant story from a place that no longer existed. There was no room for looking back on what couldn't be undone."

    I enjoyed the story and recommend it.

    Cheryl Bradshaw, Author of Black Diamond Death

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    The White Tree.

    This was an entertaining read. Robertson's writing style is top drawer. I haven't been this excited about an author since I discovered Dean Koontz. I will definitely be reading his other works.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    A really good read!

    A well-written adventure with believable teenagers. Not your usual fantasy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    What I liked: the humor was done well- Robert, Cally etc Blays

    What I liked:

    the humor was done well- Robert, Cally etc

    Blays- his loyalty and his sense of humor made him my favorite character

    reading about how religious factions can affect both history and the future

    What I did not like:

    modern cuss words- as in many other books which have a "historic" feel to them, modern cuss words just don't fit!

    more explanation was needed on how Dante could do what he did.

    What made Samarand & her party fail wasn't expounded upon.

    The book was a chunkster but I enjoyed the exploits of the two boys & how they carve their own niche  in the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Not the best

    I would not recommend this book. The story is long and drawn out and should be much shorter. A lot of the book was the authors attempt to create a long novel, but it was too stretched out and the story line became more difficult to follow. I am not going to purchase the next two parts of the trilogy. Don't even know why I finished the first, but was very disappointed in the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Exceptional story-telling

    This author is truly a magnificent writer. This is the second series that I've read from Edward W Robertson and he does not disappoint. The way he blends humor and suspense is enthralling. If you like intrigue and epic adventures, this is the series for you. You will not be able to put it down and when you finish, you'll be clamoring for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Great read

    Amazingly good writing based on a unique story base and great creative storytelling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Typos. Why did it have to be typos?  No seriously, this was an e

    Typos. Why did it have to be typos? 
    No seriously, this was an engaging read for the most part. BUT...it has a tendency to monologue too much and slow things up almost as much as the typos. Lines like "Small dark things flocked to his fingers, moths or horseflies or bad ideas" -Yea, I really liked that- but then the rest of the sentence has a blatant typo - "motes that cling and clumped to the blood sliding down the man's wrist, round, BACK (instead of black I assume) and barely translucent." So what started out as a nifty and mildly humorous description instead turns into a face palm. The first third of the story is just insanely full of typos. Things like a 'we' that should have been 'he', and a 'tail' that should have been 'tale'. Another that was rather annoying was wanting a "beef stew of a haunch of lamb" and another stating he wanted beef and red meat. Since deer were mentioned, guess that would qualify as red meat instead of venison. Lamb might be considered the other red meat but it's not even remotely beef. 




    On the plus side, where it was good it was very, very good and the typos lessened to the point where they weren't so painful. I especially liked "Most faiths could stand to learn the virtue of keeping their devotion to themselves." Yea, I agree. The battles and fights were pretty fun, and the boys learning to be friends as well as men was nice. Dismayed the only female mentioned of any note was the one to be destroyed. But it's the author's world so he can have his testosterone filled say and leave women denigrated to vague mentions of bar maids, past musings and the one evil sorceress.




    The few times there's cussing might be more than some youngsters need to read, but it's not that bad. Just makes it PG-17 or whatever rating you get for the g-d word more than once. Now that I'm starting to monologue, guess that's all I have to say about this YA adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Great free read

    Loved it, Wish BN would bring back free fridays

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Anonymous

    A very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    A good story

    About war and men... Some with vision of peace/prosperity. Good reflections of what drives people to action (besides the basic drives of food, shelter and faith). An excellently told tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Stupid

    Transparent, boring, predictable, cliched, all the ingredients of a bad book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Not 4 me

    I couldn't get into this 1. I tried 2 make myself read it but just didnkt capture me, sorry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1